We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lindos Blu - Design Hotel with a capacity problem”
Review of Lindos Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindos Blu
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lindos Blu - Design Hotel with a capacity problem”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have been traveling around the world and have stayed in many exceptional places...but never experienced the Lindos Blu 'virus'. So let me explain.
When you read all the reviews on this hotel there is no doubt, you book it. But what are your expectations ?
Do you want a design hotel with nice rooms. Well then you have it. This hotel in my opinion was designed by a female architect. Why do I think that. Details, finesse, and the eye for beauty but on the other side less functional. We had a suite with private swimming pool, but since the hotel faces NORTH, you have no sun at all at your pool except after 5 PM. A pool you share with the neighbor, who hopefully for you is not too disturbing.
Do you want peace and calm and lie at the pool? Please don't come here. There are more rooms then sun beds next to the pool and the strange part is that the main pool is located at the restaurant terrace, so in the morning you are looking at the exhibitioners lying in front of you, while you are eating your croissant. Hotel management replies that they have more square meters of pool then the Rhodos average, but believe me. This says more about the average, then about the Lindos Blu's pools. They are for midgets ..
So go to the beach then...the beach is however all the way down the hill and you need to take several elevators and then walk a while to reach it. Total travel time from the room to the beach walking quickly is about 12 minutes and the way back uphill is worst of course. The beach is shared with the neighbor hotel that owns the beach and so it is dominated by their clients. You need to talk to the beach boy and make sure he reserves a sun bed for you or impossible to find a free spot since the other hotel only has one micro pool and has a lot more rooms. You can't order drinks and put them on your room either so you need to take cash with you. So the people who pay a lot less in the neighbor hotel enjoy the same beach as you.
Another capacity problem of this hotel is the terrace where you eat mornings and evenings. With 70 rooms and only 20 outside tables, there is always a waiting time to have a table, both morning and evening...
However and here comes the MAGIC of this HOTEL. It is ALL about this restaurant and the TERRACE. This is why people write so inspired about this hotel. The staff of the restaurant is exceptional. They are the most friendly and well trained staff I ever met. Smile all the time, talk to people, know their name, familiarize without intruding.
Arriving at the restaurant, the hostess Eleni welcomes you with the biggest smile and she 'only' speaks 15 languages or so and is still learning new ones. They put her there with the biggest smile so you accept NOT having a table. In the evening she serves you a glass of bubbles while you wait.
Since they are so PRO, they have a huge turnover of tables better organized then most US restaurants so the waiting time is never annoying. The food is great every evening and the dessert chef is a genius...You will see every day people going home that come to thank this staff, take pictures with them, etc...In the beginning you don't understand, but once you are there a few days you know...
So what is the secret? What is happening at this terrace with exceptional sea views ? Who is behind this all? Who is the leader ? It is all about Dimitris Chios the restaurant manager. This man is keeping this team at this level, he inspires them and motivates them. He set the level and is the example...he is a T-rex (:-) for Dimitris)
So after a few days you forget the efforts you do to reach the beach, the lack of sun on a north faced hotel, the absence of swimming pools and sun deck spots for everyone. You will all be contaminated by the Lindos Blu Terrace Virus and become fans of this hotel and the terrace staff...
I hope and guess the Lindos Blu management know where their force lies and hope this staff gets paid like they deserve, but I am sure they do it for the fun.
Dimitris keep inspiring your team, as I told you in september: You are the best...

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for suite with private pool which is not private and without sun because north f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank CulinaryExplorer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    95
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
1,075
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, West Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is undoubtedly beautiful, well-designed, luxurious, romantic and unrivalled in our experiences in terms of the attentiveness and cheery-manner of the staff. All of the staff excel in courteous, professional and formal service, without being pretentious or intimidating - a true art. The food, as well, is fantastic. If this wasn't our honeymoon, I may well have given the hotel a 5* review, for all of these reasons. A straightforward review of the facilities etc warrants a 5*. Our only reservation is based on the hotel's reputation - as demonstrated in other reviews here, the hotel has a very strong reputation and a lot to live up to. We spent a long time researching our honeymoon, and chose this hotel based on the fact that so many honeymooners seem to have had perfect experiences at Lindos Blu. However, although we were offered an upgrade on arrival, we had to pay for it - a relatively small amount but a few hundred euros nonetheless - and only for a small upgrade, not to the villas or maisonettes as so many other celebrating couples seem to have been given. We could not help but feel slightly disappointed by this. Similarly, on our last day, we were not flying out until the evening and were offered to keep our room - but again for what we considered to be a hefty price. This is the sort of thing that I expected to be waivered for our honeymoon, particularly based on what I had read about Lindos Blu and the fact that I had spoken with the hotel before booking and they had promised that they look after honeymooners. None of these things spoiled our holiday - we had a fabulous time and would recommend the hotel unreservedly - I guess we just expected that little bit extra! All guests at Lindos Blu get special treatment - that is one of the best things about the hotel - but we think our EXTRA special occasion might have been forgotten! After all, we spent a lot of money on this holiday - more money than we have before or are ever likely to again - and although it was worth it and was in many ways a wonderful experience - it was just missing a few finishing touches to make it absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: We felt that there was not much difference between the standard double and the junior suites and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Citybreaker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A Fantastic holiday at a truly excellent hotel, made so, by great staff, facilities, food and location.
It really does live up to expectation, no photo's i could post could do the hotel any more justice than there own (and you dont need to see my mass spoiling the view!)

We will definately be looking to go back, as so many who were there already had !

Dean & Lou

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed, higher rooms with balconies, will have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I took my elderly mother to this hotel for a week's holiday. We had reserved two double rooms. On arrival we were fortunate to be offered an upgrade from the two rooms to one of the maisonettes, the best rooms at the hotel.

The maisonette was fantastic, private pool, sundeck, patio, gym, lounge, and two bedrooms (each with own bathroom). The double rooms were top rate, but the maisonette was a touch of class.

There are two maisonettes and two villas at this hotel, all of which offer suberb views across the bay, as do all of the rooms and suites.

All of the staff are courteous and helpful and the rooms well appointed. There are two excellent restaurants, and two main pools with sundecks.

The hotel offers its own private beach with Lindos beaches and centre only 2 kilometres away.

This is a great place to relax and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMP_kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We are in the final few days of an amazing two week half board holiday. We started our adventure to Lindos Blu with just 2 nights in 2010 as a treat to the end of another holiday, 7 nights half board in 2011 and this year 14 nights half board. We've already booked another 14 nights half board for next year. Things we will take home and remember - the fantastic breakfasts in the sun, the stunning view, the fantastic service from arrival in the car park and throughout the stay, the days down at the beach (4 lifts - so what, you feel you've been somewhere), the every changing fantastic dinner and buffet choices, the excitement of the nightly chocolate delivery, the charming entertainment over dinner, jumping on the local bus to travel to meet friends on other parts of the island and the best weather we've ever had in Rhodes in over 10 years. Special mention has to go to Bianca at the pool bar and sunless - service with a smile and a great sense if humour, Anastacia at breakfast and lunch - she truly never stops smiling and Eleni the restuarant host - who meets, greets and says goodbye each morning and evening and makes everyone feel special and welcomed. All three have been here for at least 2 years now. Looking forward already to walking through your magical doors next September. Ephiristo and Yamas!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I decided to book this hotel from reading reviews on tripadvisor. We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and this hotel certainly lived up to all expectations. The staff were amazing. They realised it was a special occasion and upgraded us to a villa for our last 2 nights stay. It meant so much to us and made for the most memorable holiday ever. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audreyLGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great hotel, the staff were very attentive and professional as you'd expect for a hotel of this type. Fantastic views from the hotel over the Bay. We had a jacuzzi/spa room, which turned out to be a good idea as the pool was relatively small, and the beach was a fair walk away and down no less than 4 lifts! Beach (not part of thr hotel) was a little dissapointing to be honest, and also Lindos town is a fair way and not really easy to get to other than by car, which is one of the reasons we hired one. Food excellent, we stuck to the buffet, more than you could eat really, so didn't try the a la carte. Recommended trips to Rhodes Town and Monolithos.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a spa or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonneeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.0 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,387 reviews
16.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
415 reviews
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,660 reviews
22.9 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Blu

Property: Lindos Blu
Address: 46, 5 Km Rhodes - Lindos Avenue, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lindos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#7 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindos Blu 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Blu Luxury Hotel & Suites, the premiere adult-only luxury hotel in Rhodes, rests on the magnificent hillside of Vlycha Bay. The breathtaking views and the traditionally inspired architecture of the hotel, form the ideal scenery for a relaxing break. The customized services provided by our superbly trained personnel, guarantee the indulgence of our visitors senses. Rejuvenate your body and mind at the Elixir Spa & Wellness Center, sip a cup of coffee or quench your thirst at the Allegro Pool Bar, enjoy a signature cocktail at Luna Rossa Bar and let your senses guide you through the journey of the Five Senses Gourmet Restaurant and the creations of our executive chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lindos Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Blu Hotel Lindos
Blu Hotel Lindos
Lindos Blu Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing