We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating design”
Review of Lindos Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Blu
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The hotel is built into the slope of the cliff overlooking its sister hotel and the bay. A series of lifts, as well as stairs, connect the top to the bottom, 9 floors, so the journey time up and down can take a little while. There is steep descent to an excellent beach and safe bathing area, with dedicated sunbeds. Others have complained about the lack of sun on the balconies and we found this to be correct. This will only happen in the low and late season. The reason for this is the position of the hotel the sun goes across the front of the hotel and so doesnt rise sufficiently high in those periods. The standard rooms are fine, though have little quirks in design, the large window between the bathroom and the bedroom, no shaver plug in the bathroom, Greek regulations dont permit this, and the single tap on the sink which you just keep turning to go from cold to hot. We stayed on half board basis which proved to be excellent value as the food is very good and in addition there are only 2 restaurants very close. Lindos itself is 20 minutes away by walking but not reccommend that you do this as there is no footpath on a very busy road. You also have to climb up and then down to Lindos, again quite a steep climb. Over all we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Lindos Blu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

Motor manufacturers talk about "surprise and delight" features - those little things that do just that and attract you to their products. That phrase sums this hotel up for me. It may be the night light ambient glow under the jacuzzi bath, powered blind in the bathroom so you can see out across the bay, virtually everywhere having that glorious view.....

This may be a very modern, chic and stylish place but it is most definitely ambient not techno, smooth jazz not rock 'n roll. If you are expecting an exciting time it will not be for you. If you want to chill in a calm haven of tranquility, this is for you. In fact I think they've bought up every ambient CD on the island, such is the background to breakfast and the rest of the day in fact.

You do sometimes feel that you are cluttering up the reception if you take a seat there and this is somewhat symptomatic of the hotel's determined approach to keeping themselves upmarket. This manifests itself mostly in the pricing policy, particularly in the fine dining restaurant which we tried once. If you get out of there paying less than 150 Euros for a meal for two with wine you will have done well. We are up at Michelin star prices here so it's only fair to judge the experience by that yardstick. If you like foams, swirls and sauces running out of upturned tumblers, you will think it's heaven. Personally I find that sort of thing a bit cliched but there's no doubting presentation wise the chef knows what he's doing. Equally the service is very attentive and relaxed, a plus for this type of restaurant, but you could argue it is bound to be when so few people use the place. The maximum number I ever saw in there was six and that was an exceptionally busy night. The food itself I thought was very good but not exceptional. As many have commented, there are some great places to eat in Lindos and Olympia was my favourite, very friendly and with a great seafood platter, although many of them do a variation on that, if you are into seafood. I have now fell in love with octopus tentacles but it's a tad hard to get hold of in Sainsburys !. The other restaurant serves good food, pricey but good and lunch there is very relaxing of course.

So the hotel is determined to keep things upmarket and relaxed. You certainly cannot fault the friendliness of any of the staff, especially the front desk who will happliy book taxis for you into Lindos, some of the waiting staff and especially the ever cheerful maids. It does seem that putting "do not disturb" on the door just means that they knock louder before entering and trying to retain towels to save the planet is a battle but c'est la vie. Breakfast is great. I've seen better and more varied examples of individual items but never such a well presented and well thought out layout with plenty of room to select and quality produce. Even on the last day I was finding things I hadn't spotted before. The setting overlooking the bay is great . In fact the atention to detail in the design of the hotel is remarkable. Downlighters in the very stylish lifts (just try the Lindos Mare lift down towards the beach to see the contrast), under the steps on the stairs, the water running everywhere. Very soothing. I do take the point that a shared pool is a bit lacking in privacy potentially but we didn't have one. Even the gym (the quietest I've ever used) had a great view and was adequately equipped. Interesting that there are two lifts in the busier section and one further down so you don't have to wait. Attention to detail again in the planning. There's so little to cause you hassle here it is quite remarkable. At one point I thought they must have injected all the local insects to keep them away but finally I spotted an ant !

I don't think they want many people to use the main pool. I really don't know how they get the water so cold. It looks nice though ! In fact everything is being constantly cleaned and checked to keep it pristine. The materials used are a nice mix of modern with lots of glass and stone work which fits in well. Even if they thought about allowing children in (which I very much doubt unless the whole philosophy changes) there would have to be massive changes to the hotel because the risk of drowning alone would be high and not only in the pools !

It's actually not too bad for those with walking difficulties because the lifts take you close to most things, although the beach is a trek for sure if you aren't fit, but easy enough and with a handy taverna and supermarket.

Lindos is easy to get to by taxi and the brave may walk, though probably not if they've been there in a taxi and see how they drive ! The very laid back car hire guy in the hotel enables you to have a car delivered and collected so no hassle there. A word too for the Thompson rep, Stuart, very helpful, friendly and not trying to sell too many overpriced trips. Perhaps the ealier encumbents in the job have been replaced ?

If you want to chill, just try this place. I doubt you will be disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spineyn0rman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We spent a week at the Lindos Blu as a last break before arrival of our expected baby. We usually hve very active holidays but fancied a bit of relaxation but this was almost to the point of boredom.

The Hotel itself is luxurious but so chique it is bland.

Being pregnant, one of the main aims of the holiday was to be able to swim but we found the pool was absolutely freezing and never got the sun. I saw one person in the pool all week - and he only managed two laps before getting out looking freezing. The indoor pool is tiny (pictures are quite deceptive).

Food was reasonable but not exceptional - and far better value to go into Lindos and eat at the great choice there - Ambrosia in particular as mentioned by other reviewers was by far our favourite. We are used to paying but 4 euros for a coke seemed pricey!

Car was essential and we did a few trips out. Lindos is very nice and thankfully close to teh hotel to provide some interest.

Rooms were very nice - no complaints apart from them forgetting to make up our room on two days and we needed to ask for it to be done.

Spa again is fine but not "out of this world" . Gym fairly basic but adequate - however, never any water without going to find someone and would question flooring for a gym.

It is a nice hotel but not where it should be yet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

As soon as you enter the Hotel you relax..... we arrived late so could not appreciate the views until the next day. Even so we knew we had a gem of a hotel to stay in.
We had a junior suite with a shared pool and I agree with an earlier poster that for privacy you do have to rely on your neighbour staying in their half rather then use the whole pool....we stayed in out half and was lucky our neighbours did the same. Yes the sun never hit our patio but did go on the pool making it really warm (compared to the frigid main pool) and I preferred this as it meant we could sit there all day without burning enjoying our little pool and the money can't buy views if we wanted to .... was also good to be able to sit there after a hot day in Lindos. The staff are unbelievable - they seem to work 24/7 and are always there with a smile. I wish they could come over to the UK as they could seriously teach UK hotel staff a thing or too.
Yes the food and drink is expensive but no different than other 5 star hotels and as just down the road from Lindos and all the places to eat there not a hassle. Wonderful breakfasts..... was lucky to be able to have breakfast on our patio some days which was unique and I like the no room service charge for doing this. When we did eat in the breakfast room the choices are amazing. If someone feels they aren't provided for they would be very picky....even Cava available.
Was the 1st hotel we felt guilty about leaving during the day to explore and didn't want to leave to go home either.... Would go back in a heartbeat and have raved about it so much since being back that parents are considering a trip themselves in 2010 to experience it themselves (we will be green with envy as know what they will get)
My favourite hotel from lots visited in different countries.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank readingweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The combination of view, rooms, restaurants, location and most important the friendliness of the staff makes it in our extensive world traveling one of the best hotels.

Yolande & Alwin Springer
Else & Uwe Brettel
Mission Viejo, California
USA

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissionViejoRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Lindos Blu was the perfect place to go for our Honeymoon. We found the hotel lived up to all our expectations and more. Our room on arrival had a trail of rose petals from the door, with more petals and sweets with a single red rose on the bed. Then along with the complimentary bottle of bubbly everyone receives on arrival, room service arrived with more bubbly and a platter of walnuts and honey. This was a lovely touch and made us feel special. Our room was a standard double with a fantastic view of the bay.The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and all towels were changed each morning and extra towels were available in the evening if required. Beakfast was served until 11.00am so there was no rush to get up in the morning and there was still pleny of choice of both hot and cold food even at 10.55am. As we stayed half board we ate at the hotel in the evening as well. The restaurant staff were always pleasant and attentive and Valantina, who greeted us and showed us to our table most days, was in particular, very welcoming and helpful. We never felt rushed to eat our evening meal and felt the quality was excellent but maybe a bit repetative. As the food tended to be International the Greek Night was a bit disappointing. Lindos Blu is a beautifully designed hotel which we felt catered to our every need , even down to providing feather pillows which we had requested in an email, and richly deserves it's 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgygirlCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed for a weekend last July. I must say that it is an expensive hotel but its worth it. Its the absolute sea view hotel since you can see the sea FROM EVERYWHERE in the hotel. Lobby, staircases, terraces, rooms, even bathroom!! Everything was perfect. Tha architecture was modern and elegant. The breakfast classic 5 star, full of everything. If you want to impress your girlfriend its your hotel in Lindos Rhodes, a romance village in itself.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.0 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,460 reviews
16.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
457 reviews
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,821 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Blu

Address: 46, 5 Km Rhodes - Lindos Avenue, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#1 Green Hotel in Lindos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#7 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £181 - £1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindos Blu 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Blu Luxury Hotel & Suites, the premiere adult-only luxury hotel in Rhodes, rests on the magnificent hillside of Vlycha Bay. The breathtaking views and the traditionally inspired architecture of the hotel, form the ideal scenery for a relaxing break. The customized services provided by our superbly trained personnel, guarantee the indulgence of our visitors senses. Rejuvenate your body and mind at the Elixir Spa & Wellness Center, sip a cup of coffee or quench your thirst at the Allegro Pool Bar, enjoy a signature cocktail at Luna Rossa Bar and let your senses guide you through the journey of the Five Senses Gourmet Restaurant and the creations of our executive chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Blu Hotel Lindos
Blu Hotel Lindos
Lindos Blu Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing