We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, wine and ambience”
Review of Arhontiko

Arhontiko
Ranked #17 of 87 Restaurants in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and ambience”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Agree with everything the other reviewers have said about the quality of the food and the lovely setting. This was easily the best place we ate on our 10 day trip. Usually we like to try different places but the first meal was so delicious we couldn't resist another visit... and another!
The host is delightful too - and generous. Try the house red - as good as I've had anywhere (not just Greece) and a good price too.
I can't see why this isn't top of the Lindos list, except that it is at the far end of the main street pas the other restaurants and bars and you wouldn't pass it on your way to anywhere else....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJC1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    55
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The guys who run this authentic taverna, housed in perhaps the most beautiful of all the lovely former captain's houses, are excellent. Even in October, after what must have been a loooooong tourist season, they were charming.
The food was easily the best we tasted in Lindos. Their Lindian Shrimps were a revelation. And their grilled calamari was superb. We ate on the roof the first time, with a wonderful view of the acropolis. The next visit, the weather was windy so we migrated inside and it was lovely. All in all, a must visit taverna.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Taverna”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We have visited Rhodes for 17 years, & we know the family that run this Taverna. Dimitris is a fine host, & the food is excellent. Downstairs in the old part of the building is our favoured place, but, the roof in the summer is excellent also! Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Villalindosspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional...exquisite food and perfect service...every time.”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Arhontiko is by far and away the best place for a really exceptional evening meal. There are a lot of restaurants in Lindos but this one stands out for me and is so brilliantly consistent. The presentation of the plates is beautifully done, lady chef REALLY knows her stuff as do the waiting staff. Lovely wine list with plenty of rose wines which is my wine choice on holiday. There is an upstairs terrace which is adorned with beautiful bourganvilliae and the restaurant inside just oozes old greek character, high ceilings and sweeping arches, wonderful. I have eaten many times in what are considered the best restaurants in Lindos...this one however, really is the best.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laliSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is the best restaurant in Lindos. Hands down. Get the Chateau Briand, outstanding, so good we went back twice in 3 days!
Service is great, surroundings are beautiful, either on the roof top terrace or indeed inside, but the food is literally to die for and reasonably priced. Top marks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siobhan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arhontiko also viewed

 

Been to Arhontiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing