We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but spoilt by crazy £100+ 7 day air con prices...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindos Gardens Resort Complex
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice enough but spoilt by crazy £100+ 7 day air con prices...”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lindos Gardens Sept 2013

THE GOOD (Lindos/Hotel)
Lindos far classier than the average chavvy Brit only resort – more cosmopolitan; more grown up
Lots of restaurants and bars to explore – all with al fresco roof terraces
Nice vibe in town – really like it – lots of little shops, clean, quirky, classy etc
Felt quite Greek – not an extension of Blackpool
Love the Greeks – always have a laugh with them and pull their leg

Happy hour at hotel every early evening
Nice gardens
Golf Buggy lift to room with luggage a great touch
Friendly bar staff
Very spacious rooms
Lovely big clean pool & great loungers in good condition
Not many sun lounger shenanigans/towels at dawn nonsense required
Handy supermarkets (although Flevaris a couple of miles away is far cheaper)


THE NOT SO GOOD
Think you need a car really – its hilly and hotel is a 20 min walk from town – found it easy to park lower down in Lindos
Beaches in Lindos a bit rammed & rocky – try Pefki – next resort to the south (still busy mind)
Sun goes behind mountain at 18:30 – just geography - but many other places on the island remain sunny for at least an hour longer
Prices a bit higher than home for everything – think motorway services +30% :-(
Hotel balcony always in shade with barely any view
Hotel restaurant/bar prices a bit too expensive so we generally ate/drank elsewhere.
Had to buy bleach for the floor drain in bathroom - bad persistent P smell!
Room smelt like a football changing room initially – male feet – yuk!


THE BAD
OUTRAGEOUS Air Conditioning costs (you pay direct at hotel, as per their leaflet printed costs). Over £100UKP for a 2 room apartment for 7 days. Shove it! We bought 2 fans in Archangelos (big shiny building on main road) for 25E.
Soft drinks costs in most places - £5 for two soft drinks for the kids is too much in a posh London hotel let alone a simple taverna!
Wine costs – 'spitiko' (simple basic young local house wine) is just about OK at 12E for a kilo (litre) but my beloved Greece you can not charge 25E for a bottle of frankly pretty poor wine by any international standards. Get real.

CONCLUSION
Overall happy enough with Olympic & Lindos but would never choose Lindos Gardens due to the sweaty air conditioning rip off. Greece also really needs to make sure they dont price themselves out of the market on tourist fare though – Turkey is happy to sell you a Coke in a bar for a quid rather than 2.75E... I blame the Germans...

Euxaristo poli kai yassas.

Room Tip: Some have a view of Lindos...good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BingoBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    249
    91
    27
    16
See reviews for
163
320
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the start of August and had a great holiday. The resort of lindos itself was very expensive but lindos gardens was great. The staff were friendly and rooms were clean and spacious,although there is quite a large hill up to the complex. The two pools are great although you have to be down early to get yourself a sun lounger. They have a good bar and the restaurant is pretty good and they have a number of theme nights,e.g Greek night and karaoke night,which were ok. Overall I would definitely go back to lindos gardens

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was relieved when we pulled up at Lindos Gardens (always a nail biting moment lol) after 1.30hr coach transfer as it looked so nice, the reception area was modern and we quickly checked in and were helped to our room (8B). Quite basic as expected but spacious it was more than adequate for our needs - the beds were very comfy with sheets changed a few times during our weeks stay and the rooms cleaned daily. The only downside was the bathroom being small, in particular the shower and horrid plastic curtain but as I say a minor annoyance. I understand from speaking to other guests that the rooms higher up the complex were being modernised but being situated a stones throw from the main pool area was very handy for us having a small child and also the view of the Acropolis from the balcony was fantastic!

We spent most days round the main pool, the loungers were very comfortable and I enjoyed the atmosphere and music and the small pool was ideal for my 3 year old to potter around in. Most days you could get a spot up to half 9 in the morning although I did notice a few towels on beds to reserve them which is a bit cheeky. We did have one afternoon at the infinity pool when we couldn't get a place but I wasn't keen on the plastic loungers and it just didn't have the same vibe.

We only ate lunch in the hotels restaurant a few times and although nice we did find it quite dear for what it was. Don't forget to take advantage of Jacks Happy Hour 6.30 - 8.30 every night where drinks are BOGOF! Location wise you're about a 10 min walk into the main town which was a nice stroll and we found a great restaurant Mythos where we ate in the evenings. We did get a taxi back a couple of times from the town and it only cost 4 euro to the hotel. There are two supermarkets about a 5 min walk away where we got water and snacks.

I have to say the staff at the hotel were fantastic, all worked very hard to make sure we had a lovely stay and always made a fuss of my daughter which really made her holiday! We'd definitely be happy to go back to the Lindos Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tye_Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed at Lindos Gardens August 2013 and were not disappointed.

Our Room overlooked the Tennis Court and had a view of the Acropolis in the distance. We stayed in 1S. Courts were a bit tatty - they should probably think about doing something else with that land as we didnt see anyone use them! It was cleaned and fresh towels most days. aswell as sheets changed whilst we were there too. We had a 2 bedroom room, which was great for 2 Adults and 2 Children (14 & 11). All proper beds - no camp beds. Not really much of a kitchen, but nice big fridge with freezer compartment. More than ample for a light breakfast and sandwiches at lunch. However, there are loads of reasonably priced restaurants in Lindos, so I would not go with the intention of cooking your own meals anyway!

I know some people say that the rooms near the top of the hill are the best but I did not have a problem with our room. It looked like it may have been recently renovated (new bedding, bathroom and tiles, and recently painted). So hopefully, this will be the case with all rooms soon too. Infact the room next to us was free for a couple of days and they seemed to be carrying out loads of jobs (like painting, drilling etc) ready for the next occupants. They really do look after the place.

We used the Main Pool mostly. More shade here than the Infinity pool and sunbeds lovely and comfortable (the infinity pool beds were plastic without a mattress). We went the last week before School Hols finished. The first part of the week was busy - and it was a struggle to get sunbeds after 9.30ish. Why do people insist on putting towels on beds at 8 o'clock and then disappear until lunchtime?!?! There were notices to say that there was no sunbed reservations, but no one took any notice and the staff didn't bother either. However, after all that we did always manage to get beds somewhere around the pool. The second half of the week was much quieter and there were free sunbeds all day - bliss!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our air-conditioning (which is essential in August by the way!) wasn't working for the first 2 days, so they only charge us for the days in worked. I would recommend you add the cost of the a/c before you go. It was 70 Euros per week (this was for 2 units in our apartment).

Happy Hour was 6.30pm - 8.30pm. Really handy (overlooking the fountain in the pool!) to have a drink before walking down the hill into Lindos, which took about 10 - 15 mins. Lovely walk down, but a killer on the way back up the hill! You can get a taxi for 4 Euros, but walked it every night and it was good exercise after our evening meal. Lindos itself has lots of reasonably priced restaurants (aswell as quite a few higher priced ones). We went to Mythos / Casa del Pizza a couple of times. We liked it because the 2 restaurants are linked which means part of your table can have traditional greek whilst the others can have pizza (cooked in the traditional outside pizza oven). Most restaurants have a rooftop and tend to have a breeze (very hot in August!) aswell as views over the village.

In summary, we loved it at the Lindos Gardens and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Whilst we were on holiday we thought that we would look our old friend Jack up at the Lindos Gardens Resort Complex.
We called in one evening and we got a very warm welcome from Jack, although it was a very busy night as there was a BBQ and a Greek night on.
The resort is lovely with some marvellous views over the Acropolis and Lindos Bay.
The hotel has recently been upgraded and is very swish!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We returned to Lindos Gardens this year and once again were not disappointed, a lot of the staff from last year were still there and despite the amount of people who must go in and out of there, they remembered us and the welcome was really special. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was clean and tidy and well kept by our cleaner. The pools and Bar area were once again outstanding and Jack`s happy hour was as popular as it had been previously, My only slight on the place this year was the restaurant, Last Year it was great value for money, this year, unfortunately the portions had shrunk to near child size and the New restaurant "manager" seemed to have an attitude problem when quizzed about it. As guests we talk, and it would appear I wasn`t the only one who had a problem with his attitude, previously we were at liberty to eat where we wanted, but now he seemed to want to heard us into the restaurant like children, consequently we never ate there again. However I must point out that the Manager did instantly put him straight, and people were allowed to eat by the pool, or bar, but you could tell by the arm waving and muttering Mr Restaurant manager didn`t like it. That aside, this place is brilliant and We`ve already booked to return next year. My son and me have made Friends for life at this place and i would recommend it to anybody, it has a good blend of people and no rowdy crowds of Lads or Girls..Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd time I've stayed at lindos gardens, the last time being around 3 years ago so it has changed a bit around the main pool and bar area since I last visited.
Both times I have had an apartment at the very too of the complex, a bit of a hike up the hill but by far worth it for the views and also a much better standard of rooms. We were here for a wedding so there were 20 of us staying in this complex and the difference in room standard was pretty big. It seemed pot luck as to which rooms people were allocated as the majority of guests had booked through Olympic holidays. The guests staying at the bottom of the hill by the main pool had pretty small dark rooms very basic (which is the norm for Greece I know) but which really needed some work doing. The aircon wasn't brilliant, and just in general need of a bit of updating. Our room I must say was absolutely fine. We had a great view and also the best bathroom I think I have ever had in Greece. Very impressed with this.
Aircon isn't cheap - €140 euros for 2 weeks but boy did we need it in August! The pool areas were good, the infinity pool area was nice and peaceful and so was the child's pool halfway down the hill. The main pool area was good with comfy sun beds and Claud behind the bar really great fun. Happy hour every eve from 6.30-8.30 which our party made the most of!
The location is excellent if you want to have a pool yet still be close enough to walk into lindos centre with minimal effort. It is a steep hill at the end of the night from the main square after a big meal but worth it to have the pool areas and not just have to use the beach each day if you like to do both.
The staff in the restaurant and in the bar areas were really lovely and couldn't do enough for you - the mango daiquiri is a must!! :)
The hotel management on the whole very good and friendly with the exception on 1 manager on transfer day who was quite rude to one of our party who had very politely asked if there was any chance of switching rooms after seeing the huge difference in room standards. After being very rude, insulting her and then charging her for an upgrade he proceeded to call her a liar when she mentioned that the air conditioning didn't feel particularly cold.... Interesting idea of customer service! ;)
On the whole though a very pleasant stay and a great location if you want a base in lindos with pools as you don't get this any closer to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennoChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#10 of 30 in Lindos
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Gardens Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Gardens Resort Complex

Property: Lindos Gardens Resort Complex
Address: | Crana, 500 meters outside Lindos, Lindos 851 07, Greece (Formerly Garden Apartments)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lindos
#10 Family Hotel in Lindos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lindos Gardens Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Gardens Resort Complex Hotel Lindos
Gardens Hotel Lindos
Lindos Gardens Resort Complex Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing