We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and rooms very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindos Gardens Resort Complex
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival you think wow the entrance and pool look amazing all modern and clean, you get to your room and it all changes. Self catering with no toaster/oven/microwave/pans?! Old looking fridge. Air con was €70!! And did not even work properly and rattled all night long. We woke many days to a family of ants surrounding us! The bathroom had 1 dull mirror light and desperately needed an extractor fan or vent/window?! And they wash the floor with the shower and soak the place every day. Left us no loo roll. Do not try and get a sunbed unless you put your towel on at 5am and then go off for a few hours even though there are signs saying no reserving but the staff did nothing about this! Buy water from local shop 9ltr €2.50 or €18 at hotel! And do not even eat here, every time it's massively overpriced and very poor products. Entertainment 3x a week but only good for the elderly! Pay extra to play pool pay for mini golf, pay €25 for wifi! Nothing close within a short walk other than the ice bar which was actually AMAZING, best place to eat! Shall not return! Defo not 3+* !!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 890cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just got back yesterday eve (13/08/2014) from a family break to Lindos Gardens.
Showed to our room (1DO) and very pleased, good size with my son and his girlfriend staying in the next room which was just the same.Clean and no damage, had a lovely outside patio area as we were on the ground floor of a block of three story apartments, about halfway up the complex.
The staff were great, very helpful, especially Claud the pool barman the only moody one was the waitress serving breakfast,which incidentally I wouldn't bother with as way over price and you can get much more for your money just down the road at The Ice Bar next to supermarket. We only ate once in the eve at the restaurant which was the Greek themed night and that was ok.
Get yourselves down the town and the beach the food everywhere is superb you WILL NOT have a bad meal anywhere. Drop into the Sunburnt Arms for a drink a great British pub in the town or sneak a drink in The Rain Bird Bar halfway down to the beach.
Restaurants in the town to visit are, The Olive Street for fillet steak and pork tenderloin, Dionoysos. On the beach visit Taverna Skala great Bar B Q on a Sunday night, its a buffet and is 15 euros each including your first beer or wine with great live music. Print of Tripadvisor top restaurants and you won't go wrong.
We had a great time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, some people commented on the walk up and down the hill which we found a great way of knocking of the callories!!.
But these always the Cabs which looked ok and not expensive.
I think that's about it and I think we will def be paying another visit in the near future, Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room halfway up the complex as away from pool and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PiperDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we stayed here for a week from july 30th 2014, two adults travelling with two children. The transfer was around an hour and on arrival we were very impressed with the complex the pool was beutifully lit up and the place was spotlessly clean. The staff were very accomodating and friendly . Our apartment 3b was directly next to the main pool which was fantastic, it was a one bedroom apartment with a basic kitchen, bathroom and two beds in the living room. The cooking facilitys were very basic and a toaster was not available , the fridge worked well. The bedroom was nice and spacious and the bathroom looked to be recently tiled. We had two balconys either side of our apartment . For greece the standard of accomodation was great . My only gripe with lindos gardens was the cost of the air con which i notice had been mentioned before. It was hitting the early 30s in temperature so we needed it but not only did we have to pay 70 euros for the air con to have the other unit on in the living room required another 42 euros for the week, by the time we had this and a safety deposit box we had already spent 130 euros.We also found the cost of drinks and ice creams rather high. that said we chose to walk to the supermarket daily for these things after our first day.Lindos itself is beautiful the beach is fab and the sea was warm . The resteraunts were great and food was lovely . we also travelled to pefkos two evenings which was a bit more touristy which suited our family. We loved lindos and would return again , the walk to lindos town centre was not far at all but unfortunately the road was a very busy road which did cause us some concern, the beach was about 15 minutes walk, a little steep perhaps for older people but beautiful route.All in all a lovely holiday x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank amybaby370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Glad I didn't read these negative reviews before booking, might have altered my plans - although some criticisms are well-founded.

Aircon: absolute ripoff at €70 per week, and that only gets you one unit out of two in the apartment - you have to pay another 50% if you want them both! Result - we paid for one and (by detaching the key from the fob which is required to operate the electrics) simply left the aircon on all the time whilst we were out and about. So a bit of an own goal by the hotel management setting outrageous charges for aircon which you really have no choice but to pay in 40 degree temperatures. Having said that, the one unit we did pay for was very effective.

Wifi: no chance of me paying their €25 per week charge when it would never work in our apartment as it was too far away from reception. I survived quite easily on my 3G mobile access.

Room safe: charging guests for use of safe in room - what's that all about? How can you charge for an item which has absolutely zero running costs? Why not charge for using the table and chairs as well? Needless to say we made alternative security arrangements.

Room generally: excellent, very happy. Clean and simple, no issues with electrics or shower as other reviewers have posted. Content with quality and frequency of cleaning service. Cooker and fridge absolutely perfect. Balcony though - why no shade? This made it totally unusable for as long as it was in the sun. Some balconies have pergolas constructed over but no shade on top - what's the point of that? Our room was right at the top of the complex, a sturdy walk up stairs until we discovered there is actually a lift (not advertised anywhere) that will take you up the last half of the way, and then it was no chore at all to make multiple daily trips up to the room.

Bar/restaurant: breakfast adequate but overpriced so we only ate there a couple of times. In the evenings either ate in the apartment or in the village (which was excellent). Bar had decent prices (especially in happy hour) though soft drinks massively overpriced - nearly €3 for a (nasty) tap cola. Get real coke in the nearby supermarket for about a quarter of the price and drink that surreptitiously.

Pool: sunbeds were in high demand, but there seemed to be the right number for the size of the pool. Perhaps it's more a case of the pool not being big enough for the size of the complex. Sunbeds were not an issue for us though, if they were all taken by the time we came to the pool we just observed which had been "reserved" by absent towel owners and removed their towels. There were always plenty of sunbeds available by mid afternoon anyway. The pool itself was great, and the rules were not rigidly observed e.g. despite what they said, lilos were fine and the 7 o'clock closing time was quite flexible.

Staff: found them all friendly, courteous and competent. None of the issues reported by other reviewers.

Location: Perfect. Away from the busy village centre, but only a 10 minute walk into Lindos. No chance of us walking back up the hill with taxis only €4 back. We had a car so explored the island extensively, but it seemed there were plenty of options for those without their own transport.

Overall: would be ideal if they didn't fleece you on "extras" like aircon (which is in reality a necessity) and if they arranged for shade on the balconies (even just an umbrella). Complex is attractive, well-designed and well positioned.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top have great views, but discover where the lift is! Dont pay for both aircon units i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Lindos Gardens Resort. We chose the hotel based on previous comments on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The accommodation and staff were first class which lead to a very relaxing week.
The resort was very clean and our room was cleaned each day. It was interesting to note that a number of guests had returned year after year and we met one family who had been visiting the complex for the 15th time.
Currently you can only book with Thomson and Olympic Holidays but both companies offer first class service.
We booked self catering and had a great room overlooking the sea and the Acropolis. Make sure that you invest in the additional air conditioning and in room safe deposit box. Look to budget around 85 euros for the week but well worth it. We would truly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lindos.
Also don't miss the chance to visit St Pauls Bay. Just a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Really great beach with a sensational Taverna Tambakio's set on the beach. It's open from 10.30am until late. Make sure that you make a reservation one evening after the sun goes down. It's a sensational spot where you can enjoy a great meal on the beach and under candlelight.

Room Tip: We had 23E which had a sea view and overlooked the Acropolis although I understand that this is poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After reading some negative reviews before going, I was feeling quite nervous but you have nothing to worry about! We have just returned after enjoying a fantastic week in Lindos. Lindos is a beautiful place and i would definitely return for a 3rd time.

We arrived to be a warm welcome from reception and were told we had one of the best views of the complex and he wasn't wrong as we had beautiful views of Lindos from our balcony. Room was spotlessly clean, just don't go expecting luxury as anyone who has visited a Greek island before knows that Greek accommodation is usually quite basic which our room was. Bathroom could do with modernising and maybe a paint but nothing major.

It was quite a climb up to our room, more difficult in the heat, so I would recommend you contact the complex beforehand if you have any mobility difficulties.

Grounds of the hotel are so pretty, clean and very well kept. Happy hour(s) (6:30-8:30pm) at the bar is great too!

I just have a few negatives, nothing major but just a few improvements. As someone has pointed out in a previous review, there really aren't enough sun loungers. There are signs saying you can't reserve beds but no one takes any notice and all the beds are gone by around 9am. One day, a family reserved 6 beds at 8am but didn't appear at the pool until 12:30, completely unfair and something I think the staff need to sort out. I don't like reserving beds but unfortunately if you want a bed you'll have to get there early and do the same!

The maid service is ok, they came 5 times in a week but I'm not exactly sure what they did other than make the bed. We only got our towels changed twice which was a tad annoying.

Don't bother with the breakfast as people have pointed out. It wasn't nice and was overpriced. Either go to the supermarket and make your own or go to one of the bars closer to the village.

All in all, we had a lovely week here, I would definitely recommend this complex and wouldn't let the negatives put you off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Hanbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spent a lovely hot week at Lindos Gardens in early July before the school hols. Late booking with self catering which suited us as we like to sample the local food/tavernas. Our apartment was in a great spot - around the quieter infinity pool up towards the top of the complex. No problem with lounger availability and fantastic views of Lindos acropolis and surrounding sea and countryside. Lots of space as we were given a 4 bed with separate double room for just the 2 of us.
Location suited us down to the ground. About 15 minutes into beautiful Lindos town but far enough away to feel as though you are in the countryside. The hotel staff are smashing, In particular Clodi at the infinity pool snack bar (it's his birthday every day!!), Anthea and Adrianna in the dining and pool area and (HAPPY HOUR!!) Jack in the bar. Cleaners and maintenance staff all have a smile and a hello for you and this is reflected in the standard of room cleanliness with frequent cleaning and towels changes.
Couple of slight downsides of no great issue were the costly extras of air con and wi if. We decided to do without air con and the room was cool enough as we left the doors and curtains closed through the day. We used free wifi at the cool and shaded Sunburnt Arms(!) in Lindos.
Highlights: Rhodes by Knight excursion / Lindos town rooftop tavernas (favourite was Hermes),shops and beaches / St. Paul's bay and beach / Lindos Acropolis / Lindos Gardens infinity pool and snack bar area (views!).
All in all a terrific holiday hotel and location.

Room Tip: Towards the top of the resort around infinity pool area - nice and quiet with great views. Uphill so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.3 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#12 of 30 in Lindos
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caesar's Gardens Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lindos Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Gardens Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Gardens Resort Complex

Address: | Crana, 500 meters outside Lindos, Lindos 851 07, Greece (Formerly Garden Apartments)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lindos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £89 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lindos Gardens Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Gardens Resort Complex Hotel Lindos
Gardens Hotel Lindos
Lindos Gardens Resort Complex Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing