We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Xenones Lindos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xenones Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Me and my partner have recently returned from a 10 night stay at Xenones.

Xenones is situated in an ideal location in the heart of Lindos, 2 minutes from restaurants, bars and shops and a 15 minute walk to the beach. Having stayed in the heart of Lindos we would be reluctant to stay at any of the hotels/apartments at the top of Lindos.

The rooms in Xenones are set in lovely grounds which are well maintained especially the roof top terrace which really is a selling point. The rooms are as we expected based on the description and photographs we saw. The rooms are clean with odd marks here and there. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked but perhaps could do with updating. When wanting a shower you need to heat the water up for 30 minutes, we simply put this on as soon as we got back from the beach and relaxed on the terrace until it was ready. As long as you go to Xenones expecting these minor issues then you will enjoy your time there.

We met Andy during our stay who is very nice and provided us with useful advice about buses etc. The only issue we had was on our last day. We had a very late flight and Andy agreed to let us keep our room until 3pm. There appeared to be some confusion on the day as the cleaner constantly attempted to enter the room as we were changing and we received a rather rude email telling us to check out immediately. Eventually this was resolved and we were able to stay in the room until 3pm. I'm sure it was a one off however it made trying to shower and change very stressful with the cleaner constantly opening the door!

Overall we loved our time at Xenones and would definitely recommend. Go expecting what you paid for and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CWCB1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing our small property for you Lindos Holidays and we are very glad that you have enjoyed this.

We are sorry for the small confusion you experienced. Indeed I agreed that you keep the room more, with out any extra charge, even if the check out is at noon time.

In fact, due to my absence abroad, cause of my main profession's obligations (other than the ownership and operation of my small guest house), there was an internal misunderstanding. As a result you received by mistake an email, asking to you ,leave the room. Not rude though but a bit strange for sure, if you consider that I agreed that you stay more.

I apologize for any inconvenience this May have caused you and hope this has not left you with any bad memories, as our mistake was not made in purpose.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks so much for your positive vote! Enjoy your summer!

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Xenones Lindos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Xenones Lindos in April to get some early sun and make the most the quiet, early season Easter period.

The Xenones apartments are clean, simple, basic and functional. The beds are the typical hard ones you find in Greece, but again were clean and comfortable. Nice little table and chairs both inside and outside the apartment to enjoy breakfast or a nice cold drink. Clean bathroom with good, powerful shower. The balcony area offers great views over Lindos, and is perfect for having a relaxing drink after spending the day at the beach, or for a night-cap after a delicious meal in the village.

Xenones is a self-catered apartment, but the facilities are very basic. There's a single ring to cook on, and the kitchen area contains plates, bowls, cutlery, cups, glasses, etc., plus a frying/sauce pan. Fine for preparing some breakfast or a salad for lunch, but not suitable if you're planning on cooking all your meals here. Why would you want to anyway, when the village has so many beautiful restaurants and tavernas to try? We went to a different one nearly every night!

Overall, Xenones Lindos offers a clean, safe and comfortable base from which you can enjoy the delights of Lindos. As long as you're going to make the most of the beaches, bars, restaurants and cafes, and not stay stuck in your room, it's absolutely ideal. We'd definitely stay here again.

Also, make sure you head into reception and speak with Andy, the owner. He's super friendly and helpful, will be more than happy to invite you in for a chat, and he knows all the best local places to try. Our holiday was a lot more enjoyable through his advice, whether it was just for restaurant tips, beaches, or what buses to get - he was the man! Also everyone in the town seems to know him, so you'll normally get a free drink or something if asked where you're staying. What a legend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBoxBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for coming earlier this year in our small property.

Your kind and warm comments for Xenones Lindos, its Staff and myself personally, make us very glad and help us keep on trying even harder.

Wish you all the best for the remaining of the summer and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having read so many good reviews on the Xenones and looking at they're very helpful website, can't wait to get there in September. We were over end of June staying at different apartment, so wish had found Xenones earlier.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank yaliexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and preference and we look forward to welcoming you this September!

Till then, enjoy the summer.

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

the apartments are clean and functional . we had a great view .had a private balcony but didn't get used really as we where overlooked by the public balcony and workmen?!! chairs so very uncomfortable ?
we also had issues with the bed .. slats kept falling off whilst sleeping?
overall all its an good place with a great view very clean and service was great and decent location although there are so many other places to try!

Room Tip: most rooms would be great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiraz1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our small studios complex for your recent stay and glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

In regards, to your comments, kindly note that if you are looking for privacy in Lindos, this is impossible. The restrictions by the Archeological authorities are so strict, which do not allow us even to build balconies. Whereas, in the few studios with private balcony / patio in the village, its impossible to get real privacy, cause of the amphitheater structure of the village and to the fact that common places, rooms, studios and houses along with businesses are one next to the other.

As for the "workers" we are sorry for the inconvenience, but we were changing lightening in our roof top terrace so we had to bring our electrician for some hours, within 2 days.

Last, the chairs we use, are much more comfortable from the Lindian Style ones, the average business uses in the village + the minor problem with your bed which you experienced, fixed within hours from reporting it.

Hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I am the wife of the complainer below! The apartment was absolutely fantastic - yes apart from the shower which was extremely small, and the screens wouldn't close over, but apart from that I loved it. It was in a great location, just enough away from the centre but close enough down the steps to it all. The last place we stayed in had two mattresses on the floor so this was a HUGE improvement. There was a settee to sit on as well a ample storage space. The balcony was great and private and the views over lindos were something else. Miserable so and so!!
I would agree that the directions were very basic indeed, we could see the Xenones from the Lindos Reception but once down there it was hard to find it with all the lanes being so alike. We found a lovely lady who showed us where it was (we were just around the corner as it turned out). Maybe you could put some other markers on the map like the Lindos Harmony or the Silver Gallery Workshop, which for those reading are located just behind the Xenones. I would certainly recommend this lovely place to anyone looking for accommodation in Lindos.

Room Tip: A6 has its own balcony, whereas the others are a shared courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive vote and kind comments.

Generally speaking what we like and what we do not, is very personal :)

Thanks a lot for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming yourself & your wife in the near future.

P.S More remarks are certainly usefull and your tip / suggestion is well noted.
P.S2 to all of our guests, if you have any difficulty in reaching us, give us a call and we will gladly assist you.

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed in room A6 May 14, the directions issued where useless, after trudging up and down alleys for an hour we finally met a couple of locals who knew where it was. When we finally got into room we where delighted with size and private terrace until we tried the shower which was 60cm (24in) square with a set of bath taps projecting into the space by 20cm (8in) which left a standing space of 40cm (16in) we where unable to close the screen due to the confined space so the room got soaked every time one of us had a shower. On a windy day the window was rattling and when I looked the glass was not bedded into the frame so I folded up the business card reception gave me and jammed it into the space to stop the rattling. At circa £50 per night in low season I expect a similar quality of accommodation as you would get in the UK where everything works and is fit for purpose after all we are all bound by the same European standards.

Room Tip: Don,t take room A6 unless they fit a proper shower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our small guesthouse for your recent stay.

We are sorry we did not manage to meet your expectations, while staying with us. Please rest assured that we do what ever is possible to offer descent / clean village accommodation.

At this point let us clarify the following:

1. You paid 40 euro per night = 32 GBP
2. After myself spending 16 years in UK, with 32 GBP, you would be unable to sleep even in a hostel, sharing a room with other 5 people and with common showers and all this in small villages of UK,as in the cities, including but not limited to London, Manchester, Brighton etc, with 32 GPB you are not able even to sleep in a camping. Hence i guess there is no comparison between UK and a small village in the south of Mediterranean. As for what you state "everything works in UK", i would just recommend that you check within TA for the worst quality and most overpriced voted hotels and you would be surprised.
3. On top of the above, although we should have allocated your reservation in a standard studio, we gladly offered you one of our limited huge prv balcony ones = upgrade.
4. For the size of the bathroom we can not do much. This shower considered to be a standard size for a studio in Lindos, where the local authorities do not allow us to make major changes in the buildings, hence we have to preserve them as they originally built. The regulars of Lindos know this. In case you are not one of them, then you could just browse over the web.
5. Directions. We regret to inform you that with us being 250m away from PARKING B (lindos reception) you are the first person in our 7 years of operation, found it difficult to walk down a path and make a couple of turns. Again, you could always call us and we would be happy to assist you.
6. Wind Case. Although we are not a hotel, sb of us, is always close 18/24 hours a day. We would immediately fixed what the strong wind caused. You never mentioned this.

Let me kindly point that you got far more than what you paid, if consider that the room you were provided is part of a two bedroom apartment, which costs at least 80 euro a night in May.

We hope that you have at least enjoyed the views from your prv or one of our common terraces + our stunning village.

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We are returning to the Xenones Studios in Lindos again for the 3rd year in succession. It has everything. Rooms are a high standard. Easy walking to the town where restaurants are excellent. The owner(Andy) is friendly and welcoming. The provision of beach towels makes a real difference when travelling light. Cannot fault this accommodation. It was a real find and we are looking forward to returning again in June....already booked up for the week.

Room Tip: Different sized rooms, but all of a high quality and standard. No swimming pools in Lindos town, but...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheelagh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenonesLindos, Owner at Xenones Lindos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. This is highly appreciated and help us, becoming better and better.

Every accommodation is as good as its guests :) We are very glad having all you to support us and keep on coming.

Our property is just a descent, clean, central with a few comforts village accommodation in Lindos. We try to maintain this old building in the most efficient way and best possible way and as much as our financial allow us.

Thanks to all of you for realizing that Xenones Lindos is Not a hotel, neither a luxury accommodation, but a small friendly and clean place to sleep and be, while visiting this magic village.

See you again, soon.

Kind regards,

Andy Efstathiou
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#12 of 30 in Lindos
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindos Comfy Suites
Lindos Comfy Suites
#2 of 10 in Lindos
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenones Lindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenones Lindos

Address: Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Lindos
Price Range: £26 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xenones Lindos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xenones Lindos is a Studios & Family Apartments Complex, within the "protected" old city of Lindos, in the famous Rhodes Island of Greece. One of the best complexes exactly in the center of the Lindos Village, overlooking the Acropolis of Lindos, just a few meters from the Lindos most important sightseeing, market, restaurants, cafes, souvenir shops and of course Lindos Bay. Our complex consists of 17 Studios and Family apartments which can accommodate 2 and 4 adults accordingly, split in four block of units. Three of the blocks are attached to each other and the fourth one located just 100m away. All of our Studios and Family Apartments are same standards, comforts and facilities. Our front office department is operated daily between 10:00 and 21:00 (subject to change). Xenones Lindos offers daily maid service and all the modern facilities to its guests for a pleasant and unforgettable stay within the most famous area of Rhodes - Lindos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xenones Lindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenones Lindos Hotel Lindos
Xenones Lindos Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing