We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not a five star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

When we were invited to a wedding at Lindos, I started looking immediately for a nice hotel for our one week stay. I wanted a hotel where we could sunbathe and swim. I discounted LindosBlu on account of the issue of sun (or lack thereof in the afternoon); and also discounted Melenos as there is no swimming pool. From the positive reviews on TA, I opted for the Aquagrand. I discovered when we got there that it is probably the closest hotel to St Paul’s chapel, where the wedding was taking place. As others have mentioned, it is a walk (20-30 mins) from the centre of Lindos. My concern was not so much the distance but whether the road was safe. There is a pavement which makes the walk safe and easy. We tended to walk to Lindos during the day and in the evening, and although we were happy to walk back to the hotel in the afternoon, we always got a taxi back at night. The taxi fares are fixed at 8euros (to collect you from the hotel) and 6 euros from the square to the hotel. A taxi would arrive within 5 minutes of being called by the hotel to collect you.
I had requested a superior seaview room that got the sun for most the day. We were allocated a room in block 500 which got the sun until very late in the afternoon. Unfortunately the balcony was so sheltered from the wind that it was actually too hot to sunbathe on our balcony and so we preferred to sunbathe around the pool where there was a pleasant breeze. In addition, the chairs on the balcony are metal –framed director style chairs which are not great for sunbathing (a reclining type of chair would have been more comfortable). (The sea front suites/room get a lovely sunrise but lose the sun later in the afternoon.) Our room was fine. Pleasant decor, enough room and very quiet.
The location/layout of the hotel means that there are plenty of places to sunbathe on loungers. Many guests chose to sit on the beach and swim in the sea. There were ample loungers on the beach. Although the beach is stoney, the construction of wooden walkways means that the walk to the sea is much easier and more enjoyable than tiptoeing over stones. Many people who were staying in the “private” pool rooms, opted to stay on their terrace with pool. As others have noted, these “private” pools are not private. Anyone can walk by and look in, plus the rooms upstairs overlook both the pool and the terrace. If you don’t mind that lack of privacy- then fine – but I was pleased that we had not booked one.
We did not have dinner in the hotel but had lunch a few times at Sensio or Olivino. Service was good and the menu suited us.
The main pool was large and great for swimming. It was only the last 2 days of our holiday where the water temperature dropped so much (for some reason) which made swimming unenjoyable. All of the guests who had swum up until then, found the drop in water temperature less appealling. The weather was still lovely so not sure what happened
Having noted some of the positives, I’m afraid that the number of practices and policies operated by the hotel management meant that our experience was far from 5 star.
The policy that you must pay a 20 euro deposit for a pool towel which you must keep for 2 days is disgraceful. You swim, come out and dry off, then lie down on a wet towel. Tough. We wondered if maybe there was some eco policy on Rhodes which the hotel had to obey but we spoke with guests staying at the Lindos Memories hotel and they commented how generous their hotel was with towels and that their bedding was stripped and changed every day.

As for service around the pool, once (only) during the afternoon, one person from the hotel would come round to ask if you wanted a drink. If you didn’t want one at that particular moment – tough. There is no pool guy to move your lounger/sun brolly and obviously noone to bring you a change of towel! No food may be served/eaten around the main pool.
No evening turndown service. Never encountered that in any 5 star hotel in any country in the world. We were allocated 1 sachet of bodywash/shampoo per person per day. If you used that up before going out in the evening, then tough. Our room was serviced at around 3pm each day. So up until then we had no fresh towels and no replenished toiletries. We started to leave our bath towels outside during the night rather than in the bathroom as often they were still damp in the morning . (Someone on TA mentioned Molton Brown products. Our sachets were not MB but something like Ahnnya). We received one bottle of complimentary water and some greek sweets on check in – but nothing else was provided/replenished during the course of one week.
Breakfast was not 5 star. The fresh fruit buffet was boring eg apples, oranges, bananas and grapefruit. The “exotic” element was kiwi and melon. The same every single day. The rest of the fruit was tinned. Tinned peaches, tinned pineapple and tinned mixed fruit. On the first day there were cartons of fruit yogurt and a bowl of greek yoghurt. But the fruit yoghurt was not provided after the first day. One day there was no butter set out and when I asked if there was any, I was told to have margarine. Cheap paper napkins were provided at breakfast. In addition, no replacement cutlery was provided – so if you used your knife to cut your fruit, you would have to re-use it to butter your toast. Waiters dashed around filling up coffee/tea cups (no pots provided) but never noticed if you had cutlery that needed replacing. Makis was very pleasant at breakfast but we did not see many other smiling staff.
To end on a positive note, the hotel shop had a sale on whilst we were staying and their quality Rhodes pottery/ceramics was nicer and better value than anywhere else we saw in Lindos or Rhodes Town. Also - we saw people carrying back large bottles of water from the supermarket but the hotel shop sold large bottles for only 1 euro which seemed good value to us.
Overall – a disappointing stay. The hotel gardens are lovely, and the decor/layout is very relaxing. But the feeling of tight purse strings gives an air of cheapness and lack of quality which would put me off ever wanting to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is the perfect size, has a lovely staff, is brand new and the rooms, the pools, amenities and grounds are spectacular! Best beach in Lindos! It truly is a gem on this beautiful island. The next time we will stay more than two days to experience all this oasis has to offer. Denver, CO USA

Room Tip: We didn't have a private pool but our room had a spectacular sea view - all we could ask for! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FineWine582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our second stay here. We chose to stay again because it is a clean modern hotel and has 2 lovely pool areas which are very peaceful. The staff are very friendly too.We have not had a room with a pool but find the exclusive rooms ideal for us. We are not keen on the beach area but a lot of guests seem to prefer it to the pool but each to their own. I think a car is essential to really enjoy Rhodes and also for going to Lindos . There are some lovely sandy beaches etc Agathi beach,Tsampika beach and Prasonisi beach which is fascinating because it is a popular spot for wind sports. We went out every day and came back to relax by the pool in the afternoon. There was never a problem finding a sunbed. We had a day out to Symi on the 9.30am crossing . It took approx an hour to get to the ferry in Rhodes town from the hotel. We were able to have a quick breakfast at 7am before we set off.The breakfasts are very good but the evening buffet was not as good as our last visit because it was a bit repetitive but for the extra half board supplement we paid it was value for money at £7 per night .To put it in perspective one meal at Ambrosia was more than our total half board supplement for the week for the two of us. We ate out a few nights during our weeks stay just for a change.We would definitely stay here again and use it as a base but I think if you were here without a car you would feel a bit trapped with nowhere close by to walk to( Lindos is a bit of a walk in the sun) . This is very much a resort 5 star hotel with nice surroundings and should not be confused with a hotel with 5 star service etc pool service but we would stay again in the future for the price we paid.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pinewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My boyfriend took me to this wonderful gem of a hotel as a surprise for my birthday last month, and what a surprise it was! Couldn't have asked for more. Relaxing in a peaceful idyllic environment, the scenery so beautiful and picturesque - of the turquoise sea and backdrop of hills amidst wonderful flowers and trees all around, whilst having a dip in your own private pool - that it was hard to ever leave the hotel.
The room was top-notch, freshly simple yet having an indulging feel to it... And we surely enjoyed the jacuzzi (and Molton Brown products). The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and highly efficient at all times.. And never failed to greet us with a big smile. The food was superb, and we had the privalege to be invited for a scrumptious dinner by the lovely hotel owners themselves - an extremely interesting, light-hearted yet very hard-working local family who treated us like family. I was also spoilt (and surprised yet again by my other half!) with the most romantic champagne dinner in a gazebo by the sea, which staff set up full of candles, cushions and petals.. Say no more... Without a doubt, one of the best holidays I've ever had in terms of a relaxing break, romance, fantastic service and luxurious location, great food, sea and sun!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Aquagrand has got to be one of if not the best hotels my partner and I have ever stayed at and we highly recommend it. On our arrival we were greeted with a glass of Champagne and the wonderfully welcoming Niko who then showed us to our very impressive honeymoon suite (324) with breathtaking views of Navarone bay. The hotel has incredible pieces of art which take your breath away (Zen bar), tasteful and very much enhancing the peaceful relaxed atmosphere. With the choice of relaxing by the infinity pool or heading a few minutes to the beach to one of the romantic cabana's, it very much felt like paradise. As for the staff, a special mention to Captain George and Sofia for service that was not only exceptional but warm, friendly and not too formal which meant we could have a laugh with them. Lindos just 5 minutes away in a taxi just has to be visited. We could go on but you should go for yourself, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Aquagrand, see you soon.

Room Tip: If your taking a private pool room, be sure it's a sea view not side sea view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ell-ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

AquaGrand is perfect for a week or two of relaxation. The Hotel, facilities and grounds are excellent. We had room 913 with a private pool. It was so quiet and peaceful we did not want to leave. Everyday we had a siesta on the outside bed and used the private pool during the day and evening (Great way to cool down before going to bed!!).

Food and drink was excellent. We were upgraded to the VIP area so we were able to go to "Elements" however the main dining area is air conditioned and comfortable. There was always room at the pool, beach, restaurants and bars so you were never worried about rushing anywhere. Brilliant snorkeling off the beach (Saw my first wild cuttlefish!)

We only ventured to Lindos once and did not stay long as the evening was very hot and it was very claustrophobic (Was pretty though).

Will be returning to AquaGrand. A Special mention to Captain George and his wife who were very friendly and we had a few laughs over our poor attempt at Greek.

If you are looking for cheap then AquaGrand is not for you but it is very relaxing and the facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view with own pool was a real luxury and well worth the money. We were in block 900 which was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jump818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

With all my heart I recommend Aquagrand Lindos. This luxurious hotel is something different than other five star hotels. AquaGrand was designed and run by family. They are artist, architect, engineer, so every detail they carefully designed. I met them and they are so warm and friendly. Staff, from the reception to the restaurant and beach, are professional and hospitable (especially Stefan and Afroditi from the restaurant). You always have a place on the beach (sunbed's and umbrellas free of charge), by the pool, quiet is everywhere and if you need complete relaxation this is the right place for you. Food is varied and tasteful. Room perfectly clean. I spent my holidays in Greece more than ten years and this is the best experience ever.
Snezana from Serbia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snezana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
1.7 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,366 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
15.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
5.5 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort

Address: Psaltos, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £156 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious beach-front hotel with limitless views to the bright blue of the Aegean Sea, just 1500 meters away from the renowned traditional village of Lindos. Nestled into a cliff side, the hotel blends in magically with its Lindian surroundings and enjoys breathtaking views of the Aegean. The private-like beach, in front of the hotel, stretches to a length of 200m, and although rocky in nature, its crystal clear turquoise waters are easily accessible through wooden decks and panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquagrand Exclusive Deluxe Hotel Lindos
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort Lindos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing