We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel!”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was our honeymoon hotel. First class location, just a short bus ride from the town of Lindos which was well worth a visit. The staff, from the cleaners and porters to the operations manager, "Raffa" could not do enough to make sure our holiday was stress free. They were all just so helpful. The hotel itself, built on the side of a steep cliff caters for everyone from fit active individuals to those with limited mobility. The views are stunning and the weather was almost too hot mid afternoon but there are plenty of shady spots if needed. The private beach was kept clean and tidy with one of the staff on waiting duty every day for the drinks and snacks purchased from the bar. We were half board and the buffet breakfast catered for just about every possible combination of food from across the planet. Evening meals were a mix of buffet for the starter and sweet with a set main course with several different options. We just could not have eaten any more if we had tried. The room we had had was modern, spacious and comfortable with kettle and fridge for those little extras. We will certainly go back to Rhodes and if we want to stay near Lindos we will use the Lindos Mare Hotel again. It is second to none. We would like to thank all of the staff for making our holiday so relaxed and stress free.

Room Tip: We had a room with a patio. I would normally book a room with a balcony but it made no difference. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    193
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
309
842
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We first stopped here 10 years ago and returned on a whim on a late booking. We were not disappointed. All the wonderful things said about the hotel in the previous reviews are so very very true. The food and choice was second to none with a lovely dining terrace (new to us) on which to enjoy it. The new pool and bar were an asset to this already lovely hotel designed into the hillside. The biggest asset though is the staff who could not do enough for you. Savvas,Giannis,Tsampika,Kiriakos,Nicola to name but a few were what really made our stay special. The evening entertainment was very good with the usual greek night and tribute acts of The Beatles,The Drifters and Abba amongst other acts.
Apart from the hotel we had a lovely time exploring the largely unspoiled south and west of the island by car and would recommend this.
We've marked the location down slightly as we like to walk outside the hotel and this was difficult at this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredsays169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Returned for the second time to be warmly greeted by Effi, 'Rafa' and his team.All the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful - my 10 month old grand-daughter had such a great time and was overwhelmed with the attention !
The terrace / veranda to the restaurant has made a difference to what was already a superb hotel so you can now dine 'al fresco'.
Oh and by the way the food is also of the highest quality.
Not to be missed and only less than a 5 minute taxi ride to Lindos town.
Another hotel we'll have to re-revisit !

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea is always a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

we've been at the Lindos Mare in 2012 & 2011, however, a family wedding clashed this year so we couldn't go back :( For us it is a perfect location with a great hotel and better staff. separate from Lindos by about 3 miles (or 7 Euros a taxi ride) overlooking the beautiful Vlicha Bay it is very tranquil.

The 2 bars and the a la carte restaurant has the bay in full view, and as they are open air they catch a welcome breeze to avoid it becoming too stuffy of a night. At the pool bar is where the night time acts play, usually good quality bands and a traditional night with the burning floor dancing is a good night out.

Drinks and cocktails are at a price reflected by the quality of the drinks but you can find cheaper in Lindos - though there are early evening deals to be had. You do get a bottle of wine compliments of the staff on arrival to help soften the price and for a local house wine it was very drinkable!

The spa has a good range of treatments, a decent steam room and sauna (even if you might need to work out the controls for yourself!) a small bar finishes off the set up. Penny is so friendly, we are going to miss her this year.

In the restaurant you are greeted by excellent professional and friendly staff, Tsampika - always trying to get me to learn more Greek - Michaelis and Stavros for looking after us and getting us the best seats! Buffet food has a large amount of choice and changes regularly, complimented by the dishes of the day prepared and served to order. The a la carte for us was a little too expensive to justify the small difference in quality, but the lunchtime stone baked pizzas were good and greek salad is still being made by my wife 11 months later!

Hire a car. Rodos car hire is on site and is very fair with the pricing, our little Micra got us all over the island with air con full on! With a car I would drive to Prassonissi, where the med and adriatic meet - wierd and wonderful - and a haven for all kinds of water sports (the kite surfers are really cool to watch). Also it frees you up to see the touristy bits without paying the premiums - although Rhodes Town is a law unto itself when driving the unmarked junctions!

Don't forget to visit St Paul's bay, the Lindos Acropolis, the spa at Kalithea, Butterfly valley, Rhodes town and if you want to take a tour - take the west coast tour and visit the hidden city.

Room Tip: Don't worry they are all good. Even the garden views are big, comfy and the view is only second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the Lindos Mare Hotel. It is just fabulous. A perfect location with views to rival the Amalfi Coast, excellent facilities, lovely spacious airy rooms and the best bit, the food. We ate in the main restaurant every day. It is a buffet, but goodness what a buffet, a range and choice beyond anything I have experienced. The staff are wonderful, welcoming and helpful. Used crockery and glasses are cleared instantly and again the views are superb. Michael and Savvas, who manage the restaurant always make you feel as though you are special and nothing is too much trouble. The beach is delightful with soft sand and gentle waves, easy for swimming. The beach service is efficient and friendly. The staff seem to stay at the hotel and remember guests from year to year. we will return again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 to 213 are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 350TinaP350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Lindos Mare was a lovely hotel with stunning views of the bay. The staff were, without fail, cheerful and courteous irrespective of whether it was early morning or late at night.
Our room (421) was slightly dated in appearance, however had all the comforts required – air conditioning, shower, fridge, safe etc. We were lucky to get a private balcony with sea views – a great way to relax after a hard day on the beach.
The beach was right on the doorstep of the hotel, and was well maintained with a shower and modesty/ changing box. There are two pools, a small infinity pool near the bottom of the hotel next to the Meltemi restaurant, and the main pool which is next to the pool bar and over-looked by the Vergina bar above. The main pool is probably twenty metres long, and over ten wide at some points – plenty long enough to enjoy a good swim. Both pools were very clean and well maintained.
We ate at the main restaurant most nights. The food was reasonably varied and my wife, who is a vegetarian, was generally pleased with the variety on offer, though some nights were better than others. The staff in the restaurant were generally efficient yet friendly, and were well marshalled by Michael the manager. Drinks were quite expensive (€4.20 for a bottle of Mythos), when in Lindos town you can get a 500ml for €3.50.
Lindos is about 2km from the hotel. There is no walking path, and the road is not really suitable for walking as it is a fast road. I certainly wouldn’t do it at night, though when we walked back at about 4pm one day it was not too busy.
There are a lot of stairs to get to various levels of the hotel (about 200 from beach to reception) but there are lifts available and we felt that the exercise helped walk off the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Lindos Mare hotel and stayed with just over 20 guests! We were due to get married at St Pauls Chapel in St Pauls Bay but the only day of bad weather was the wedding day where it thundered and we had lightening and downpours. The staff at Lindos Mare were so accommodating immediately arranging for us to get married there, the whole day was absolutely perfect and we had our evening reception in the cocktail veranda which was beautiful. The food throughout the week and the wedding meal was fantastic as was the service we recieved. We really cannot thank everyone enough and special thanks to Efi our wedding co-ordinator at the hotel, Stavros on the pool bar and Michalis the restaurant manager, they made us feel so welcome and couldnt have made our week and day any more special. We are looking at booking again for our first year anniversary and most of our guests have said they would love to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are fantastic we have room 223 which was lovely, large balcony and the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,227 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,555 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
338 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing