We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic return visit to the Lindos Mare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic return visit to the Lindos Mare”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for the second time at the Lindos Mare from 5-12 May 2014, having previously stayed at the hotel in September 2011. It's the first time we have ever returned to the same hotel more than once, and it was based on a combination of good memories from before plus a very good deal on price for early season. We certainly weren't disappointed ... all the good things we remember were still there plus one or two great improvements.

Firstly, we were given a refurbished room (512) and as it was the first week of the season we were the first guests to use it .. spacious, completely decorated in white, sleek wall-mounted flat screen TV, wet room and great view of the bay combined to give this room a real "wow" factor (see attached photos). Our previous room 3 years ago had been perfectly fine so this was even better ... and as repeat guests the hotel staff had spotted it was my birthday the day before our arrival and left a birthday card in the room as well as the sparkling wine and fruit platter!!

We were on half board, and the ability to swap between dinner and lunch and the quality and variety of food on offer made this a great part of our overall stay. The dinners in particular were fantastic ... extensive starter buffet and 2 soups every evening, 3 waiter-served main courses plus a carvery choice and at least 4 buffet hot choices on offer, and an enormous dessert buffet of cold desserts, cakes, pastries, fresh fruit and fruit salad, ice cream ... I could go on! It's the best buffet we've seen in a hotel, and it was replenished throughout the whole dinner period. What made it even better was that since 2011 the hotel had extended the main dining room by building an outside terrace, which really "opened out" what had previously been a slightly oppressive inside space. The breakfast buffet wasn't quite as brilliant but was still of a very good standard - if i were picky I would say the orange juice was rather mediocre and there wasn't a great choice of cereal for British tastes, but there was still plenty of good quality choice overall.

The hotel has a main plus a smaller pool with a good number of sunloungers, plus its own area of free sunloungers on the beach below (with pool bar service). Although our stay was low season the hotel was actually pretty full, but we never had any trouble getting a sunbed, and a lifeguard was on duty most of the day at the main pool.

I had a bit of a cold during our stay so used the steam bath in the spa, which was very nicely done out. I didn't have any treatments but the rooms all looked very smart and the staff were extremely helpful.

This brings me on to one of the best parts of the Lindos Mare which was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, from the waiters to the reception staff to the cleaners ... we had a slight problem one day when we returned to find a small puddle of water on the floor, but after calling to reception the handyman appeared within 10 minutes to fix it! On the Greek night the best bit was after the professional dancers left and the staff did their own traditional dances .. it all seemed very natural and was great entertainment. Our best thanks would have to go to Savvas and Alex in the restaurant ... they were so friendly and fluent in several languages, and made everything run like clockwork. The staff all seem to work very hard to make your stay a success.

My only note of caution would be that there are a lot of steps in the hotel - it does have lifts but if you have mobility problems it may not be for you. Also it is about a mile from Lindos town - a bus stops directly outside the hotel and a cab back at night is 6 Euros ... but it is a bit far to walk. However we didn't find these to be negatives as it is a lovely quiet bay with a couple of restaurants/tavernas and lovely views. i would definitely recommend it and we hope to return again in future.

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms in the lower part of the hotel (around 512) are large, quiet and have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear PJC1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your returning experience at Lindos Mare.

Your description of your time with us was such a pleasure to read, and it genuinely fills me with pride to read about the memorable experience our team were able to create for you.

Our spacious, comfortable guest rooms, excellent location and food selections and many other details that you have mentioned in your review are elements of our hotel that we are extremely proud of, and it is always such a pleasure to read our guests’ positive comments regarding these.

On behalf of the entire team here, thank you so much for your fervent review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you one more time and we cannot express in words our gratitude for such wonderful comments regarding our impeccable service. Your review inspires us to continue in our mission of treating each guest with the utmost genuine service throughout all departments. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

Thank you very much for selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    190
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
295
817
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just come back from a week at the Lindos Mare. We actually found the location lovely you are not surrounded by tacky tavernas and tacky gift shops. The hotel is itself decor wise was lovely
. The room was basic .. not luxury but adequate.The view was beautiful The service I found to be good but better for some. I did feel a little uncomfortable with the OTT service that some people received but not everyone got consistent excellent service. (Some came across false and a little disingenuous in the restaurant) The food was okay a little repetitive and by the end of the week we were bored with it (the icecream was particularly of poor quality and didn't taste of much) and the fruit was very limited. The porridge was gorgeous.A fresh orange making machine would have been nice (we have stayed in lesser hotels that had this and better food and show cooking) a pharmacy would be good on the premises as the hotel is more remote.The beach was nice, yes there are a lot of stairs but it kept us fit!! We didn't mind them.We would not return but enjoyed our stay and had a nice time. We hired a car for 3 days from the hotel at a very reasonable price.Just a tip don't get too high hopes for Rhodes old town it's pretty tacky and commercialized ...a bit disappointing. The beaches can be a little scruffy(we did 10 beaches and the most lovely was Anthony Quinn cove that was beautiful and very secluded)

Room Tip: We stayed in 209.. had lovely views over the bay and handy for the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear T i,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay.

It is always regrettable to note that there were some issues that caused some dissatisfaction with your stay and would like to offer our apology for any inconvenience caused.

Whilst I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our excellent hotel location and design together with the view and our beach facilities, I felt sorry that the buffet selections in our restaurant were not to your liking during all the days of your stay. We ensure you that all your comments will be discussed with our executive Chef and action will be taken were it is needed.

Furthermore please note that we accommodate any food and dietary requirements that people may have and I am sure that this must be what you have noted during your meals. Here in Lidos Mare, we treat all our guests with the same way by offering the same level of service which can be proved from many other reviews.

We are happy to read that overall you had a nice time with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to hear from you again, and hope that we will indeed have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lindos Mare, and restore your faith in us.

Best Regards ,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Just would like to tell not to hesitate to book on this hotel. The environment it's very warm, friendly, positive etc. the professionalism and charisma of the staff it's A+. Great view , very clean really we had a great time. The manager of the restaurant (Savvas) is a real diamond.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear "David M",

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit.

We are delighted to receive your encouraging feedback and to learn that you were happy with the magnificent view, the cleanliness and the friendly staff. The team is our strength and your feedback motivates them to scale greater heights of excellence.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have recently returned from a beautiful week at the Lindos Mare. The hotel is chic boutique in style, and perfectly charming in every way. There are lovely details everywhere, comfortable sofas, atmospheric lighting, soothing colours. By the pools there are wooden sun beds, a traditional wooden changing hut, lush greenery, pretty flowers, and the most breathtaking views of the sea imaginable.

Our room was spacious and modern in subtle hues of lilac and pale green, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was bright with a large bath and lots of modern features. On arrival, a bottle of wine and a fruit bowl were waiting for us, as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The fridge was very efficient and kept everything ice cold. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and appears to have been recently decorated.

Because the hotel is built on a hillside, there are lifts to reach the various parts of the complex, including a cable lift which has a traditional charm to it. The restaurant runs efficiently and there is a vast selection of delicious food available for both breakfast and dinner. Dinner may be exchanged for lunch or dinner at the also excellent pool restaurant.

The staff at the hotel are fantastic, I have never met such a happy team! They are friendly, calmly efficient, professional and always smiling and have time to make every guest feel special. During our stay at Lindos Mare, I had a fantastic birthday. I received a very nice birthday cake, and on returning to my room after lunch, there was a birthday card from all the staff at Lindos Mare, and a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket waiting for me!

And now we come to the jewel in the crown! The lounge bar is a fabulous place to enjoy a leisurely cocktail or two, whether your taste is serious, fruity, exotic, or 007, Vangelis (extremely skilled head bartender) will mix the perfect drink for you. Vangelis will amaze you with his knowledge, passion and ability to mix cocktails in a way which would not look out of place in a chemistry lab. What a lovely birthday surprise I had when he made me a special birthday cocktail containing some locally sourced ingredients! My husband and I feel privileged to have enjoyed cocktails of this standard every evening during our stay, one of his favourites being the Vesper. Yamas Vangelis!!

Thankyou to everyone at Lindos Mare for a fantastic week, and for your kindness and generosity in making my birthday so special and so much fun.

With best wishes,

Diane & Rob

Room Tip: We had room 134, a lovely spacious room close to reception and the cable lift, with a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Daniel & Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us.

Your description of your time with us was such a pleasure to read, and it genuinely fills me with pride to read about the Birthday memorable experience our team were able to create for you.

I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the many facilities our hotel has to offer, including our “Vergina” Lounge Bar. Thank you for your compliments regarding our excellent location, the pools, the comfortable guest rooms, the room facilities as well as the restaurants in our hotel, I was delighted that we have met your expectations during your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here, thank you so much for your fervent review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we cannot express in words our gratitude for such wonderful comments regarding our impeccable service. Your review inspires us to continue in our mission of treating each guest with the utmost genuine service throughout all departments. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

Thank you very much for selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely week. The hotel has great facilities, is clean, modern and well maintained. Above all, the staff are happy, friendly, helpful and professional. They genuinely go out of their way to ensure guests have a great time. This applies to the cleaners, waiters, reception and restaurant staff alike. Can't speak highly enough!
The food has to be seen to be believed! Great quality and variety and as much as you want.

Room Tip: Sea view for preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear "ΡονΤ83",

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website.

Thank you very much for your kind review on your recent visit to us. Our excellent hotel facilities, the cleanliness of our guestrooms and the hotel style are elements of our hotel that we are extremely proud of, and it is always such a pleasure to read our guests ‘positive comments regarding these.

Your kind comments regarding to our staff are most welcome. We continually aim to deliver high standards of Greek hospitality to delight our guests and I am very pleased that you experienced this from the team.

Thank you for choosing Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Best Regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I just returned from a week at the Lindos Mare. What an amazing hotel. We booked purely on the trip advisor ranking and I'm really happy we did. The hotel is in an amazing location, high on the hillside about 5 minutes from Lindos town. We were in room 206 - the views are truly stunning from this room. The room itself wasn't the biggest, but it was in a good state of repair and the glass between the bath and room was an unusual, nice surprise (with the blind up you can shower with the best views I've ever seen from a shower!!).

We were half board and the food was honestly excellent. We noticed a huge difference between Lindos Mare and the all inclusive "5 star" hotels we have stayed at before (we'd previously been to Rhodes and stayed at a 5 star all inclusive which was ok, but nowhere near as good as the Lindos Mare and it certainly didn't inspire me to review it like this). The main restaurant has a substantial buffet plus main course set menu for dinner and the breakfast caters for everything you could want. When the weather is good, get there early and take a table outdoors where you can enjoy dinner with the incredible views the hotel has to offer.

Despite all of these plus points, the thing that stood out the most for us was the service. The staff at the Lindos Mare are fantastic. Dimitris, Tsambika, Trefonas and Savvas (maître d') in the restaurant made us feel special at every meal. Panayiota, the spa manager and her team couldn't have done more for us, going out of their way to make sure we were totally relaxed. I was pleasantly surprised to get an email from Efi (Rooms Division Manager) a week before we were due to arrive. She and the whole team went all out to make our stay special (it was our anniversary). Finally, Alexandros. I'm not sure what his official position is, but he seemed to be everywhere in the hotel, greeting guests with a warm smile and taking time to take a genuine interest in how your stay was going. At every meal, he would greet each guest (in several different languages!!) and would remember our names and details about what we said we were doing that day. All the staff deserve a medal at the Lindos Mare, but Alexandros especially.

The hotel facilities are a 8/10. The location is a 9/10. The food is a 9/10. The staff and service are a 10/10. Overall, especially at this price, the experience was a 10/10. Thank you for a wonderful stay Lindos Mare.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jason R,

It is always a pleasure to read such very kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to us.

Thank you very much for your feedback relating to your restaurant experience. I was delighted that you found the restaurant food selection was to your liking; it was so pleasing that you enjoyed our facilities, including our hotel spa.

Your compliments to our staff are most appreciated. Here in Lindos Mare we try through the service and quality standards to deliver the Greek hospitality to all our guests, and it will be my pleasure to share your positive remarks with them all. It is very rewarding for our staff to hear guests’ positive comments such as yours for the level of service from most of the hotel departments.
Once again we would like to thank you for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort in the near future.

Best Regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Idilic location, beautiful views over the bay. This hotel has the correct balance of quality fixtures and fittings and friendly professional staff. Food is of a high standard. This is our first half board booking - we have never fancied it before! But there is fantastic flexibility in this hotel. You can swop a meal and take it at lunch or trade it in against the other restaurant. Drinks are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThanasisT, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Nicki R,

Many thanks for taking the time in sharing your feedback following your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

Your kind appreciation of our team is warmly welcomed. I am pleased that they were able to display their excellent friendliness and helpfulness during your stay. Thank you for highlighting the excellent view over Vlycha bay, the quality in our hotel facilities and our restaurant food. We are delighted that we have met your expectations during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much choosing Lindos Mare for your holidays; it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel on any future visit.

Best Regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
1,190 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
2,383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 33 in Lindos
676 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare is a boutique hotel built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex to the beach front. The recent renovations combined with the existing impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity resulting in the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing