We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in everyway!”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel offered excellent all around amazing service (Stefano), delicious meals with their bountiful buffet, beautiful comfortable rooms, great pools and beachfront with full service. There was nothing we could need nor want that was not provided for. Great for adults and children too!

Room Tip: View of the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Candie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear “Candie G”,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website and thank you for selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and our facilities and service have met your expectation.

We continually aim to deliver high standards of Greek hospitality to delight our guests and I am very pleased that you experienced this from the team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first time to Greece / Rhodes. We'd used TA to help find this hotel and booked directly (many other UK guests seemed to be with Thomson, which we'd not considered). We'd got a junior suite on the upper levels. Guests were a real mix from across Europe - Brits, Germans, East Europeans, etc.

Overall we were very impressed. We went second week of July so just before peak season. The hotel felt fullish but there was always space on the beach or by the pool.

As others have noted, the staff are all very friendly.This runs from the waiters/waitresses through maids and to the management. English is spoken by all. We asked for extra pillows - got them. The shower-screen slightly broke - it got fixed. Nothing ever seemed too much of a problem.

Highlights - amazing view of the bay. Wonderful food (almost too much in the buffet style main dining). Sunshine. A chilled relaxed feeling.

Downsides - hard to be picky. Getting a table outside for dinner was hit & miss. I think we managed 2 nights out of 5 in the main restaurant (buffet style). Eating inside was a little more cafeteria-like - i.e. lacked any intimacy for a couple. But, again, food really good quality, and every night something new.

There are three main hot meals that can be waiter-served, or just stick to the hot/cold buffet, which is just as good. Wine choice was a little limited, but look out for the excellent Moschofilero Boutari (white).

The view from our balcony (room 133, but same for 132-136) is initially over the gravel covering the roof of the room below, rather than straight to the view/bay. Minor quibbles.

The hotel is on a hillside. It's possible to walk from top to bottom using a series of flights of stairs. There also a number of lifts/elevators from level to level, and we used those too. Very accessible. Walking off dinner or lunch up the 100 steps back to our room felt the healthy option, although we did use lifts from time to time.

The Lindos Blu is the sister hotel right next door. One night we booked (through the Mare reception, and one of the Mare staff escorted through to the Blu's reception) for the gourmet restaurant for dinner, also enjoying pre-dinner cocktails. We had considered staying at the Blu (couples only, I think) but thought it a bit pricey. The quality is two or three notches higher than the Mare and quite probably worth the extra cost. But, it's the same view, same sunshine, and the two hotels share the same beach. I think bar prices were also the same. If we return to Rhodes we might well consider the Blu instead, but could equally see us going back to the Mare (although generally we don't return to the same venues).

The Mare has some feature nights in the a la carte restaurant, which is fully outdoor situated on the pool level. We saw a Motown tribute from the adjoining pool bar one night, and a Greek music/dancing night.

Because we booked directly we needed to arrange the airport transfer with the hotel. All taxis seem to be black Mercs. The standard fee is €75 paid in cash to the driver. A taxi taken from the airport would be €65, but at least we knew our car would be there. The drive is around 50 mins. We failed to eek out our Euros properly, so needed to have the driver on the return leg detour to find an ATM. These are not that frequent, so plan ahead if independently travelling.

The Mare is located 2 miles north of the town of Lindos. The walk is along a busy road (think UK A road), with no pavement. I wouldn't want to do it (plus it's too hot to walk in July). Taxi into town is €8 each way, or time the bus for just €1.50. A very nice little town and worth a half-day explore and walk. We had a wonderful lunch at Maria's Taverner. Seek it out! Excellent fresh food.

Rhodes town is 50km to the north. A taxi would be €70 each way. We took the bus for €5 each, each way. Takes 70 mins or so. The trip back was a bit of a scrum on boarding to get a seat. However, buses are clean, air-con, on time, and seemingly well driven, with polite drivers. Can't ask for more. The hotel reception has the bus timetable. Seems to run every 30/60 minutes daytime. Near where the bus terminates in Rhodes is a Visitor Centre where the agent helped direct us to Nireas, a fish restaurant, and we were not disappointed for a late lunch. We stayed in the old town, exploring the castle, a church, a mosque, and back streets and history.

A side trip another day was to the island if Symi. The Thomson rep said she could arrange it door-to-door even though we weren't travelling with them. Instead we opted for independent. That meant the 6.45am bus to Rhodes, arriving 8.10am, then a long-ish walk around to the main commercial port for the Dodecanese ferry, at €20 each. The ferry leaves at 9.30am. It arrives at a the Symi monastery of Panomitis around 10.45am for an hour, then sails on to Symi's main town for 12.30pm. The ferry departs 4.30pm and back to Rhodes for 6.10pm, so plenty of time for a seafood lunch and amble around the town. Very very pretty, with the usual tourist type shopping but no hard sell, as far as we can tell. Departing the ferry, we turned right and walked around the quieter part of the habour, finding the Odyessia restaurant for lunch. Very nice.

Not a fault of the Mare whatsoever, but waiting for the return bus in Rhodes after our Symi trip we got ripped off for drinks in a café/bar. A HUGE shame that places still scam tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiovanniMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear “GiovanniMondo“,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent holiday at Lindos Mare.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of details during your stay, such as the view, the A La carte restaurant and the hotel location. Thank you for highlighting to other readers that you enjoyed the Tribute music night and the Greek night organized during your stay.

Your description of your time with us was such a pleasure to read, and it genuinely fills me with pride to read about the memorable experience our team was able to create for you.

Thank you once again for your time. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lindos Mare in the near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and myself have Just returned from a 7 Night Holiday-- the first visit to Lindos and the Lindos Mare Hotel.

The Very Good Points are ;

The staff are very very polite

Our Room 121 was very clean with an Excellent Sea view from the Balcony,

The food was varied and plentiful ,

The Not so good Points are;

The Hotel is located 2-3 kilometres outside Lindos with No shuttle Bus provided for residents

The Entertainment Programme was very very disappointing -- over the 7 nights of our stay it consisted of;

A Greek Dancing Night ,

A night of Latin Dancing- at least I think that was the description -which was very disjointed in presentation,

A Drifters Tribute Night - which was very very good

No entertainment on the weekend - due to the World Cup being televised!!

We have stayed at a Thomson Gold hotel previously and treated to Excellent Entertainment Nightly...

For Entertainment we went into Lindos on 2 Nights and an nearby hotel on 1 night.. hence the LIndos Mare Hotel lost our Bar Trade on 3 of the 7 nights!!

Will we return to Lindos -- possibly

Will we return to the Lindos Mare-- unlikely unless the Entertainment Programme resembles other Thomson Gold Hotels..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sneggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear “sneggy123”,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel during your recent stay.

We thank you for your comments our personnel, I was delighted that the team were able to display their professionalism and helpfulness during your stay; Our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, the hotel view and Food and Beverage selections are elements of our hotel that we are extremely proud of, and it is always a pleasure to read our guests’ positive comments regarding these.

Concerning the entertainment in our hotel, every week we organize 4 different theme nights for the hotel guests. The theme nights -shows are the Beatles Tribute Night, the Abba tribute night, the Drifters, Il Divo, Latin Night and the Greek night with live band and traditional dance show. During your stay, that Sunday the theme night was postponed due to the Final World Cup game however all the other events during the week were scheduled as per standard. Please accept our apologies if that cancellation caused any inconvenience to you during your holidays.

Thank you very much for selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Lindos. I was delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thank you to Thannasis and his wonderful team for giving us a lovely holiday for the ninth time! Our room 507was beautiful with a lovely walk in large shower. The view was stunning and very private so we kept the curtain opened all the time and woke to the view and sound of the sea. As always we got a warm welcome from all the staff, they feel like long lost friends. We were impressed with the extension outside to the restaurant it helped to take the crowded feeling away. The food was excellent especially the sea food which I love! We look forward to coming back in 2016
Alex & Maria x

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MariaLouise015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Maria & Alex ,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us on this website. It was a great pleasure to welcome you again here in Lindos Mare for your holidays.

I was delighted to learn that your experience with us was so memorable, and that it was our friendly and helpful team that really made the difference. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our dedicated team, who will be as pleased as I was to read it. Lindos Mare hotel team work hard to ensure our guests’ expectations are exceeded on every stay, and I am so pleased that they were able to do just that for you once again.

We look forward to welcome you again for your holidays here in Lindos Mare in 2016.

Best Regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time to Lindos mare and won't be our last !
Our whole experience was great
We had a view of the sea room 245 which was beautiful , well located to everywhere
Restaurant food great
All staff were very professional
Atmosphere wonderful from the moment we arrived until the day we left
Thank you Lindos for making our stay wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jje1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear "Jje 1961",

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on this website following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you had a very enjoyable experience on your first stay in our hotel. It is also wonderful to learn that you were impressed with our hospitality and service delivered by the team. Our aim is always to provide true Greek hospitality and I am delighted that the team were able to display their excellent professionalism during your stay.

Thank you for selecting Lindos Mare for your holidays. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been going to the Lindos Mare now for 6 years. It exceeds expectations every time - which says a lot as we return year after year. The staff, the position, the food we cannot rate highly enough and with the addition last summer of the new dining area it is beyond perfect. We send an email in April to ask for our usual room and I was told this year that they had already seen we were coming and booked us into it already - you can't ask for more than that. The beach and sea are beautiful and it is the most relaxing place. Cannot wait for this years trip in September - only down side - the holiday goes too quick!

Room Tip: If you can go for an upper level junior suite or ask for a higher level as views are stunning but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear “Chris T”,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on this website. Your continued patronage and support over all these years is greatly valued and very much appreciated.

We endeavor to ensure that all our guests are as comfortable as possible through consistent service and quality standards, and I am very pleased that our team were able to display one more time their excellent professionalism and helpfulness during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in Lindos Mare.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The best 16 days of our lives,pure perfection!Thanks to the Lindos Mare wedding coordinator Efi & all the team we have just had a wedding & honeymoon beyond our dreams.The staff at this hotel are outstanding & the whole experience is out of this world.We first contacted Efi over two years ago and from the very first email to the day we departed her friendliness,kind nature,efficiency and attention to detail have been amazing.Nothing is too much for Efi or any of the staff at the Lindos Mare and we have felt so special and taken care of during our entire stay.The hotel itself is beautiful,amazing setting,stunning views,everything is perfect,and the food is AMAZING!!!Once I arrived at the Estia restaurant I didn't give a hoot if I fitted in my wedding dress!Special mention to Savvas and Alexandros who do an amazing job and made our 3 year old little girl Isla feel like a real "princess".She is back home telling all of her friends about her handsome Greek friends!Other staff who made a special impression are Dimitris in the wonderful Pelagos restaurant,Stavros and his wonderful cocktails,Anna who made my family feel so looked after at the wedding reception,and the lovely young boys in the restaurant particularly George and Kamil who are both adorable.The staff up in the Vergina bar are great too and the cocktails are out of this world.Special mention to Penny,Chrisa and Svetlana in the spa who hosted a wonderful bridal party for myself & my bridesmaids on my wedding day.The spa is heavenly and I was lucky enough to experience a few wonderful treatments,one of the best spas I have visited.Christina the reservations manager and all the reception staff have been fantastic too & couldn't do enough for us.During our stay we met people that had visited the Ljndos Mare year after year,some people 11 years in a row and I totally understand why,we will no doubt be back time after time.We are sitting at home now reliving it all with our amazing wedding album and DVD which is such good quality,no surprise.To Efi & all the team we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for our dream wedding & holiday of a lifetime xxxx

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear “Trip Advisor Member”,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on this website following your recent visit. I was thrilled to read that your special occasion was such a success, and that we were able to help you celebrate it with your friends and family.

I really was so pleased to read your feedback, especially concerning the service and care received from the team. We do believe that the details make the difference and through providing high levels of Greek hospitality, we really can make our guests stays very memorable. It has been my pleasure to share your very kind comments with the team , as such positive feedback really does make such a difference and is very much appreciated.

We thank you for highlighting many of our hotel facilities, such as the Vergina Lounge bar, Estia and Pelagos restaurant. I am delighted that you had the time to make use of our Spa facilities and that you were excited with the service received.

I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lindos Mare for another unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
16.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
718 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £99 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing