We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Lindos Mare”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed at the Lindos Mare in June 2009. The hotel itself has beautiful views. The rooms are extremely clean and modern. We spent most of our holiday on the beach below the Mare which was usually very quiet and perfect to swim in the sea as it is shallow and clear. We exchanged our meals at the main resturant to dine on the terrace on three nights as we felt that the main restaurant was a little chaotic at peak times - despite being very busy, all of the staff were extremely helpful. Overall, we had a great time and would certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

My partner and I stayed for first two weeks in June and loved it. The location is perfect, hotel is spotless, staff are so friendly (Mikailis, Giannis and Maria work really hard and are stars) and the service from every member of staff is fantastic. The food is great and it was good to be able to swap dinner for a la carte lunch giving us the opportunity to try out some of the roof top restaurants in Lindos.
We have at last found a hotel that ticks every one of our boxes and we will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

one of the best hotels we have stayed in location super 2ed to none for views excellent service from all staff clean

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We got married in St Pauls Bay in Lindos with forty friends and family and stayed at the Lindos Mare. I arranged the wedding direct with Efi at the hotel who i found through trip advisor. She is just brilliant, she organised everything perfectly..better than i ever could have imagined. We emailed so many times over the year before and any questions i needed answered she responded within 24 hours. She's simply amazing and someone you can put all your trust in.

I personally think this is the best way to do it as opposed to going through a travel agent as some of the weddings we witnessed there were no where near as good as Efi's. The tour operators were actually more expensive with only a third of the choice. Efi is a complete perfectionist and so experienced.

We booked the holiday through Thomson and everything was wonderful. As the hotel is a platinum a la carte hotel, we had reserved seats on the plane and a taxi transfer for just the two of us from the airport to the hotel which was a spacious air conditioned mercedes. We were greeted by the friendly staff at the hotel and escorted to our room which we had been upgraded by Efi to one of the best five in the hotel. They were above the reception at the top of the cliff with the most amazing views that we have ever seen.( they are rooms 151 to155 i think) All of the rooms have been recently refurbed and are also stunning.

Now back to the wedding stuff...They offer different wedding packages depending on your requirements. We had our wedding reception on the veranda room overlooking the the pool and beach looking out to sea. The room is set up to a high standard with your choice of colour scheme and flowers. The food was beautiful and you can make minor alterations to the menu if you ask.
The photographer and dvd men were awesome. named claus and erik. i was really concerned that the quality of the shots and filming would be rubbish but they were fantastic. erik is dabbling with a HD camera at the mo as well so you won't be disappointed. Some of the shots were breathtaking looking back at them but i won' tell you anymore-you will be pleasently suprised!

The wedding itself was at St Paul's Bay, which is so beautiful that no words will do it justice. My husband and i decided to wait until the wedding day to see it for the first time. I got out of the wedding car (which is included in the package) at the top of the path and burst into tears because of how stunning it was. i could see all my family and friends standing together in the courtyard outside the chapel as i began my walk down the path. We paid 200 euro's extra for some musicians to walk us down the path and they were well worth the money!! i'd have paid 1000euros because it was awesome. my guests outside the church said that they could hear the music getting louder as my dad and i got closer which all added to the drama of the occasion! The ceremony is brief but as its hot, our guests were quite relieved especially the men. we wrote our own wedding vows which made it extra special and had everyone sobbing.
We organised taxi's for everyone to get back from St pauls bay to the lindos mare which takes about 5-10 mins. (about 50 mins if you walk as its quite hilly.) We greeted everyone at the hotel with mimosa's (bucks fizz) and danced the night away in the veranda. Honestly anyone who is thinking about having their wedding here, just do it. We can guarantee you won't be disapointed and it truly was the best day of our lifes. Everything was perfect and we wouldn't have changed a thing!! Some of our guests said it was the best wedding they have ever been too.

Now some more general hotel stuff.
Great hotel, wonderful friendly staff. Michalis and Nikos are awesome. anything that they can do to make you happy, they will do it! michalis really goes with the flow and definately looks like rafa benitez ..wears LFC ties and everything. great fun!
Nikos runs the bar near reception and can tell you all you need to know about the hotel and rhodes. also makes the best cocktails! happy hour is around six and we highly recommend it!
The drinks can be a bit pricey because of the euro but there is a shop and bar/restaurant near the beach to the left of the hotel so we used to grab some lager cans and put them in the hotel room fridge.
Food is great, lots of fresh fish, fruit, meats and cakes. you can also swap your eveining meal if your half board for lunch in the pool side bar which is also stunning.
Be warned you have to pay 20-30 eurosfor room safe and as we are super safety conscious we got it the night we arrived.
The spa is great, we had some massages and used the sauna and steam room. i also had my nails done which was done to a very high standard. again staff were very professional and friendly.
The weather was glorious in may but we did have a couple of thunder storms. a few of our guests got bitten in the eveings but we sprayed insect repellent every evening before going out and didn't get bitten once. When we arrived the hotel wasn't very busy which was wondeful. highly recommend going outside of peak season just for a quiter more personal experience.
hope this review helps you. It really is a wonderful hotel and we will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gem1wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I decided to have my wedding abroad, and chose the Lindos Mare. I arranged it direct with Efi at the hotel - who is just brilliant, she organised everything perfectly. I personally think this is the best way to do it as opposed to having a middle man (Tour Operator) as you can deal direct with the hotel. Efi seemed to be a perfectionist, which when organising a wedding is what you need! We even booked all our hotel rooms direct with the hotel too. It's 50 euros (45 mins) in a taxi from the airpot which was better than waiting for hours for a coach after a long flight.

They offer different wedding packages, we went for the silver package which was probably the best one but you tailor it to whatever you want. We had our wedding reception in the fabulous room overlooking the bay, the room is set up beautifully and the food was great. You can pick your own flowers and table arrangements too. For some reason i thought that having the wedding in Greece, perhaps things wouldn't quite be up to UK standards, however it was better!! The photographer was great, as was the DVD man! Make up was really good too, and included in the package is a trial.

The wedding itself was at St Paul's Bay, which is just lovely, we had some musicians and a glass bottom boat, this really made the day if you can afford to have them. The hill walking down is fairly steep, but everyone makes it down. There may or may not be other weddings waiting in the shade, but don't worry about this at all there is a fantastic atmposphere and when we got on the boat the people on the beach gave us a round of applause! The ceremony is brief, so i would recommend having some reading etc and we also wrote our own wedding vows which made it extra special.

The hotel is lovely too, built into a cliff side overlooking the bay. You will get lost in the hotel, and it will take you about 3 days to find your way around but its all part of the fun! The room numbers make no sense at all!

This hotel seems to have a loyal team of staff who make every effort to make your stay memorable, even if you are not getting married. They go the extra mile which a lot of hotels don't do anymore.

A tiny, silly complaint is there is no long mirror in the rooms...needed on your wedding day, but there is a big mirror just not down to the floor.

If you are getting married at the Lindos Mare, then RELAX you are in safe hands, Efi will make sure everything is looked after, she seems to take it personally when arranging your wedding and will make sure that all aspects are covered off.

I would love to do it all again! Thanks to everyone at the Lindos Mare, our wedding and our stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Me, 19, and my fiance,24, came on holiday to the lindos mare hotel mid may. the weather was amazing and the area was so beautiful! The staff at the hotel are so friendly and helpful! From the moment we got there, at 5 in the morning, they were very polite and helpful. The hotel is very spaced out and so is very relaxing. The beach is very relaxing and quiet and the sea doesnt move very much at all so where ever you sit you can just stay all day and not worry about the tide. It is worth going for a walk along the beach (with sandles on as the sand is very hot unless you go for a walk about 7 onwards!) as you will find a really nice restaurant and supermarket which are much cheaper than most places in Lindos. The restaurants in the hotel are very nice and it is definately worth trying the al la carte restaurant next to trhe pool. The spa is also very nice but quite pricey. Lindos town is about a 30 minute walk from the hotel but i wouldnt advise walking it with children or an night because there are plenty of bugs and thornes (and we saw one snake). A taxi ride over is only 5 euros and only takes about 2 minutes! The acropolis is under construction though so you cant get to most of it but the donkey ride up there is worth doing! The bus stop is just outside the hotel and all the times and prices are on the board at the stop. Over all this was the best holiday ive ever been on!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We have just returned from an extremely relaxing week in Lindos Mare which successfully combines superb location ( good quiet beach with sunbeds & service from hotel), well appointed rooms ( we had stunning seaview) ,local cuisine & friendly excellent service.
Restaurant manager Michael was welcoming,attentive & added value to our holiday.
Near by Lindos ( 5 mins in taxi) is a picture postcard town overlooked by ancient acropolis ( 10 min on donkey!!)
I met a fellow guest who had stayed in this hotel every year for 50 years - they must be doing something right.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,339 reviews
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £60 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing