We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place.....”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place.....”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed at Lindos Mare from 17th June - 1st July and got married at St Paul's Chapel during our second week. Upon arrival, we received wine, flowers and fruit and a fantastic room with a view to die for. The rooms were spacious, modern and kept very clean.

The food was very varied in the main restaurant and had plenty of choice for even the fussiest of vegetarians like me. The quality was of a very high standard too. The dessserts of an evening were amazing and again very varied - its no wonder I gained half a stone!

Michalis (AKA Raffa), the restaurant manager is the nicest, most pleasant and friendly man on the planet. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he greeted everyone personally each morning at breakfast, every lunchtime by the pool side restaurant as well as each evening for dinner. The service from him and the restaurant staff was second to none. We miss you...x

Hotel grounds and pools all very pretty and well maintained, beach really nice too (although sometimes a trek down all those steps!)

We have never been to a hotel where you are so looked after (wedding couple or not) and where the staff seem genuinely pleased to see you. Evening entertainment was great too, tribute acts all very good and left you wanting more.

The hotel is built into a cliff so there are steps everyehere, there is a very quirkly cable car lift that takes you from reception down to the pool bar, which is greatly appreciated by both kids and adults!

Our wedding meal was back at the hotel in the cocktail veranda which was so so nice. All very relaxed and especially nice in the open air overlooking the pool etc.

Breakfast in bed the following morning was like a banquet, we had three huge trays of every kind of breakfast you can possibly imagine. It really was something else.

Lindos is a very pretty town with loads of roof top tavernas and shops selling the usual tourist tat but well worth many visits. Not walkable from the hotel (no footpaths) and taxis cost between 5 and 7 euros each way.

The only couple of negative points are the TV channels are very limited and show news channels only and we were lead to believe that the internet would be free but it wasnt. As a general point, the drinks across the Island were expensive not just in this hotel.

Like us, our friends and family who also stayed have given this hotel much praise for all the same reasons above. Without a shadow of a doubt, we would reccommend this hotel to anyone of any age.

We loved every single minute of it and would change nothing at all. Thank you for a wonderful stay, with spectacular views and impecable service. Lindos Mare will always hold a very special place in our hearts and will return in the future for definate (perhaps 5th wedding anniversarry) and hope that nothing has changed.

What a wonderful fortnight we had.......Many thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    193
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
311
842
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We have recently returned after two weeks at the Lindos Mare Hotel for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. This continued throughout our stay with Michalis especially sincere when welcoming you to dinner each night! Each person is made to feel special whether or not you are getting married here!

The junior suite we stayed in was very nice with amazing sea views over Vlicha Bay. It's certainly worth the upgrade for around £100. Wherever you go in this hotel you seem to find yet another beautiful view. The hotel is built into the rocks so it's quite a walk to the beach but is certainly worth it. We spent the majority of our time down at the beach which was quiet, clean and most importantly there were plenty of sunbeds! The sea is very warm and calm so is perfect for weak swimmers and children.

The main pool area is very nice although we chose to use the bottom pool near to the beach which was quieter with less children and large wedding parties.

The food in the buffet restaurant was very good wth plenty of fresh fish, meats and vegetarian options available. If like us, you get fed up with the buffet food you have the option of booking the Al A Carte at reception where you are provided with a voucher for 24 Euros towards your meal. It's well worth it as the food is lovely! You can also choose to swap your evening meal for lunch as we did so you can eat out in Lindos Town in the evening. If you choose to eat in Lindos, don't miss the Dionysis Restaurant which serves huge portions of vey tasty food, a large selection of dishes and all for a reasonable price!

Negatives:

The drinks are a little expensive (£6 for a single Jack Daniels!) but there is a local supermarket a short walk down the beach which sells a good variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. It's worthwhile as another couples bar bill came to nearly £600 over two weeks and they drank mainly non-alcoholic drinks.

If you wish to use your room safe be aware that they charge 30 Euros (NOT A DEPOSIT WHICH WE FOUND OUT ON CHECKOUT)

If you like to walk and crave independence you are best to hire a car as the main road is very dangerous (lots of crazy drivers) and buses often quite late (but reasonable). Vlicha Beach is a nice walk but each end of the bay is cut off by high rocks. Taxis to Lindos are expensive. It takes less than 5 minutes and costs 12 euros return! We ended up spending £200 euros alone for taxi's in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for our wedding this year!!!
From the moment we arrived I felt that the staff were fantastic. They were attentive, effiecent and very friendly.
While I understand that this hotel is probably not good for people with walking problems due to it being on a hill, I would still highly recommend it.
The views from our suite were amazing, and were a perfect backdrop to our wedding photos.

If you are off to rhodes and you are looking for a bit of style in you hotel, please consider The Lindos Mare it was perfect!.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We have just celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and still remember our special day at the Lindos Mare as though it was yesterday. We couldn't fault the hotel in any way especially the staff who make you feel so welcome. Although there were a few weddings while we were there they still made you feel as if you were the only one. The restaurant staff were great and especially helpful when our 1 year old daughter fell ill, providing her with whatever we requested throughout the day. We can't wait to come and celebrate an anniversary there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Mare for two weeks and loved it. Staff are friendly, hotel is accomodating and helpful, facilities are clean and well service and even the private beach is the best in the bay.

Rhodos cars have a booth in the hotel and offer good rates for cars, which you will need to get around this beautiful island. Lindos is simply wonderful and being able to swap evening meals for a day voucher frees eveinings up to visit the Lindos Tavernas and eateries, that's if you can drag yourself away from the hotel entertainment

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LestatDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed at the Lindos Mare in June 2009. The hotel itself has beautiful views. The rooms are extremely clean and modern. We spent most of our holiday on the beach below the Mare which was usually very quiet and perfect to swim in the sea as it is shallow and clear. We exchanged our meals at the main resturant to dine on the terrace on three nights as we felt that the main restaurant was a little chaotic at peak times - despite being very busy, all of the staff were extremely helpful. Overall, we had a great time and would certainly return

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My partner and I stayed for first two weeks in June and loved it. The location is perfect, hotel is spotless, staff are so friendly (Mikailis, Giannis and Maria work really hard and are stars) and the service from every member of staff is fantastic. The food is great and it was good to be able to swap dinner for a la carte lunch giving us the opportunity to try out some of the roof top restaurants in Lindos.
We have at last found a hotel that ticks every one of our boxes and we will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juleslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,229 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,564 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
339 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing