We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location for a real relaxing holiday”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location for a real relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed here with my partner for a week in Aug 2009. Hotel is over 13 or 14 levels built into a hillside about 1.5 miles from Lindos. Not all rooms have sea views, ours did and would recommend paying that little extra for one. Hotel has two pools, two restaurants and two bars. The beach is only 15 metres from the bottom of the hotel and the sun beds are free for hotel guests, with a waitor that is available to bring you drinks from the bar at any time of the day. The beach was warm with a lovely cooling breeze coming from the crystal clear sea. We had lunch at the Meltemi Pool bar which is located at the very bottom of the hotel complex. Food here is out of this world, tried a few different things on the menu and found the same high standards present throughout. The food from the main restaurant at night is a buffet with plenty if choice, the A La Carte restaurant also serves very high quality food. The staff at all times were very approachable and always brought a smile to their work. We found the restaurant manager very welcoming but at times too welcoming (just our preference). The room was very tidy and cleaned dailly. The room had air con, fridge and a spacious bathroom. The alcohol was a little pricey but the cocktails were the real deal and not watered down versions like many themed bars would give you. Stay here if you like a relaxing holiday enjoying your time alone with a loved one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    190
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
300
830
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from our stay at the Lindos Mare, as we were there to get married in August. The holiday and wedding was booked through First Choice. First choice in the uk were not the most helpful, but our wedding co-ordinator in resort made up for that. It was a wonderful holiday and our wedding at St Pauls bay was simply perfect. The lindos mare is a beautiful hotel, and we stayed in a junior suite, which was very modern, light and airy. The temperature in Lindos in August was above 50 degrees on most days, but that didn't put us off too much. The only slightly negative experience was the daily debates about sunloungers. Some people (mainly the british!) were very posessive over where they liked to lounge, so we tended to head down (the 400 or so steps) to the beach which was lovely, with free sunbeds and a lovely breeze.

Micheal the hotel restaurant manager was lovely, very friendly and the food was very nice with a broad range daily. The main courses were not always appealing, but the buffet selection was lovely. We occasionally changed our evening meal for a lunch voucher, which was equally as nice at the pool/al a carte restaurant. meaning we could head into lindos (by taxi it's not safe to walk), for the evening.

We had friends attending our wedding staying in nearby aparts, which were also lovely, particularly the Lindos View and Lindos Horizon. We will definitely return to Lindos one year, but just not in August.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaktreesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed at the Lindos Mare 22-29 Aug 09. About an hours journey from the airpoirt, upon arrival in the middle of the night, checked in very quickly & porter took our cases to our room. The hotel is on a cliff so there are lots of lifts to take, only issue was we have a 7mth old baby, so had lots more luggage & a pram, we were placed quite far from the pool, restaurant etc.. so had to navigate the lifts and steps everyday. Thats probably the only unchild friendly part. We thought we were getting a room like in the brouchure, but we ended up with an un-renovated room, it wasn't a problem as it was clean but just tired. Not sure how many are like this so if you're insistent on one of the new rooms ask at reception.
Staff are very friendly and always helpful. They love Children, Mikael the manager seemed to be a breakfast, lunch & dinner everyday, we were certain these people only ever work!
Brekkie is buffet - all very good food and large choice for everyone. Lunch is only from the pool restaurant. Dinner is Buffet again, but you chose a main (choice of 3) then help yourself to everything else - believe there is enough food. Men have to wear trousers in the buffet restaurant at night, but not the A La Carte. They do try to rush you out of the buffet restaurant by 10pm so beware if you turn up late for dinner.
If you want to get out, head down to the beach - couple of minutes walk once you've gone down all the lifts. The beach is slightly stoney, but free sunbeds & parasoles, also free towels every 3 days from the hotel spa. There's a little taverna which is quite alot cheaper for drinks and food than the hotel & a little shop for water, ice creams etc..
We never left the resort, but you can get a taxi into Lindos which takes about 5 mins. The hotel isn't actually in Lindos, apparently you can walk but some other guests warned us it was a bit of a dangerous path & a long way.
In all the hotel was lovely and I would go back again, it was very chilled and I felt relaxed.

Helpful?
Thank Sozzal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Great food (also good for vegetarians), gorgeous views, friendly staff, big pool, only 5 euros taxi to Lindos

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristySmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Recently stayed with family and friends for my daughter's wedding held in hotel. Had junior suite which was of a high standard with spectacular sea views. Staff extremely friendly and helpful - you will see the same names popping up! Pool area pleasant and never overcrowded and safe for children - always managed to get sunbed. Bars are a bit pricey but a beer is 3.80 euros and you will not get this much less in Lindos town. Bottle of wine 13.5 euros but you can buy in shop for half price and drink on balcony. If half board would advise sometimes exchanging evening meal for voucher for a-la-carte lunch which is of a higher standard and have dinner in Lindos town (highly recommend Acropolis rooftop restaurant). Saw Beatles tribute band and Celine Dion tribute in hotel and both were extremely good. Wedding arrangements were very good thanks to Effi and even though there are many weddings organised here, each one is made to feel special.
Only negatives - no-where to walk within immediate vacinity but taxis reasonable. Definitely not suitable for those with walking problems - depend on cable car and lifts and cable car was out of order a couple of times - lots of stairs. Also often advertised as having kids club which it definitely does not and was a disappointment for our party. Would not recommend for young families.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week at the Lindos Mare Hotel. We have never stayed in a hotel where the staff have been so friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a Junior Suite with a Sea View which was well worth the extra cost. The room was modern and spacious and we really liked the fact that the loo was separate to the bathroom. We spent every day by the main pool and never had trouble finding a sunbed before 9.00am. The hotel supplies beach/pool towels which are changed every three days. The temperature in the pool was really lovely and the pool was never overly busy. However, one half of the pool is very deep so most people stayed in the shallower end where they could play and relax.
We did walk down to the beach a couple of times but it's quite a trek back up all the stairs - although there are various lifts spread around the complex. The restaurant down by the beach is definitely worth a visit for lunch.
We thought the food was of a good standard, with lots of choice. On the first day the evening meal was a buffet, but after that there was a choice of three main courses, with the starters and desserts being buffet service. The menu is posted up every morning so if you don't fancy something on there, you can book a meal in the A La Carte restaurant by the pool - this is lovely but quite expensive. Several people have commented on the expensive drinks but I think this is probably the norm for the area, rather than this hotel in particular. There is a mini-mart on site where you can buy a large bottle of water for less than a Euro.
We cannot stress enough how naturally friendly and helpful the staff were - this really added to a chilled-out holiday. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality holiday in the sun.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneBDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindos
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

me and my boyfriend recently went to this AMAZING hotel!!! was absulty gorgeous had the BEST view from our balony!! im 21 and hes 27 it was great for relaxing in the day the heading to lindos at night for the bars!! loved this place would recommend it to people of all ages!! was brillant!! def go back!! also watching all the wedding partys and fireworks right outside our room!! Standards were very high and the maids always made a good job of our room!! all staff are friendly and welcoming! the quiet pool is lovely for relaxing!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jade008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#2 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare is a boutique hotel built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex to the beach front. The recent renovations combined with the existing impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity resulting in the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing