We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel and staff average food”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
oxon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great hotel and staff average food”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

fantastic location , on the hillside looking down over vlicha bay . the room was spacious and well laid out , with a big window ( and blind) seperating the bathroom and bedroom . Air conditioning was a godsend as outside was 35 degrees day and night ! The staff were all very friendly and helpful , especially Efrosini at the poolbar and Manoliso and Jana in the main bar , who are an entertainment on their own . the pool wasn't heated so was a little warm , but the beach and sea were beautiful , perfect for cooling down . there are a lot of steps , but also 4 different lifts which make it easier on your legs . we weren't overly impressed with the food , breakfast was good with plenty to choose from , but the evening meal buffet never changed and the main courses weren't special . strongly recommend swapping evening meal for lunch , and then eating out in Lindos , Pefkos or Lardos instead . drinks prices are a little expensive , 7 euros for a cocktail , but not much more than the rest of rhodes .
Taxis rates were 8 euros from hotel to Lindos , 5 euros for the return trip , 12 euros to Pefkos , 10 euros to return .
Rhodes is a beautiful place , definitely visit the butterfly valley , rhodes old town and lindos accropolis .
all in all we had a great holiday staying in a cracking hotel on a beautiful island .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayabusaOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    190
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
300
831
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Lindos Mare offers fantastic location, great view on the sea, excellent comfort, good food, and top quality service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This hotel is in a fabulous location on a cliff top overlooking the sea. The pictures on Thomson are accurate! Decor of the hotel, pools, beach, dining room were all brilliant - only downside was the distance to the town. Food became a little repetitive after a week, so a meal or two out in the town is a must. You had to get a taxi into town which was quite expensive if you do it every night. We like to walk into the town in the evening, and missed this during our stay in Lindos. The staff were very polite, however we did found the man on Reception to be very rude! However, a fantastic holiday overall - would like to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel was lovely, very unusual layout with everything being on different levels, and with a cable car from the reception level down to the pool, which was a really quirky touch. The rooms were really nice, extremely comfortable bed, very quiet and spotlessly clean. We had a basket of fruit, a bottle of wine and a red rose on the table upon arrival which was a lovely touch. The staff are absolutely brilliant... extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The A la Carte restaurant is exceptionally nice with the main restaurant food being acceptable. Lots of variety but a bit bland. The vegetarian option wasn't particularly good... although they did offer to bring something down from the A la Carte restaurant on a couple of occasions. The restaurant was always busy, quite packed and generally very warm. Breakfast always seemed a bit cooler. We always managed to get a sun lounger round the pool, no matter what time we went down, and the same applied to the beach. The beach was lovely, clear blue water set with lovely scenery. Its a bit of a trek down to the beach, a wide set of concrete steps takes you down, but its a long way back up again when you are tired and hot. The hotel itself is very open plan, very pretty but very hot when you walk out of your room, as these areas aren't air conditioned. Along with a lot of other people staying, we were disappointed that you couldn't walk into Lindos in the evening.. in fact there wasn't anywhere to walk to in the evening and so we tended to rely on the hotel entertainment on the few occasions they had something on. Manolis, the Greek waiter in the bar, was hugely entertaining whilst sipping a cocktail on the balcony overlooking the sea. We went on one of the organised trips to Rhodes Old Town (Eu.56 each).. it was brilliant. We had a guided tour around the old town, a 4 course meal and then a boat trip along the coastline. A lovely relaxing holiday and i would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in May, and we loved it - the setting is amazing, the views stunning, the food lovely, and the service excellent. We were celebrating our anniversary, and from even before we arrived Efi and her colleagues were so helpful in making this a really special holiday.

We stayed in a room at the top of the hotel, on the same level as the reception area, and this is well worth doing - the views are at their best there, and it means less going up and down the hill to get to places! The decor was great, and we loved just sitting out and watching the waves in the bay below. Gorgeous.

The main pool area was also really nice, with a large pool, and then always the option of the beach at the bottom of the cliff which was also very nice. The hotel was only about half full when we stayed, so it was always nice and quiet and relaxing. The food was also good, with plenty on offer and a wide choice - we also swapped our dinner voucher for a packed lunch on a couple of occasions (so that we could eat out in Lindos in the evening) and the packed lunches were huge! It was nice to have that flexibility.

All in all, this was a fantastic hotel with a stunning location and great staff, and we can't wait to go back. Thanks so much again, Efi, for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

As previous reviewers have said this is a hotel of a very good standard. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It is very clean. The food was good but after 7 days it gets repetitive (even though there is a main course choice), and the dining room can get very overwhelming with noise/people as it is too small for the number of people it can seat so the tables are very close together.

We booked a junior suite and the room itself was superb. But if you want a balcony with some privacy be sure to check up front that one is available. The balcony to our room (204) was not fully screened from the people next door, but even worse it was on an end with only a low wall separating it from a passageway to one of the lifts and this meant if we used it we were stared at by people passing, and we had to keep the curtains shut for privacy in the room itself. The balcony is important to us hence only giving the room 3 stars. I've rated sleep quality down because of noise disturbance with people passing in the corridor to the lift.

We did try to change rooms and the staff were very helpful but the alternatives were un-refurbished or still had little balcony privacy.

If you are not an early riser expect to struggle to find space by the pool. Typically by 10am the beds were all reserved. We always found space on the beach though and beds/umbrellas in the hotel's area were free. It's also worth noting that this part of the beach is sandy but as you move along the bay it becomes gritty. There is also a food/drink service on the beach (provided by the hotel) and a mini-market 100-200 metres further down the beach.

The hotel may be only 2.5 km from Lindos but walking there is unsafe as it would be along a busy road with no path or lighting. You are isolated unless you take a taxi, which will be €8 in to Lindos and €5 back.

As others have said the hotel is built into the side of the hill. A series of 4 lifts are required to get from reception to the bottom pool and a further 100m walk with a slope and steps is required to get to the beach. Some walking between lifts is also required. This should not be a problem for a normal adult but it's not as straightforward to get around as a more traditionally built hotel. The lifts are small and not air conditioned so they do get hot.

Overall it's a good hotel, but for my personal taste it is not a great hotel as after 7 days due to the balcony, location and lifts we felt a bit trapped!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at the lindos mare for weeks during june/july 2010 with my now husband and daughter along with other relatives. we planned to get married at st pauls bay on the 5th july however due to family illness and admission to hospital it was postponed. Efi the wedding co-ordinator along with other staff arranged at very short notice for the wedding to be moved to the 6th which was much appreciated by myself, partner and all the guests. The actual wedding day was better than i could have imagined and everyone enjoyed the day. The hotel as a whole is very welcoming from the minute you check in to the moment you leave. All the staff are very friendly and do everything they can to accommodate you. We had the best room in the hotel, comfortable, clean, a fantastic view, big double balcony and a jacuzzi in the bathroom which was excellent to relax in each evening. The food was very nice with a different choice each night to suit everybody and evening meals can be exchanged for vouchers for lunch which is useful if you like to explore restaurants outside the hotel. The beach is lovely and clean and has free beds to use at you leisure, however walking back to the hotel up the many steps is a little tiring but is worth it. The pool area is really spacious and relaxing with a nice pool to spend time in. There is entertainment at the poolside bar most nights but if you want a quieter night there is a bar upstairs (vergina bar) which have the most amazing and friendly staff (manolis and yana) and we spent nearly every night in this bar as we could benefit from hearing the entertainment downstairs along with relaxing in a quieter environment. I think i can speak for all the family who came along with us that we all felt very welcome and we will definitely be going back to this hotel, we loved it !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loppylou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#2 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare is a boutique hotel built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex to the beach front. The recent renovations combined with the existing impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity resulting in the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing