We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Lindos Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindos Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 9 June for 2 weeks. We chose the hotel as it matched our budget, was in a convenient location to both Lindos and Pefkos, looked picturesque from the photos, had a decent sized pool and had some good reviews from other visitors. We weren't disappointed at all!

The hotel was fairly quiet when we first got there. A lot of people used the hotel as a base from which to go and explore the rest of Rhodes, which meant if you wanted a quiet day by the pool, you got just that and could also get the whole pool to yourself during the day. The hotel did fill up by the time we left but you could still get a sun lounger to your liking, even one of the adjustable ones.

All the staff were helpful, very friendly and accommodating - one in our party had a gluten allergy, and each night the chef was on hand to navigate the meals from the choices available. The food was kept warm under heat lamps, but was often replenished throughout the serving time. There was also a decent selection of salads, bread rolls, soup and desserts.There was a decent selection of dishes at the pool bar, and Peggy was a star, working hard to serve everyone throughout the day.

The rooms were basic and clean, complete with fridge, air con and hair dryer. Cleaning staff were lovely and rooms were cleaned daily. We asked for a room with a sea view prior to our stay and reception staff happily accommodated our request.

Lindos town is a 20 minute walk / short taxi ride away - it cost 8 euros to get there and 6 to get back (if you order a taxi by phone there is a 2 euro surcharge). There is also a bus from outside the hotel although we didn't explore this. Pefkos is in the other direction for a 10 euro taxi ride. We would recommend trying out Dionysos Restaurant for a bite to eat if you're out in Lindos!

All in all we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would once again thank Natasha and her team for making our stay memorable and enjoyable! We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the top floor - bear in mind this will also overlook the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tylerdurden1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    229
    63
    18
    12
See reviews for
104
416
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from a stay here from the 14th-21st June 2012. We chose the hotel because of the wonderful reviews we read on trip advisor particularly in relation to the food and friendly hotel staff. The hotel appealed because of the small family run feel that people were conveying.

We have decided to write this review as a warning to others whose decision may be swung by trip advisor reviews.

The reception staff were very helpful as were the cleaners. The hotel was pretty and in keeping with the greek feel. The location of the hotel was good, about a 20 min walk from Lindos centre, there is a bus which goes from almost outside the hotel every 90 mins which only costs 1.60 Euro.

The hotel was basic and the rooms kept clean but the bobbly cotton bed sheets didn't fit the lumpy mattress and in the night they would come off so that you were sleeping on the bare mattress which was clearly unhygienic.

We are not fussy eaters but the food was not good at all the dining was for a period of 2-3 hours and the food just sat out all that time. The salad bar was good but the hot food barely edible. There was a BBQ one evening which was nice as the food was fresh off the grill but the rest of the time we couldn't eat it. We went to Mythos restaurant in Lindos town which was wonderful.

Peggy who served the lunch at the pool bar was abrupt. We were told that there was no meat one day and another, after ordering a tomato, basil and mozzerella salad, some 10 mins later we were provided with tomatoes and mozzerella and was told there was no basil (don't ask for any!)

The sunbeds were flat and were none adjustable except for about 6 adjustable ones which allowed you to sit up to read your book, these were like gold dust and if you weren't up at 9am then you wouldn't get one.

There was a fridge in the room which was great but there was no TV or kettle.

In all the £400pp we paid for the week was not too bad but there are many small things this hotel could do to improve and make this a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cutestjennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

To anyone who has already booked this delightful hotel 'Congratulations'you have found a 'gem'.A holiday here can be as relaxing or as hectic as you want it to be.
If you want to chill and relax its a wonderful option with a friendly boutique style atmosphere.The staff love working there and want you to genuinely have a fantastic time You can have yoga lessons by the pool and a reasonably priced massage under the trees.
My initial fears that the hotel was a little isolated were soon dispelled.It is in a quiet spot on the edge of the resort but the walk into Lindos isnt too bad and even easier on the way back as its downhill.!!!There is a frequent bus service into Lindos and the bus stops outside the hotel.A short taxi ride is 6 euro.
The rooms are very clean and basic with no TV but have welcoming free air conditioning.
The food is freshly produced and imaginative using local produce.If you are a chips with everything person it may noy be to your taste.
We had a fantastic time and loved all the local beaches which were easily accessable.We were there during 'rock week' and the bars were all busy and full of atmosphere.Our main worry was the prices in the bars would be high but this prooved to be unfounded.
This is honestly one of the best hotels and holidays I have ever had.Enjoy.!!!

Room Tip: All seemed in an excellent spot to me..........we had room 311 but would have happily stayed in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUSANWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at the lindos sun june 6-14 for only a week, I had never been to Greece or any of it's islands before and found the lindos sun hotel a great introduction to Greek life and hospitality!!

Upon our late/early arrival we were greeted but the night porter Paulina, who was very welcoming and a real credit to the lindos sun. We had a cold meal prepared for us as we missed our included meal due to flight times, nothing was to much trouble.

We were shown to our room which was spacious, lots of storage space, and free air-con!!! Our view was of the mountains along with the goats, and the sea!!

Everyone at the hotel throughout our stay were fantastic, from Peggy running the pool bar (great cakes) stavros, running the evening bar, Christina always happy to great us and ask about our day, to Natasha the manager/owner who took the time to stop and talk to us on many occasions.
The food served was brilliant, some really good Greek dishes but some English dishes for those who may not have been to keen on Greek, really something for everyone!!
The hotel is in a great location it's about 20 mins away from lindos town, far enough for it to be quiet and relaxing!
Everyone at the lindos sun work really hard, but almost effortlessly to make your stay enjoyable, very natural honest people!
It's a small hotel only having 42 rooms but I think this adds to its qualitys, having only 2 housekeepers who work very hard and always taking the time to stop talk and say hello!
If I wasn't sold on Greece or Greeks I certainly am now, they are all almost like a little family and natasha you should be very proud of your little family you have!

They really made our holiday for us!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This small, relatively new property has a boutique hotel feel about it. Great care and attention to detail has gone into the decoration, and it has a very welcoming feel. The staff are all very friendly and they obviously really love working there, they can't do enough for you. The food was superb, plenty of choice, home cooked greek food which we loved (being huge fans of greek food). Athina's home made cakes were particularly good as our waistlines now prove. If you like a full English fry up and burger and chips then this hotel is not for you. Lindos village is almost a kilometre away, up a slight cardiac hill, however we made ourselves walk to Lindos and back every evening to burn off some calories. There is always the option of the bus or a taxi if you are not so mobile so don't let the location put you off. In fact its location made for a very peaceful and relaxing holiday. We heard that some of the hotels closer to Lindos Village were quite noisy with noisy children etc. Lindos village itself is gorgeous. Very clean with lovely bars and restaurants and a photo opportunity at every turn. The local people were very friendly. A beer was around 3 euros, a glass of wine around 2.50 - 3 euros and cocktails from 6 euros. We walked up to the Acropolis on Sunday (entry is free on Sunday), do take water and a hat with you, it is very hot up there, with not much shade. It is worth the walk for the views alone. You can ride a Donkey up there for 5 euros but we felt this was a bit cruel (as we are animal lovers). The hotel was visited by a professional therapeutic masseuse (Kate Haslam) several times a week, and for a small fee you could treat yourself to a relaxing massage under the trees near the pool - she was fantastic, please don't miss out on that experience! She can work wonders for achy and stressed out bodies!! Its one of the nicest holiday experiences we've ever had and we will doubtless be returning to the Lindos Sun Hotel as soon as we can. Ignore the old reviews from 2006/07 on Tripadvisor - they don't reflect this newer property with its new team of staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cesar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Lindos Sun is a Lovely Hotel and have wonderful Staff. The Hotel provides you with Breakfast and tea. Both that are to a high standard. There is always something different every day. The staff make all the difference. The staff are very helpful, kind and are caring. There is a great outdoor swimming pool that cools you down if the weather is too hot. The Snack bar is open from 10-5 and offers a wide range of Greek food at a great price. It is such a peaceful and relaxing hotel. It is a 15 minute walk from Lindos Town and has a bus stop right near the hotel that can take you to Rhodos and other parts of the Island. The Rooms are always spotless and make you feel chilled. The reception is very helpful and provides lots of useful information. A Brilliant Hotel that we thought had no faults or flaws. We will definitely come back again to this wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Chose any they are all Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Lindos Sun, and would consider returning again.

The hotel itself is very attractive, with its whitewashed traditional design, well kept flora and beautiful views of the Bay.
The staff are one of the best things about the hotel. They are all so friendly and helpful, and nothing appears to be too much trouble for them.
The food served at breakfast and dinner is also excellent, with a different buffet selection every night. Be aware that no drinks are included with dinner and they can be quite expensive from the hotel bar, e.g. One can of coke was 2 euros.
However, the atmosphere of the hotel was very pleasant and relaxing.
The village of Lindos is about a fifteen to twenty minute walk away from the hotel and is fairly easy to do. However, if you have trouble with inclines and mobility I would suggest you ask the lovely receptionist to ring you a taxi, or alternatively catch the bus from the bus stop that is right outside the hotel to the top of the village where a shuttle bus will take you further into the village itself.
Reception was also happy to provide a photocopy of the bus timetables to all of the destinations across Rhodes, and were also very helpful in suggesting activities and places to see.
The rooms in the hotel are simple but nice , and are cleaned every day by the charming housekeepers who never fail to say hello when you are on your way to breakfast.
The only real negative to our stay was that we had no warm water in the mornings and we forced to take cold showers, but considering how warm it can be it wasn't much of a problem.

We would happily return to this charming and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hills are in the building that is above the restaurant and kitchens, and so suffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniemck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
1.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Sun Hotel

Property: Lindos Sun Hotel
Address: Psaltos Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#14 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Greek hospitality awaits you from our experienced and friendly staff who are here to make your stay with us one of your most enjoyable experiences. This elegant hotel with its Lindian traditional decor, offers its guests a high standard of service but its intimate size ensures a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lindos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Sun Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing