We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great value if basic... Shame about the food”
Review of Lindos Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lindos Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked the Lindos Sun Hotel for a stay in Lindos for my cousins wedding (July 8th-15th, 2012)

Firstly I felt the location wasn't as I thought... If you search for the Lindos Sun on google maps.. It appears to be very central in Lindos... This is not so... The hotel is located between Lindos and Pefkos. On the bay after St Paul's. It was about a 15-20 minute walk into Lindos town which we didn't mind and a taxi from Lindos was about 6 euros.

The hotel was very clean, a little basic but to be expected in Greece. The rod were a generous size with large balconies or terraces. I had requested a high floor with a sea view and was delighted to be allocated one of the few 2nd floor rooms overlooking the sea (rooms 102 and 101) the only down side to this was the absence of a lift so we had to carry our cases up 2 flights of stairs.

The pool was very pleasant, and the pool bar was a god-send! We also made use of billing our snacks and drinks to our room bill which was great!

The biggest let down, I felt, was the food. I'm a great lover of Greek food, and I was very disappointed. Both breakfast and dinner were a self-serve buffet. It seemed that the hotel tried very hard to please all nationalities, and local delicacies were very few and far between... Breakfast was a very poor choice of cooked... All sat in grease... Cold meats and cheese, cereals with milk and bread along with toast, bread, preserves and pastries... A good selection but none very appetising. Dinner again gave a good choice but not great quality... There was normally a pizza/ pasta dish, meat dishes with chips along with a good salad selection... The one time that moussaka was on the menu it was very dry and crumbly... A total disappointment... In fact even though we'd paid for it.. We skipped dinner on our last 2 nights so we could go to restaurants in lindos to have real local Greek food! I can recommend the lindos restaurant and also the ice bar!

In short of was a good value break, but I wouldn't stay here again. I would probably go self catering or B&B to make use of the excellent value restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just come back from a week at the Lindos Sun hotel. If you want to stay in an anonymous "international" type hotel, this is not for you but, if you want to gain a little of the real Greek experience, then you will enjoy this charming small hotel. All the staff are friendly and are very happy to help with any request whether it's ordering a taxi at short notice, supplying pool towels (we forgot ours) etc etc. The rooms are small and not luxurious (think 1970/80s Greece) but they are spotlessly clean, with a decent sized bathroom and VERY effective aircom (essential in 35C of heat!). We had a room close to the pool - there are 4 of them (numbers 501-504) which was away from the main hotel but a very pleasant- and short-walk to the pretty outdoor terrace where you can have breakfast, dinner and drinks. During the day there is a snack bar near to the pool which provides lovely Greek food, prepared freshly on the spot by Peggy. The only issue that we had was the wait for it but, when it came, it was delicious. We were in Lindos for a family wedding and, during our week there, went to see friends who were staying in other hotels in the area. They were all perfectly fine but we could have been anywhere in the world - you would never have guessed that we were in Greece. We would happily return to this charming hotel and its lovely staff. 4 stars on the basis that I don't give 5!!

Room Tip: Rooms 501 to 504 if you want to be near the pool and away from the main hotel - VERY quiet when we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marypat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just returned from staying at this hotel.
Ok :
Hotel , excellent.
Cleanliness, excellent.
Friendliness of staff , excellent.
Facilities excellent.
Overall this hotel is very much worth a trip to stay at.
The only down side , and I,m sorry there is one is the food in the evening. The Chef (Ilias) in my opinion lets the hotel down. The food is bland , poor quality and below average , but on top of that the salad bar is home for the local fly population of Lindos , sort the flies out and re train the chef and they have the perfect hotel.
Peggy , who rubs the snack bar is the jewel in the crown , top dollar food and she cares , which to me is important.
Would stay again , as after one night of sampling the chefs food we ate out which we were more than happy to do.

Room Tip: Eat out in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lindos Sun Hotel. The staff were really friendly- we had a late night flight in, and the lady who welcomed us on reception offered us a snack before bed time. Peggy who worked at the pool side snack bar was really lovely too. The rooms were clean, tidy and good size, and the pool area was absolutely fantastic with views of the sea. There was a good choice of food from the breakfast and evening buffets, and the bar was very reasonably priced. It was only a short walk to the beautiful St. Paul's Bay and Lindos town itself, and the bus to Rhodes stopped right outside. All in all, the atmosphere at the hotel was really welcoming and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Misleading of the walk to lindos itself, it's a good 20 minute walk uphill of which is not advisable in the heat of midday, although you do pass a few donkeys, goats & sheep en route! The room we had was very small and uncomfortable, we had no space to put our luggage and the bedroom furniture was shoddy to say the least. The air condoning is ok but far to loud to keep on during the night, same for the fridge, and therefore makes the sleep difficult due to the heat and lousy bed, the combination of the two is just a nightmare! As for the sun beds, well... Make sure your there before 7am to get decent adjustable ones, rather than being left with the hard ones that feel a bit like laying on the hard bed again. The evening meals were less than average, there was little to choose from especially for vegetarians, you don't win friends with salad! The hotel bar is overpriced and even soft drinks are quite steep. There is a charge of €30 for late check outs which is unfair as we had a late flight and needed a room to shower etc. And considering we had already paid for that day and the previous 10 and buying lunch everyday at the snack bar, and drinks at the bar, you'd have thought we wouldn't really get charged that much....but hey ho!

The hotel grounds are very pretty and well maintained. The pool area is lovely as is the pool itself. We found the snack bar had a good lunch time menu and we found Peggy quite pleasant as were the majority of the staff.

There is bus stop right outside the hotel which you can go all the way to Rhodes on for just €5.50 which is great. You can also go to Pefkos but the stop is easy too miss. It's just at the bottom of the hill. Don't miss it as you will have to walk from Lardos which isn't fun.

Overall the hotel is expensive for what you actually get however it is a friendly and well looked after place with lovely sea views from the pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lindos Sun for a glorious week in late June to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We picked the hotel because of the glowing reviews we had read......and we weren't dissappointed! Charming hotel with a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. The staff were very helpful and professional, the rooms simple and spotlessly clean, we had a small problem of the balcony light not working on the first night. We told reception but didn't really expect anything to be done about it...but it was sorted straight away. Our week was spent by the pool during the day and a walk into Lindos and sampling the bars in the evenings. We had the added bonus of the 'Rhodes Rock Festival' which was a total surprise.

The highlight has to be Peggy's beautiful food at the pool bar at lunchtime, tasty authentic greek dishes presented with flair, we almost wished she was in charge of the main meals. Another recommendation is to have a massage from the visiting Kate Haslam, very good value and just put the icing on the cake in the relaxation stakes.

Will we be back again...hope so. An asthetically pleasing hotel, much nicer than some 4 & 5 * hotels we've stayed in. Thanks again to Natasha and the team, not forgetting dear Moro, the dog.

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking the pool and sea. 421
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buff1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed at the Lindos Sun for ten days and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is really beautiful with a great pool and cosy bar area. The food was really superb and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was chilled. It's location is ideal as it's a ten minute walk from Lindos but in a quiet area with beautiful hills and views of the sea.

The only bad point was as the hotel is in a rural area there are a lot of bugs that would occasionally make their way into our lower ground room..... but that can't really be helped and I'd rather stay at the Lindos Sun then elsewhere. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the lower ground to avoid bugs walking in under door frame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
852 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.9 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Caesar's Gardens Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Sun Hotel

Address: Psaltos Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £62 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Greek hospitality awaits you from our experienced and friendly staff who are here to make your stay with us one of your most enjoyable experiences. This elegant hotel with its Lindian traditional decor, offers its guests a high standard of service but its intimate size ensures a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Sun Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing