We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet pleasant basic hotel”
Review of Lindos Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindos Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet pleasant basic hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Lindos Sun for a week in mid-May..This is a clean, basic hotel, an easy 15-20 minute walk away from the village of Lindos (pavement all the way). For the price we paid, we were expecting a fairly basic hotel, but were pleasantly surprised. Although the rooms are indeed basic, with many rooms having (creaky) twin beds pushed together rather than doubles, they were immaculately clean, had air con, a mini fridge and good shower. All the rooms have a decent size balcony.

The pool and bar area are top notch- the hotel was reasonably busy when we stayed but there were always sun loungers and brollies available in both the sun and the shade. There is a lovely relaxing atmosphere around the pool. The pool bar serves great snacks and lunch during the day. The bar 'Muses' opens by the restaurant in the evenings and serves a variety of cocktails and drinks. Cocktail quality varied significantly depending on which staff member did the making!

From reading other reviews on TripAdvisor, we had been a little concerned that the food included in the half board package would be a bit lacklustre, but again we were pleasantly surprised. Breakfast is a standard continental affair, with some hot options and plenty of pastries and cereal.

Dinner had plenty of good salad options, always one fish dish, one potato dish, a meat dish and some rice or pasta. I wouldn't say it was restaurant standard, but it felt like there would be at least something there each night that would suit everyone, and the quality was good. I have a nut allergy and the chef was on hand most nights to discuss the dishes if I had any questions.

Our one criticism would be that we didn't really feel the dinner buffet gave many authentic Greek dishes (other than the salads) , and we would have welcomed more of a Greek influence in the meat and fish.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout- we were able to organisea room change when we were initially allocated a mountain view room rather than the sea view we had booked, and they were also able to organise a late checkout for us, which was really valuable on our last day as our flight wasn't until late in the evening.

Would definately recommend as a no frills, relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms have a sea view, except odd numbered rooms 109-119. Of these, AVOID 117- creaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    224
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
100
401
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Lindos Sun is a fantastic hotel just 10 minutes away for the picture post card village of Lindos. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and very clean. The hotel maids are pleasant and helpful and always wish you a good day, special mentions must go to Polytimi, Christina and Xenia who made our holiday so special. We would come back just to meet them again, nothing was too much trouble. Smiles, jokes and excellent service
Natasha you run a fantatstic place and all your staff are a credit to you
The food was great, fantastic range of dishes and salads.
The grounds are well kept and the hotel just great.Thanks for making a holiday a great holiday
Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pompeyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We loved staying at the Lindos Sun Hotel and cannot fault it! The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly!! It is just a 15 minute walk to the village, although staying in October - we did find many of the places much quieter than we've seen in the past - so for this time of year we would maybe stay somewhere in the actual village.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Hi ta's we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in october, as the title says a good basic hotel , clean rooms, gardens, pool area, food ok and a choice every night but not always hot or refilled when dishes became empty , yes the staff would go and get more if you asked but then after 10 minutes before they come back your other food has gone cold. They have a pool side bar which is 30 0r 40 metres from the pool which is a nice area to have a snack or a drink , this is run by Peggy who works none stop. The hotel is a steady 15 - 20 minute walk into Lindos during the heat and is a nice little town with a couple of nice roof top bars where you can have a drink and a snack at decent prices as are the restaurants , our favourite was the Acroppalis roof top restaurant which only opens at night and is always best to book and again very good prices, eg 2 course meal for 2 adults with a caraffe of local [ and very good wine] would cost about 35 euros. We had a late flight back and the hotel charged us 30 euro to keep the room till 6. 00 pm, considering we had booked and payed for a 2 week holiday back in May but had to cancell due to an injury we thought was a bit naughty of them and we spent about 500 euros in the bar there,also none of the staff even bothered to say goodbye on the night we were leaving and this a small hotel 40 rooms and we were sitting in the bar area waiting for the coach, but good manners cost you nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chefWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

What a delightful hotel- spotlessly clean, friendly, very helpful staff and so peaceful. Our room was lovely - each room was a small apartment which included a fridge and balcony or small garden with your own front door. There was plenty of space in the dining areas and mealtimes were very relaxed and not at all crowded. There was a varied choice of food and plenty of choice for my vegetarian husband. The walk into nearby Lindos was pleasant (we are in our 60's), with a footpath all the way and there are beaches within walking distance of the hotel. There is a bus stop outside the hotel with regular buses to Rhodes Town (the staff will photocopy a bus timetable for you) and various other places. If you hire a car, which we did, there is ample parking at the hotel. We would certainly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Rhodes.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a small garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jen36s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just spent 7 wonderful days at Lindos Sun from 13th - 20th Oct. It's a great little hotel in a good location and the staff are really friendly. We stayed at the end of the season so the hotel was very peaceful. The rooms are simple but clean and the pool and bar areas were nice to chill out in. All the staff were really helpful especially Peggy who ran the pool bar. The breakfast was good and the pool bar food was yummy. We went out for dinner most nights in Lindos because we like to try different restaurants but the dinners we had in the hotel were tasty and the BBQ on Sunday was good. The hotel is a 20 minute walk uphill to Lindos but it's a nice walk, especially after dinner before a few more drinks! We have stayed at Lindos Mare hotel two years ago but chose this hotel because of the location so we could walk into Lindos (we walked there and back every night) and St Paul's bay which is beautiful to chill out on the beach and go swimming in the clear blue water.

There are a few areas I think could be improved to make this hotel the best it could be. The twin beds didn't push together very well so we felt like we were sleeping in seperate beds and we didn't find them very comfortable. The air con unit and fridge in the room were quite noisy (this may have just been our room).

Overall we enjoyed our stay, it's a great hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoopyLoo1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent a very relaxing week (7d) at Lindos Sun Hotel (end Sep / early Oct 12).
The place is friendly, relaxing and clean. The palce definetly deserves 4 stars. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is a good mix of regional and European cuisine.

Bus-Stop is in front of the hotel. Scooter or rental car is recommanded for more flexability - next beach is 500m / village is ~ 1.0km which can feel long in the sun...

The region is less crowded than the north of the island but not boring.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
1.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Sun Hotel

Property: Lindos Sun Hotel
Address: Psaltos Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#14 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Greek hospitality awaits you from our experienced and friendly staff who are here to make your stay with us one of your most enjoyable experiences. This elegant hotel with its Lindian traditional decor, offers its guests a high standard of service but its intimate size ensures a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Sun Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing