We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room and hotel”
Review of Lindos Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindos Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic room and hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our infant and the room was so basic, the bed was not comfortable at all and was like a banana bed with the mattress not flat. There was no TV in the room either which was a first for a hotel for us across the world. The included food was so bad, that after the first night we ate out at other restaurants and just handled breakfast. We would not recommend this location and though some of the staff were great, others were not so friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rascalscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    229
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
100
407
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
immingham england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hi susan and I have just spent our honey moon here and our room a superior sea view. Was fantastic .The food was very good plenty to choose from.The staff were very helpful and they just could not do enough for us.The hotel is only a nice fifteen minute walk to the beautiful Lindos town .we will be visiting this hotel again later on in the year susan and I would like to say a big thankyou.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior SEAVIEW room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank commander_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is a little gem. It is a slightly lunar location and on a busy main road - but don't let that put you off.

It is set well back from the road so is quiet; it is clean; the staff are very welcoming; the outdoor eating areas are comfy; the pool is fab - unheated but very large and clean; but it is the food that totally surprised us. We expected a basic fayre and concluded we would head to Lindos to eat most days but we were amazed at the variety and quality of the food. I accept it isn't to everyone's liking (only saw chips on the menu once!) but for healthy options and freshness it hit the mark.

The rooms are basic but clean and the balconies are large - ours had a nice sea view (admittedly in the distance).

We will go back and upgrade to the new rooms they have added with TVs, internet and tea and coffee facilities. I didn't miss the TV but did miss the kettle. A nice touch is a fridge in every room.

The location is fine - it is a 20 minute walk to Lindos (on the main road) and quite steep; I wouldn't like to do it in high summer but the nearest beach is maybe 10 minutes away - not the nicest (most of these are at the foot of Lindos - steep climbing!)

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best; seriously consider an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Lindos Sun for 10 nights. We booked a room with a private pool despite not seeing any pictures prior to making the booking. When we arrived we were told that we were the first people to ever stay in our room which was nice to hear! The new block of rooms are nice, if somewhat lacking in decor. The table, bed frame, shower and sink unit are all made of the same white painted concrete as the walls and floors which gave the room a bit of an igloo feel to it. There was a small fridge in the room which was useful. I think a couple of pictures on the walls would make the room far more welcoming. The cleaners were amazing, so friendly and replaced bed linen and towels every day as well as cleaning the floors. The private pool was great, although not private as in secluded. The private pools are all in a line but the terrace / sunbathing area is secluded. We loved it and never used the main pool. The pools light up and change colour at night (sadly ours wasn't working but I think this was down to teething problems) which is a great effect and nice if you're having an aperitif in your room. The room looked straight over the sea which was beautiful. The hotel is maintained to a very high standard and looks beautiful from every angle and kept meticulously clean.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful.
The food whilst never bad was rarely great, it felt as though the chef struggled when the hotel got busier part way through our stay. One evening there was no meat or fish option and there was a lack of fresh vegetables, however, unless you're an exceptionally fussy eater it was more than adequate. I would like to see the red and green lighting over the food removed though, it didn't help to make the food look appetising!
It's about 15 - 20 minute walk into Lindos (depending on the temperature and how energetic you're feeling). We found this to be fine but I could imagine that some older people may struggle a little. A cab from Lindos to the hotel was €6. Lindos is beautiful, be sure to visit during the day as more shops are open and it's bustling with tourists - great holiday feel! There were some other hotels with pools on the main road nearer to the centre but the location of Lindos Sun in my opinion is more beautiful and much quieter.
So to sum it up, despite a few minor gripes (and I'm a woman so therefore it's my prerogative to moan a bit) I had a fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend Lindos Sun to anyone travelling to Rhodes or Lindos.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank rivaligure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and i have just returned from two weeks at the Lindos Sun Hotel from 7th May to 21st May. We have never encountered such wonderful staff ever on our many other travels. Everyone of them could not do enough to make your holiday memorable. Polina and George greeted us on our late arrival and we knew then we had chosen well, there friendly warmth and smiles could cheer up the grumpiest of tired travellers.
Natasha the owner has created a lovely atmosphere with the unique decor and beautiful plants, shrubs and trees in the grounds. She's very hardworking, on hand, kind and fair.
Standard rooms are simple but very comfortable with everything you need, hairdryer, fridge and aircon. Superior rooms have high quality linen, towels and the most amazing shower along with a TV. and of course a big comfy bed. Fridge, hairdryer , aircon , clever reading lights above bed which minimises partners disturbance and a more comfortable balcony chair. Take a look at the hotel's website for photo's and more info as there are various superior rooms to choose from and it may give you an idea of the unique style.
The view of the bay is gorgeous and can be enjoyed when dining or swimming and from room balcony. Food is cooked freshly as needed and brought out in smaller quantities which is far better than the large amounts left for hours in large hotels.
We found taking the bus into Lindos and walking back was the best option for us but younger or fitter guests could walk each way, it took us 30mins. We loved it and can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chattymam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had a fabulous stay here in October, great for people who want a week of rest and relaxation.
staff were excellent, surroundings amazing, food good. located about 15 minutes stroll from Lindos , however as walk is uphill would not recommend this walk for anyone with mobility problems. The staff will however phone a taxi and are extremely accomadating
Will definitely return..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Although we’re two hours ahead of Uk time, I awoke early today, full of excitement, and anticipation, and I wasn’t disappointed, on opening our veranda doors, the view the was stunning. With the sun glinting off the sea, a gentle breeze blowing, and the birds singing, it couldn’t be better!

The Hotel Lindos Sun is situated on a gently sloping rise above the sea in Navarone bay, famed from the WWII film ‘Guns of Navarone’ and overlooked by a massive escarpment on three sides. The hotel has the traditional picture postcard Mediterranean feel, with white washed walls, blue framed windows, and draped in pink Jasmin blossom.

Our room, 322, is on the second floor, overlooks the pool area and has sea views. As I wrote previously, the hotel is draped in Jasmin, and it’s actually growing on the veranda, so when the doors are open you’re enveloped in the most wonder fragrance. The rooms are simple & classically Grecian in style, and absolutely perfect for a sun based holiday. Air conditioning is free, which is good as the midday temperature has been hitting 39 Celsius (or 102 Fahrenheit) the beds are extremely comfortable, and there is a daily maid service.

The kidney shaped pool surrounded by lawns, is a wonderful azure blue, with a constant 1.5m depth. It’s just perfect for swimming, or floating around with a iced glass of Pimms to cool the midday sun. Unlike some hotels I’ve stayed in, there is no mad rush to claim a sun lounger and parasol, as there are plenty to go around. That said, as I appear to be the first person swiming everyday, it does feel as if I’m doing that very thing!

The pool area is extremely peaceful, with no music, or screaming kids running about, it’s definitely an adult centred hotel. There’s also a well stocked pool bar, with a Moroccan style shaded seating area, serving a great selection of drinks and snacks

The breakfast selection was fabulous, with a huge range of food for all tastes. What impressed me the most was the variety of good quality healthy foods available, so much better than the ubiquitous English fry-up you get in some countries, and as we’ve gone half board, it’s a relief to know the food is good.

The Greek meze style buffet with something to suit everybody’s taste, and include all the tradition Greek dishes. Sunday night is Greek night, with a BBQ and Greek dancing in the lounge bar.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room overlooking the pool, it's a lovely view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JyoKyoNym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
1.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Sun Hotel

Property: Lindos Sun Hotel
Address: Psaltos Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#14 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Greek hospitality awaits you from our experienced and friendly staff who are here to make your stay with us one of your most enjoyable experiences. This elegant hotel with its Lindian traditional decor, offers its guests a high standard of service but its intimate size ensures a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lindos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Sun Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing