We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the whole, but let down by main restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the start of July 2011. We found the hotel to be smart, but relaxed. The pool area was very peaceful, and it was good to have the beach a few yards away for a change of scenery. Probably could do with a few more loungers for the pool area - had to get up before 8.00am to get one, but guess that's fairly standard anywhere.

Outside of the restaurant, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Our patio door broke on our first day (possibly my partner's fault for pushing the handle the wrong way...!), but a handy man came up and fixed it within 30mins of reporting it.

The one problem though was the main self-service restaurant. Both the choice and quality of food was poor, and well below the standards expected of a 'Platinum' hotel (as it was marketed in the Thomas Cook brochure). It had the unfortunate feel of a canteen about it. The staff were also far less pleasant in the restaurant, often appearing a little annoyed at your request to clear a dirty table when there were no others available!

The second restaurant, Ostrako, was much better quality. A lovely meal was had there overlooking the beach at sunset. We also treated ourselves to a massage in the spa, which was a really top quality facility.

Overall, given the charm of nearby Lindos (10 min taxi, distance no problem at all), we would consider going back. However, in the meantime, I would hope that the management take on board some of the concerns raised in this and other reviews about the quality of the main restaurant.

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view in advance. Well worth it if surcharge required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeriElinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Mareblue Lindos Bay Resort & Spa for your stay. We are glad to read your mostly positive feedback, and we will surely take in mind the issues you raised. We hope to welcome you again through our doors.

Kind Regards
Sales Department
Mareblue Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

When I looked at this hotel online I was really happy with my choice to go. However on arrival I was a little disappointed. It was advertised as being 5* but I would have said it was more of a 3* - 3* plus and for the price it cost I was unimpressed.
As we had gone 'out of season' the air conditioning wasn't turned on the in lobby areas and with it reaching 38 degrees this didn't seem very practical.
Our room was clean and functional with a beautiful view of the sea and beach. However the location of the hotel wasn't the best. It was at the bottom of a steep hill which was too dangerous to walk up so to get anywhere you had to get a taxi. Lindos itself is a quaint little town with yummy resturants which is slightly ruined by the stalls selling all the normal tourist rubbish.
The beach is pebbles and the sea was difficult to get in and out of as the beach dipped at a sleep angle into the water.
There was no entertainment at the hotel other than the occassional greek dancer of an evening. There was nothing to do during the day and overall I was disappointed by the facilities.
The spa was extremeley expensive as well with treatments starting from £60.
As the hotel didn't offer all inclusive I found that the drinks and snack costs soon mounted - well they would at £5 a beer and £4 for a lemonade.
On the plus side I found a shop a few hundred meters down the road and we bought bottles of water and beer from there at a fraction of the price.
The food at this hotel is AMAZING! There wasn't one day that I found I was stuck for choice.
Overall a nice hotel if they turned the air con on and moved up the hill!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Mareblue Lindos Bay for your stay. We are glad that you found food to be amazing, and high rated service and cleanliness. Regarding, the air conditioning, kindly note that responsible usage has to be made during summer time, wherever possible , due to environmental reasons. We hope to welcome you again through our doors.

Best Regards
Sales Department
Mareblue Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was our first trip with Thomas Cook - we were slightly concerned about what would be awaiting us, and especially the food quality in the half board hotel. It turns out that it was everything we had hoped for, and better than we expected!
- The hotel location, right on the beach, was perfect to relax and do next to nothing.
- The free gym/spa/tennis meant you didn't feel lazy hanging around at the hotel.
- The food was not bad for a buffet restaurant feeding 200 people. It wasn't five-star, but it was fresh healthy food and enough of a variety not to be bored. Plenty of salads and fruit. Always a variety of main meals - although they weren't always great, there was always at least some pasta, risotto or something similar that was to your taste.
- The bar serves great cocktails to relax by the sea after dinner.
- The hotel has a restaurant, Ostrako, which is fabulous food if the buffet becomes too much (although slightly pricy - but still offering value for money).
All in all I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a chilled holiday by the sea, with good food, good views, good drinks, good company and a bit of sport.
I DO NOT recommend it if you're looking to go out and about, as it's slightly out of the way.

Room Tip: While views on the sea sound great, it also means you'll have the noise of the evening entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waffle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Mareblue Lindos Bay Resort & Spa for your stay. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel's location to be convenient and enjoyed the food and facilities offered. On behalf of all staff and management, we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mareblue Lindos Bay Resort & Spa.

Best Regards
Sales Department
Mareblue Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here in summer of 2004
Our Ship USS Kearsarge stayed ported in Rhodes in the summer of 05. A few friends and I book one night in this hotel. This review may not be relevant now but it it was an all inclusive awesome stay.

Room Tip: Pebble beach fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wershingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review on your not so recent stay at Mareblue Lindos Bay Resort & Spa. Many upgrades were made since your last visit, and a redesign of the exterior space is now taking place. We feel that it is time to make another reservation to Mareblue Lindos Bay Resort & Spa. We will be happy to welcome you through our doors.

Kind Regards,
Sales Department
Mareblue Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The experience left me appalled and angry.
The hotel was sold as a 5 stars when in fact it achieves 3 stars.
The food was a hazard into the world of salt poisoning.There is a lack of direction in the kitchen and that's because there was no head chef in place but only practising staff (work experience).
The sandy beach is non- existent, the beds at the beach are soilly and of very poor quality or broken all together.The bins never emptied during the day.
We have spent a lot of money on transport,a 5 stars hotel would have a shuttle a few times a day but not at this hotel.
Room was large and clean but not thanks to Thomas Cook;however no toiletries available only some suspicious soap dispenser!! The reception tried to extort money for the safety box located in the room that's unacceptable and unknown to happen in a real 5 stars hotel.By the end of the week the hotel was runing out of towels...?!
The serving staff are nice and helpful ;however they could not speak English nor Greek or any other language in circulation as the hotel is used by Italian,French and Dutch tourists.I speak English,Italian ,French and Greek and therefore could understand the frustration of many of the guests.
The two single showers at the beach breach every rule on health and safety!! No drainage in place and the water just floods about your feet..The board walk is old , rotten and broken. Potentially hazardous !At the pool the shower is non existent.
The management team was pleasant but not alert enough. The general manager was looking like anything but a manager.I believed for the entire week that he is a traveller so read into that....who should lead by example but didn't.
No I will not return to such a horrible place and if you love your youreselves enough don't book your holiday there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwala29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Mareblue Lindos Bay Resort for your stay.
We were glad to see from your review that you rated high our services and cleanliness.
Please allow me to clarify certain issues.
Independent reputable specialist hygiene contractors carry out routine inspections, and give expert advice as and when needed, and all findings are documented. Everything is according to regulations.
All of our staff speak both English and Greek.
Safe box is available, and charges apply.
The 4-star accommodation Mareblue Lindos Bay offers, is proven by the vast majority of satisfied guests' reviews.

Regards,
Sales Department
Mareblue Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Great hotel, very clean, excellent staff, good pool and the hotel was right on the beach. Short taxi ride to Lindos and Pefcos, bus direct to Rhodes
Very quiet location so don't go if you want endless tavernas and bars. Good little place on beach to have snacks and the drinks were cheaper than in tne hotel.
Would love to return for another holiday - we had a great time

Room Tip: we had a front off hotel room overlooking the hills - great on an evening as you got the last of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanPC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

just back from two weeks stay, nice hotel couldnt fault the rooms and the house keeping staff were excellent clean linen and towels everyday. buffet breakfast was very good, but evening meal ,buffet style again was very limited and if not in the restraraunt before 8pm limited choice left. all the staff were very pleasant and curteous, the hotel is a little isolated but the lemon tree taverna nearby was a nice place for a drink in the evening , no entertainment at the hotel except for the greek night.

Thank jennytaylor51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.4 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lindos Village Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.9 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Vlycha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece (Formerly SENTIDO Lindos Bay)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#7 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#11 Family Hotel in Lindos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £71 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Bay Hotel
TUI Sensimar Lindos Bay Resort & Spa Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing