We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant but Very Expensive when out there”
Review of Lambis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lambis Studios
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant but Very Expensive when out there”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Just returned from a 2 week trip to the Lambis Studios in Lindos.

We are two thirty somethings with no kids and shared a large lovely apartment overlooking the pool. Whilst the apartments were some of the best we have had in Greece we felt that every thing else was far too expensive for a self catering holiday.

People might say that the Euro rate had something to do with it but this place would have been expensive anyway.

Things that really niggled us:

You have to pay £50 Euros per Week for Air Con - and you need it.
You have to pay £10 Euros per week for the safe.
The Bar is expensive and even a game of pool is £2 Euros
£2 Euros seems to be our 50p in Lindos

The hotel was quite empty and we noticed not many people ate around the pool in the bar or played pool or even used the pool so you will always get a sunbed.

The hotel owner has done a lot to this place but you need to specify a top floor room over the pool if you want a view. There are cats everywhere and you will be invaded if you don't pre-ask for a top floor apartment.

The rooms are very good. You get two twin beds, loads of storage, Sat TV with about 2 UK channels and UK films at night. Everything was very clean and spacious.

Lindos

Well Lindos is quite nice. There are lots of old buildings and a wonderful beach but it was the expense that got us again.

The shops are full of tourist stuff and some that you find here. Something that you can get in Matalan for £2.00 would be £30 Euros there.

If you are going self catering then you will more than likely need 20-30 Euros each day just for your breakfast and drinks etc. Cereals are 4 Euros, Marmit is 4.50 and even bread is 3 Euros.

A meal out in Lindos is all more or less the same in the restaurants. We paid 40-50 Euros for two of us each night with half a bottle of wine, starters and Mains. There are not really any cheap places. Even the cafe wants 7 Euros for something simple and small.

Other prices - Cone was 3 Euros, Suntan Cream 16 Euros, Two beds and an umbrella on the beach 8 Euros. Drinks in bar about 10 Euros for two. Bottle of fizz 2-3 euros.

Note about the beach. They don't like you sitting on your own towels at the beach. They will ask you to move under the brick wall at the back of the beach.

Note about the pool. You are not allowed to drink your own drinks or consume own food for health and safety reasons.

We met a lot of couples that had been there for two weeks and everyone was moaning about the Euro rate and the prices. A common estimate for a semi descent 2 weeks for 2 adults was about £1600 pounds. Some families were having to spend double that to get a nice holiday.

The apartments are great. Lindos is great. The Airport was fab. Just the prices were too much and you constantly felt as tho there were taking the p**s out of you.

My advice would be to go to Pefkos which is just down the road and i hear was a lot cheaper for everything.

Heat.
Temperature said it was about 27-30c. It was actually about 42-45 during the day and 30c at night. You will need mossy spray and loads of suntan cream.

Walk to beach.

The walk to the beack was actually ok. It takes approx 5 minutes to get to the hill in Lindos and there is a free bus every 5 minutes. It would only take another 5 minutes to get to beach but it is nice to get the bus back in the afternoon.

Wildlife.

There are huge amounts of fish in the sea and it is very shallow so great for kids.
We saw, donkeys, goats, sheep, mongoose, large lizards, weird bugs and huge spiders.

Overall

The apartments are great.
Food is ok but overpriced
Self Catering is Expensive
Weather is fab
Great for Kids (if you have the money)

We would go back but would go to one of the all inclusives to get more for our money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasonandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    122
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
115
171
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Having read the good reviews for the Lambis Studios on Trip Advisor we decided to choose there for our 1 week stay in Lindos.

The rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathroom and shower was also more than sufficient! The little balconies are a lovely touch, and a great view also. The pool area was also very good, no probs with getting a sunlounger at all. In addition the free wifi was a real bonus. You need to ask for the password at the desk, which they are more than happy to give out. The only crtisicm I have of the studios is the food. Chips were v greasy and the baguettes not v nice!

If you are into good food then I would certainly recommend 'Broccolino' which I also seen recommended on here. This is really unique place, fantastic food and a lovely setting. To be honest all of the others were v nice, but similar to each other (trad greek food), this was the only real standout one in my opinion.

Lindos itself was also very very nice, the little cobbled streets really add to the atmosphere, and the people on the doors of the resturaunts are no too pushy.

I would definitly recommend to hire a car for a day (don't hire from the travel agent, there is plenty of cheaper alternatives int he town centre when you get there) and vist Rhodes old town, that place is pretty unique! Also we stopped off in Faliraki (morbid curiousity from all the holiday rep reality shows!), and were able to avail of some watersports (wakeboarding) on the beach with was pretty cool, before driving off before nightfall....!

We actually travelled round to entire island - word of advice, where the east coast of the island is a long straight motorway, the west coast is quite the opposite! Very hilly and windy roads, not good for those who can get travel sickness!! Also a good idea to use the car to buy cheap food in a large (Tesco style) store outside of Lindos as the small store (link in most resort towns) is a bit of a rip off. There is a large store on the road from Rhodes to Lindos, you cannot miss it.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Lambis studios are very clean and well kept. The staff are all friendly and hard working. Very nice rooms, and great views.

The food from the pool bar has good variety, the pool is a good size, and plenty of room for lounging about around it.

There is a bit of a walk downhill to the resort centre, which for us isn't a problem at all, but if you have mobility difficulties, it would be hard.

Lindos itself, is a charming little place. Full of narrow streets and most restaurant are on the rooftops, which is just magical, and makes this resort something special.

For a bit of culture, I recommend the acropolis. You can either walk or ride a donkey on your way up. The views are amazing, well worth it.

It is a very relaxed resort, a coupld of nightclubs but they go unnoticed. There are a few lovely bars to relax in after you go out for a meal, and a great selection of shops.

Overall, Lambis studios are a great place to stay, and Lindos is delightful!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Me and my girlfriend (Both 21) stayed in the Lambis studios in August 2008 for 1 week.

Our room was very nice, it was on the top floor so we had a balcony that overlooked the mountains and the other studio apartments.

The rooms itself was very nice and clean and very spacious. We had to pay for the AC, (You pay seperately for the bedroom and the living room) We only got the bedroom and it was worth it because it gets very hot in there during the day time!

The pool area was great, we always got sunbeds and spent most days by the pool!

The real highlight of Lindos is the town though. Its simply one of the best places we have been to on holiday! You go down into the town and its like a maze of little streets all leading to tarditional shops and restaurants. We went self catering because we always eat in the local restaurants and in Lindos there are some amazing ones!

St Pauls Bay was a highlight aswell but be prepared to pack lots of water as the walk from the studios to st pauls bay is relatively long especially in the mid day heat in august!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Quite a long walk to town (15 mins)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank craigyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

Another lovely week at the Lambis.. The rooms are cleaned every day, supplying fresh linen and towels. The views are to die for! The garden is something else! The gardener is always around tending to there beautiful gardens. Everything is looked after and it shows. The pool is very clean and spending a day or two next to it is very relaxing. The food is great and well priced.
There are lots of sun beds and plenty to go around. Try a Alpha beer from a frozen beer glass its GREAT!
This was our second stay here after it was suggested to us by family and friends last year. ChristIna behind the bar will bend over backwards to cater for you. Her English is great and will tell you all of the best places to visit in Rhodes.

We will no doubt be returning to the Lambis next year. I think we have caught the Bug!

  • Liked — The view from our room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOUBENBRISTOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

After reading many good reviews on Trip Advisor decided to give this reasonably priced package holiday staying at Lambis a try. The hotel was fairly quiet as out of school holidays (end of Sept when we went) only couples and families with small children.

The Lambis has a nice quiet pool area with plenty of sun beds, small bar, pool tables & outside eating area if don't want to go into town and play area for kids (although all concrete no grass). The rooms were good size - we managed to get a 4 person room (2 single beds & sofa-bed) on our deal for just 2 of us, so plenty of space - also had adequate kitchenette (2 rings, toaster, fridge & all plates/pans/cutlery) & bathroom with bath & shower). Was TV in room but only 1 english speaking channel, showing news on a loop - no problem if going out every night but if stuck in with a small child take other entertainment.

Rooms were entered to empty bins most days and sometimes beds made or clean towels left but couldnt work out when this would happen - seemed a bit random. Also were told if room available could keep it on until 7pm day of departure for 20 Euros but none available - so we had to pack everything up for checkout at midday, leave suitcases in bar area, then wash/change in pool toilets after day on beach as no room with shower available.
On whole though rooms were kept clean & tidy and any problems sorted straight away.

Lambis is short walk from nearest supermarket which seemed to have most things. It is also not far from bus station, which not only has local buses going everywhere for reasonable fare but also where most coaches for excursions leave from. There is also free bus from this station that takes you both to Lindos square & beach and return.

Lambis is on top road of Lindos - both the beaches & town are at the bottom - so expect a walk up and down steep hill to get anywhere. You can however get the free bus, taxi or donkey if really can't be bothered to walk and we saw plenty of people in wheelchairs/mobility scooters so not impossible to get around. By the end of the week however i was fed up of climbing up and down the hill to get anywhere and vowed if i came back to stay in one of the apartments in lindos town.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere maybe bit quieter than hotel down the road Lindos View, which seemed bit rowdier. No Kareoke, theme nights or loud music by the pool at Lambis. It is however a free pool, which means people from apartments nearby can use pool if they buy drinks etc.

Enjoyed it for a week but that was long enough - only problem was the balcony always seemed to be in the shade, afternoon sun was best out the back of the apartments - seems like rooms were built wrong way round.

  • Liked — it was clean and nice and quiet location
  • Disliked — it was a bit too far from town centre up a steep hill
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipsy589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dartford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Hi all
anyone going to lambis is in for a good holiday accomodation, staff etc excelent. hope all remember me and john (tracy) see you next year

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lornaDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambis Studios

Property: Lambis Studios
Address: Lindos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lindos
#9 Family Hotel in Lindos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lambis Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lambis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambis Studios Lindos, Rhodes
Lambis Studios Hotel Lindos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing