We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lindos View - First time Customers Beware”
Review of Hotel Lindos View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lindos View
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lindos View - First time Customers Beware”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On all of the reviews I come accross there is a pattern which describes why some people give a very high "Excellent review" and others the opposite, I sit in the latter camp. Anyone who like some reviews I read tell you it is 10 min to the Town and a further 10 mins to the Beach fail to tell you how steep the hill is down to the Town. Be aware if you are not reasonably fit and active (and I am) you will struggle. Wheelchair users look elsewhere.
The rave reviewers tend to sit in the camp that will always refer to the many times they have re-visited the Hotel and the excellent staff etc that is because of the preferential tratment they receive. I went there this year in a self catering apartment, do not go to this Hotel if you are lookingfor self catering. Upon arriving there is a 1 x ring electric portable Hob, no cooker or microwave just a toaster, 1 x saucepan and 1 x frying pan, Very few utensiles for example no cullander and no spatcheler etc they do not cater for Self Catering. The rooms and Hotel and pool complex is very good no complaints. I went to reception after arriving asking if there was another Hob or dual hob- no I was told they were all being used, Typical I'm afraid of the response from reception who I found to be very unhelpful. 4 x days before leaving and despite paying the Thomson extra payment to retain the room as late as possible I had a card from the Thomson Rep to say I had to move rooms the evening before. I told the Thomson Rep I was not prepared to move and she was to speak to the Hotel. Imagine my surprise when luckily going back to the room on the final morning to find the cleaner packing our cases. I stopped her and went to reception asking for an explanation, where i was told I had no choice "as the new occupants could only occupy a ground floor room " I took that to mean they were disabled" because of this I agreed to move went back and packed our bags, Imagine our surprise some hours later when we saw the new occupants pulling there cases along to the room they had obviously asked for, this became apparent when the cleaners saw them arriving and rushed over to greet them saying welcome back!! Thomsons have and were a waste of time despite all of there pomp and promises about why you should choose Thomsons. STill waiting a reply from them 5 x weeks after my return. Buyer Beware!!

Room Tip: Be a regular visiter or else don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Profilienos, General Manager at Hotel Lindos View, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for devoting time to comment about your stay in Lindos View. It is very important to us as it lets to pay attention to the areas where the improvement can be made.

We are pleased to hear that you found the Hotel, rooms and pool complex very good. However, at some point of your holidays in Lindos View you felt disappointed and we would like to apologize for that.

The first thing that you were not satisfied with was the steepness of the hill to reach the town and the beach. It is understandable that it could have been not the easiest way to reach desired places but it hardly depends on the hotel itself. The relief of Rhodes is hilly; however, this is part of Greece that attracts most of the tourists.

We would like to express our great apology that you did not feel as much welcomed by our staff as the customers who have stayed in Lindos View before. Even though staff of Lindos View is most of the times praised for the friendliness and politeness, we will pay deeper attention to the service of the staff so that all of the guests would feel more than welcomed. However, it is important to mention that the guests who have stayed in Lindos View before are familiar to the staff and this might have evoked natural excitement when recognizing faces which they have seen before.

Regarding the Self Catering utensils, I would like to emphasize that we provide with all of the Self Catering utensils that your tour operator is advertising in their brochure. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the utensils provided. However, as mentioned in the website of Thomson, ‘…you will be provided with catering facilities in your accommodation to cook light meals’, meaning that preparing the dishes that require special utensils can be difficult.

Concerning the late check out and the fact that you were asked to move to another room, we would like to emphasize that again in Thomson`s website you can find the information regarding the late checkout were it is mentioned that you might have the same room but you might also need to change to another one: ‘You may be able to stay in the room you’ve had during your holiday, but you may have to move to another’. The management of the Lindos View always seeks to satisfy requests of all the guests, for this reason, the specific room requested by the guest from new arrival sometimes has to be prepared for their stay.

We would like to apologize one more time that some features of the hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope that the positive impression of Lindos View will surpass not as positive experiences and will not stop you from coming back.

We wish you all the best in your future journeys and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Yannis Profilienos
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    169
    53
    13
    3
See reviews for
292
342
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The Lindos View has a good location for Lindos and is aptly named for the view of the Acropolis. It is only a 10 minute walk into the beautiful town with its multitude of shops bars and restaurants and about another 10 to get to the main beach. It is a steep trek back up which we didn't find a problem (averagely fit 30-something's!) but there are always taxis available if required. The room we had was large and well-equipped, though sparsely decorated - a few pictures on the walls would be nice. Beds a touch on the hard side and 2 singles pushed together. The grounds and indoor areas are well kept and pool areas clean. The staff were a bit of a mixed bag - reception and evening bar staff were friendly and helpful but the breakfast team less so. We were on B&B and being slightly dehydrated the first morning were looking forward to a nice glass of orange juice (or any juice type!) and a cup of tea. However, we were curtly informed that B&B only entitled you to one drink (any more cost extra) and that we had to order one drink and one breakfast course. Even though the English breakfasts included tea or coffee, this was not forthcoming if a juice drink had already been ordered. Being used to buffet breakfasts we
were expecting that juice and tea/coffee would flow freely, but alas not! Also, despite ordering
a 'bakery basket' with muffins and croissants several times we never had a muffin and only once a croissant, usually only being brought toast and toasted english muffins (pretty much one and the same). This was often without explanation (only told once that no croissants left). The same was probably true of muffins but weren't told this. Omelettes very good though. Had an evening bar snack when we first arrived as it was late and this was fine but never tried the restaurant as the menu was not very inspiring or particularly cheap and there are so many good restaurants in town where we ate every night. Overall, the Lindos View is a great location for this lovely part of Rhodes and is a good base for self catering. A very small minority of staff took the edge of it a little and I would definitely go self catering instead of B&B. Just about gets a four but based on our expectations from previous reviews, we were slightly disappointed but still offers value for money as a self catering accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Profilienos, General Manager at Hotel Lindos View, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences when staying in Lindos View. Your feedback is very important to us as it encourages positive changes and improvements.

It is gratifying to hear that you were happy with the location of the hotel, it`s main building and the size of the room. However, you noticed the lack of decoration in the room. We are grateful for mentioning this and we promise to make few nice changes in order to make the room livelier.

We would like to apologize that B&B offer did not meet your expectations. Regarding the breakfast, the tour operator you have booked your holidays with states that ‘Bed & Breakfast usually means Continental breakfast.’ According to general knowledge, Continental breakfast normally includes pastries and drinks like coffee, tea or fruit juices. We would like to emphasize that Lindos View offers much more than Continental breakfast: English breakfast, Greek breakfast, various omelets and toasts as well as one drink per meal. We are sorry that you were disappointed when offered with only one drink. We will consider the option of offering tea/coffee and juice for B&B.

We would also like to apologize that we had lack of pastries such as croissants or muffins as it is the end of the season. We are sorry that it was not explained to you in an appropriate manner. We are putting our best effort in improving customer service and will keep doing that.

We hope that your disappointment about B&B offer will not exceed the positive impression about Lindos View and we hope to see you again. We also wish you all the best in your future journeys.

Kind regards,
Yannis Profilienos
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from lindos view on 20th oct 2013 I can only say one word "WONDERFUL"Yannis and his family and his wonderful staff should be very proud for making our stay warm and welcome .This is great place to stay we have been coming to lindos view now for over 10 years and will always come here.A big thanks again see you all next year enjoy your break from work everyone xxx love carl and Sue walsh

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPUDNOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Unfortunately just had to come home from two weeks in this lovely hotel!! Lovely people nice clean friendly relaxing hotel with lovely views in a quiet spot but near to the village if you want to be a bit livelier. Nothing to criticise here at all.

Room Tip: High up gets you the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had a lovely ten day holiday. We started off in a refurbished room as requested but this was on the ground floor which we were not comfortable with so we moved to a third floor older style room which had a great view of the Acropolis. We preferred the older style rooms as they have built in electric hobs and a bath rather than the new wet rooms so if you like a soak in the evening go for one of these. I was worried about the main road before we arrived but it is not particularly busy and certainly not an issue. Lindos is lovely especially if you like to go and explore and dine in different restaurants each night. The food quality is excellent and I can definitely recommend the Ambrosia Italian restaurant - fantastic. The only downside is the cost - Lindos is a special place and as such carries a premium but still worth it. Overall we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naathented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Today is the last of a fabulous 2 week stay at LV. My 2nd stay. My partners 1st. We had a refurbished apartment, as requested. However got a basement room with no sea view, as specified in our confirmation email from the manager. The room itself exceeded our expectations, but the COST for using the Jacuzzi bath was quoted as 50 euro PER TIME!!! Neighbours told us they had been quoted 30 euros per time. How can a room offer a jacuzzi bath and charge you to use it??? The cleaning was of the highest standard and the shower and bed top notch. The restaurant however, had gone totally downhill from the last time I visited 6 years ago. I returned greasy meatballs which were totally inedible. Our lovely waiter who has been at LV for years, cheerfully exchanged the food. THe rest of our meal was very mediocre and definitely not prepared by a qualified Chef. What a huge let-down. During 2 previous visits LV produced amazing food and a wonderful setting for many delicious meals. Come on LV get your act together, or British holidaymakers will stay elsewhere. The 2 pools were as pristine as ever, but too cold to get into the first 2 weeks of October for most people. Be great if it could be heated during cold spells. We are taking DRY Towels home, sadly. Big, comfy bed and fab shower, but very chilly patio area with hardly any sun. The room/location you end up in makes the world of difference to your experience at LV. WIth so much competition, LV needs to up its game and start including AIr Con, the Safe and jacuzzi bath in its prices if it really wants to be considered a Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pragueophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Profilienos, General Manager at Hotel Lindos View, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences while staying in Lindos View. Your feedback is very important as it encourages constant improvements.

We are delighted to hear that your overall impression about Lindos View hotel is good and you have enjoyed your stay here.

Unfortunately, you were let down at some point of your holidays and we would like to apologize for that. Regarding your disappointment of the room at the ground floor, it is considered to be ground floor room and not the basement room, as it is not under the ground and has daylight coming in through the balcony door. Room in this floor was offered to you as you have requested as less steps as possible due to difficulty in walking. Concluding that this is your first priority, the view of the sea was lost; however, you could still enjoy the view of Acropolis. We would also like to remind you that you have been offered to change the room to the one at the middle floor (not refurbished one, but with a sea view). However, your priority was the refurbished room. We are sorry, that the floor of the room and the view through it did not meet your expectations.

Regarding the cost of the Jacuzzi, it is 30 euro per day and we would like to express our apology that due to some reason it was stated to you differently. The service is chargeable because of the contract between Lindos View and Thomson peculiarities. The tour operator which you have booked your holidays with does not state that you will definitely get a newly renovated room with a Jacuzzi: this is possible by contacting the management of the hotel. In any case when booking your holidays, you pay for the standard room without any special features such as Jacuzzi. That is the reason why the payment for this service is required. We are sorry that this let you down and we will do our best to make it clear when booking your holidays. We, in collaboration with Thomson, will also try to create an option to book an upgrade room including Jacuzzi.

We are very sorry that you were disappointed by the food that Lindos View offers. Also, we are very grateful for such an enthusiastic encouragement! We are constantly working on the menu of Lindos View restaurant and next year we expect positive changes towards the meals offered in the restaurant.

Thank you one more time for devoting time to comment about your stay in Lindos View! We wish you all the best in your future holidays and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Yannis Profilienos
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

just returned from a weeks holiday in the lindos view.self catering.this hotel is a wonderful place to spend a week relaxing.the food is beautiful,the hotel is spotless,the people who work there are nice.the whole hotel is well run.vladd who served our food in the restaurant upstairs is a fantastic guy who has time for everyone he serves.the pool is great but cold.the only problem i found was getting to and from the beaches.lots of hills.and with hills you go down one means you have to go up one.the beaches are lovely,clean and only 8 euros for 2 beds and a umbrella.our room 813 was perfect for me and my other half.lots of room.weather was in the high 20s all week which was fab.definatley go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank properbo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
1.1 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.1 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindos View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindos View

Property: Hotel Lindos View
Address: Lindos - Rhodes, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lindos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lindos View 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to be a canvas upon which our guests can color their island dreams. Our outstanding, friendly service and carefully crafted luxury that guests enjoy, are elements that achieve to perfect their relaxing stay in Lindos View Hotel.The treasured memories of our guests are our priority and so we do our best to ensure that your stay is fondly etched in your mind. We aim to be a cosmopolitan hotel and a destination for seekers of unique and relaxing experiences from the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Lindos View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Apartments Lindos
View Apartments Hotel Lindos
Hotel Lindos View Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing