We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“re lindos donkeys”
Review of Village of Lindos

Village of Lindos
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.71*
and up
Rhodes Shore Excursion: Private Lindos and Rhodes Old Town Tour
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“re lindos donkeys”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

hi agree with steven m from pool just returned from faliraki had a day at lindos been before stunning place but just could stand to see them little donkeys going up and down to the accoropalis i know its a living for the people that owns them but WHY do they have to put obease lazy tourists on them they are lovely to see but please CHILDREN ONLY . we saw the parents getting on feet nearly touching the floor then the child sat on the parents lap in one part it is quite steep up some steps and the two donkeys with adults on were really struggling to get up the steps but they did not have much choice with a stick poking up there back sides
the temprature was 40 plus i know they say they are beasts of burden but its not right
them going up and down like they were as soon as they were at the top because there was so many people one bloke litterally ran these two donkeys back down the donkey path as fast as he could so he could get back down the bottom to bring them back up again with new people on one of the donkeys was reluctant to jump down off the steps to go down
and the bloke was really shouting at it .... as i say the donkeys are there for a living
and they are part of the lindos tradition but please CHILDREN ONLY
been to lindos 3 times now and it seems to have got worse more donkeys more BIG
PEOPLE we love lindos and we buy and support the town folk but this time it did upset me seeing this going on as with other people

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank maureenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,563
    2,062
    517
    96
    63
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A maze of little streets and alleyways, buy as you go because you will never find the shops again lots of lovely restaurants, no pressure,felt safe. a good place to wander before dinner, taxi up the hill back to our hotel (Lindos View )

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun to do”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we were in Rhodes Lindos was one of the place we thought we mite like to see if time allowed. There was a I/2 day tour we looked at but as it turned out we missed by one day. This only meant we had to take the city bus into Rhodos (Rhodes) then a bus out to Lindos. From where the bus stops on the highway you walk gown hill about 1/2 mile to the village of Lindos. Access to the Acropolis of Lindos is through a maze of vendors all up hill and stairs to the site. There is the option of taking a mule ride up which some choose ( felt sorry for the animals). Once you arrive at the site there is a small fee to enter but worth the cost as the view alone is worth it. The site is not easy to walk about and great care is required to ensure no injury. One hour here will suffice to see what there is, but do not rush to leave the area, stop for lunch as the food is reasonable and tasty. We made this a 1/2 day adventure and are happy we did so fun to do and see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KCFTRA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful village”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Gorgeous place and people! The little winding streets, donkeys, acropolis, views, rooftop restaurants! I can't wait to return. We went in October and although a quieter month the weather was glorious and shops and restaurants open still.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmab275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lindos Village”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Parking is an issue the first area closer to Lindos beach is very popular and the road into and down is a test. We used the second car park over the hill by St Paul’s Bay. The alternative is to park along-side where the busses pull in from the main road, if this is your choice be careful walking down to the village.
Narrow streets white walls and some very slippy paved areas. The shops are of a type the mostly sell 'sea-side mementos'. There are some specialist shops and galleries that are different so wander around and you will be pleasantly surprised if you take your time.
If you have time there are a good number of fine eating places often perched on roofs or in side streets.
The walk up to the acropolis is hot and dry take water and take your time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMSugna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village of Lindos also viewed

 

Been to Village of Lindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing