We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, authentic hotel with great staff. Say no more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Melenos Lindos for 4 nights to attend a friends wedding being held in the town. We could have stayed at one of the larger, just out of town hotels with greater amenities but opted for the quieter and more traditional Melenos. It turned out to be a great decision.

You arrive into Lindos by taxi and are met in the town square by one of the lovely staff who escort you on the short 5 minute walk up toward to the hotel. Your luggage is put on a tiny pick-up truck that then speed off into the narrow streets to deliver your luggae and save you the bother. When you climb the (sometimes) steep walk to the hotel in 30+ degrees of heat you realise why the pick-up truck is required!

We stayed in room 12 which was decently furnished with a slightly raised mezzanine level where the large bed mattress is. Outside is a large patio area which has stunning views over Lindos bay.

All the staff we came across were outstanding. Excellent spoken English, lots of smiles, efficient and came across as nothing would be too much trouble. Just as we like it!

Unfortunately, we only had an opportunity to dine at the Melenos on one occasison but I have to say the food was superb. Good quality greek food - whilst not inexpensive - was pretty reasonable and in line with what I'd expect to pay in such an establishment. We did eat breakfast every day which starts with a selection of traditional greek pastries (absolutely stunning but unusual for breakfast!) and a good variety of pretty healthy menu options all served with friendly and calm efficiency.

We ventured down the hillside (about a 15 minute walk/trek) to Lindos Beach just once. Perhaps this is just us but we didn't find the beach to our liking at all. On the occasion we visited we found it be to untidy and unwelcoming and not somewhere we'd venture back to. The surrounding bars on the beach seemed uninviting and we swiftly made a retreat back to the tranquility of Melenos (after the now 20 minute trek back up the hill). Unfortunately, this brings me to my sole critisism of Melenos Lindos. With what we considered to be an unappealing beach and with no pool at Melenos, we had no real options for a local 'dip' to cool off in. And trust me, with temperatures in the high 30's, you need somewhere quick, clean and convenient to have a swim or relax in. I get the fact that fitting a pool into Melenos would be a challenge but if there were even a small plunge pool available it would have topped off a lovely visit to a lovely hotel.

I've no reason to return to Lindos as quite frankly I wasn't too keen on the town itself and therefore unlikely to return to the Melenos. I would however highly recommend the hotel as it delivered exactly what we were after at a price we were prepared to pay. Cant say fairer than that really.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShepDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings for Melenos and Lindos.We are happy that staying with us made your visit in Lindos Special.We do understand that a swimming pool in Melenos would be a must, but unfortunately this is not possible due to the develop restrictions.
We would love to have the chance to welcome you again, maybe during off season when the temperature is a lot lower and the crowded streets of Lindos get empty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at Melenos Lindos from 13-20 June 2012. We had high expectations but were surprised and delighted by this lovely hotel. It is quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in, an oasis of peace and calm above the bustle of busy Lindos, with breathtaking views across Lindos bay and up to the citadel. Everything about this hotel demands superlatives. The beautifully fiurnished suite with a shady and well appointed terrace wsa a joy, but it is the staff who made our stay particularly special. On our first evening we dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the cooking much we dined there every night, the food was exceptional and very reasonably priced compared with other restaurants in Lindos. Altogether a wonderful holiday, we will come again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maureen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for choosing Melenos Lindos for your stay and for considering it as an Oasis as this exactly the way that we would like it to be.We have to try our best at all times to make sure that this will be always your top choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. My wife, six year old daughter, and I stayed here in mid June 2012 for three nights. The hotel is situated in a charming little hillside town overlooking a gorgeous bay. A short walk away is an even more spectacular bay, St. Paul's Bay, which I have to say is possibly the most beautiful spot I have ever gone swimming. The staff at this hotel is so warm and friendly; we missed it here the moment we left. We loved the design of the rooms and all the common spaces. Wonderful breakfasts each morning as well. We ate all three nights at the open air restaurant and had great meals each night. I very much hope to be back here one day again and recommend it as highly as I possibly can.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza111205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

We send you all the sunshine and the blue of Lindos sky and sea to join you until next time we meat again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Our stay at Melenos Lindos Hotel was the hight light accommodation of our three week trip to Turkey and Rhodes. From the moment we arrived Michalis Melenos, the owner, and his tremendous team made us feel as though we were his first and only priority. The hotel is one of the most beautiful, comfortable and naturally well appointed boutique hotels we have enjoyed around the world.We can't recommend it enough for couples, families and friends. It will make your trip to Europe one of a kind!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you for your kind words.We are very happy that you have taken with you our warm welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Melenos Lindos in the beginning of June. The hotel itself is beautiful, charming and luxurious, without being pretentious. The view, the staff and the location are as good as it gets, and it gets pretty good in Lindos. The special Greek breakfast is a treat unlike anything we have ever been offered before. The only problem is that this hotel spoiled us for the rest of the hotels on our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NVoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

We promise not to rest on it but try even harder to improve our services in all levels.Thank you so much .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Excellent hotel BUT

open air restaurant was booked for weddings, , the two nights we were there, with lots of noise till 12pm

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francois243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

We are realy sorry that we did not reached your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel was such a find. We loved everything about our stay there from the warm welcome (even though we arrived very late) to the stunning decor. It's impossible to describe how picture perfect the interior design of this hotel is - at every turn there's an antique, a stain glass window, a colourful batik or artisan tiles. You have to stay there to experience it for yourself!

We stayed in one of the most affordable rooms (room 8) - it was very luxurious. I recommend eating at the hotel restaurant at least once as nothing else in Lindos came close. Try the Sauvignon Fume from the wine list while you're there. Also, be sure to try the traditional Greek breakfast. We left this until our last day and wish we'd tried it sooner. Lindos itself is a very pretty small town with lots of history and two nice beaches (you should try St. Paul's Bay as it's quieter than the main beach). It did feel very touristy at times and we were a little bit overwhelmed by the crowds and number of British weddings happening. However, I think this was because of the timing with it being UK half-term and the jubilee and I guess who wouldn't want to get married in such a lovely place... Melenos Lindos is a little oasis though and was the perfect place to escape the crowds even in the busy season. We'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyjulesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Melenos Lindos offers a refuge through the busy noisy and ...touristic Lindos .This is where you find a secret garden where you can just relax and leave all the outside world and worries aside !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
1.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,363 reviews
1.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.2 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caesar's Gardens Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melenos Lindos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melenos Lindos Hotel

Address: Lindos 85107, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#2 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £181 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melenos Lindos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melenos Lindos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melenos Hotel Lindos
Lindos Melenos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing