We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Great hotel for relaxing and romantic holidays, very friendly and helpful service, authentic rooms and wonderful setting.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katinkaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    35
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
144
417
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

In over 40 years of independent travel all over the world, the Melenos is one of the most difficult hotels I’ve had to review. It is truly a mixed bag.

As with all my reviews, I’ll accentuate the positive.

The Melenos is a very pretty hotel, it’s 12 bedrooms tumble down the hillside, a gentle 5 minute walk below the Acropolis and above the beach at Lindos. It is ideally situated, just a gentle stroll from the village centre and main square where taxis wait and the free buses to the car parks, bus routes and main beach terminate.

Behind the small, dark reception area sits a small lounge bar with stunning views over Lindos Bay, and above the bar the open air restaurant, .covered by a large fabric canopy. The restaurant has the same view over the bay but also views of the Acropolis towering above. There are colourful Merano style glass chandeliers and heavy bronze framed lanterns (more about these later) providing low-key lighting and accentuating the al fresco feel.

The grounds are made up from the potted shrub lined steps and passages as they link the terraces fronting most of the rooms. There are no gardens with trees and lawns as one may imagine from the hotel description. This is after all, Lindos , tightly packed on a rocky hillside.

Rooms 1 and 2 have small adjoining terraces, the views are obscured by the buildings between the Melenos and the beach. Above them is room 3 with it’s large terrace with wonderful views of the bay. Sharing the same area with room 3 are a row of adjoining rooms located in the old arched cellars. Therse rooms are situated directly below the bar and kitchen (more about this later) We were allocated room 5, the middle archway of these rooms with tiny terraces. The sea can only be seen by standing and looking over the terrace of room 3. The other 6 rooms are situated in 2 storey blocks above the night gate and the hotel’s laundry room and to the side of the village school. Room 12 appears to have a larger terrace and views of the bay, 2 other rooms have small terraces with obscured views.

Those staying in the rooms other than the cellar rooms, 4,5 & 6, would have every reason to rate the Melenos straight 5 stars, I can understand 1 night guests also awarding high marks. Short stays make up the majority of guests at the Melenos, in the 3 rooms that joined ours in the 7 nights we were there, 18 different sets of guests occupied them.

Room 5 is very pretty and a reasonable size, definitely not a suite, it has a very firm king bed, with pretty blue canopy, which the housekeeper knotted up to the ceiling after our first night. There is a small desk and an L shaped seating area in the doorway. There is ample storage, a safe, fridge and an old TV set. A pine wall separates off a good sized bathroom and toilet, there are no windows or ventilation in there. The towels are clean and changed daily, but are not new. The bedding was changed every second day with very clean, new bedding. The walls are plain, painted white with a tapestry above the seating area and a long thin decoration along the opposite wall. The door to the room is a large pine arch with small shuttered windows, this makes the room very dark or very public with the shutters open. The air conditioning worked 4 days out of the 7, for some reason it kept slipping into ‘defrost’ mode. Hot water is supplied from a cylinder in the room with an immersion heater. There are 2 choices, one longish-shared or 2 short showers.

We opted for the airport transfer at 120 Euro return which was to be added to our bill. The taxi was waiting for us at the airport and delivered us to the main square at midnight. While Philip transported our suitcases to the Melenos in a tiny pickup, Tsambika, the night receptionist, walked us the short distance to the hotel. There were sandwiches and a cold drink waiting for us.

The night receptionist, bar / restaurant staff and housekeepers were magnificent and any hotel would be proud to have them as employees.

Now for the bad.

Room 5 had loud bumping noises until about 2AM and then again from about 7:30AM, throughout the night there were ‘clanging’ noises. I reported this to Maria, the Reception Manager in the morning, this was received with a blank expression. But at 500US$ per night, I stuck with it and Michaelis, the owner, was summoned, displaying the same blank look. I asked them to join us in the room to listen, but they declined saying they didn’t have ghosts. The next night no change, so we had the same performance on day 2, this time Michaelis sent the cleaner to listen who reported no ‘unusual’ noises. So we investigated ourselves. Those heavy lanterns mentioned earlier, were blowing in the wind and hanmmering on the walls and we watched the kitchen staff banging around above our room in concert with the bumping noises in the room. Day 3 followed the same procedure, again Michaelis declined to come to the room to listen, we asked for a room change but this request was denied. That night the lanterns were removed and the staff instructed to be quiet and although there was some noise until midnight and from 7:30AM, it was now acceptable.

We had expected some noise from adjoining rooms and the village itself, but there was no noise at all from these sources.

That the owner and manager refused to acknowledge the problem or consider alternative solutions was disappointing from a hotel with such a good reputation and at such a high cost. This would lead me to suggest that potential guests should only book single nights or obtain guarantees that they are not allocated the cellar rooms.

Two other watch points: We had pre ordered Champagne for a table we had booked in the restaurant. The food is very good, but cheap local fizzy wine costing 5 Euro was served as Champagne and charged at 35 Euro. On our return taxi journey, we arrived at the main square and our cases were already loaded, the taxi driver, a friend of Michaelis, had agreed to take another couple to the airport as well, despite our objection he took them anyway and charged us 100 Euro for the journey despite having written agreement that the charge was added to our bill, we may not have had 100 Euro in cash at the end of a vacation.

After 3 letters to Marina, the Reservations Manager who actually works and lives is Thesalonika, they agreed to return the cost of the Champagne and half of the taxi fare.

One problem is that the hotel have all your money before your stay, so should problems occur you have no leverage. When the noise problem couldn’t be resolved by the hotel we would have gladly moved to another hotel, but the Melenos wouldn’t agree to this.

This is a wonderfully attractive hotel, it has pretty rooms, grounds and a very good restaurant, but beware the dark side!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Geoffrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We weren't entirely sure how we found this delightful hotel but it turned out to be really special. It is small enough to be intimate and the service is truly fantastic. It is filled with the most delightful people, and objects, all put together by the wonderful owner Michael. He should be very pleased with the result. We certainly were. It is a place to recharge your batteries, wander down to the beach, hike back up and eat the most fantastic food imaginable. The restaurant staff, particularly Giovanni, Eddie and Kristina were ever attentive and professional.
Should you go stay - definately , if you want somewhere special and nurturing. There isnt a view or vista that doesnt have something stylish to look at and nothing jars the beautiful style of the place. It is truly lovely

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkshirebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Having read the recent reviews it is hard to add anything new by way of praise - all of which is fully justified.

We were pointed here by a Tripadvisor expert. We wanted a personally run, comfortable hotel within easy reach of the beach and the town. The Melenos is it.

We got the seven days for the price of five deal and we were upgraded from a double to a honeymoon suite. We ate there on our arrival night but went out every other evening. We knew the food would be good in the hotel but half the fun of a holiday, for us, is trying out new places in the evening - of which Lindos has masses of good ones.

On our arrival night there seemed to be quite a lot of 'music' playing nearby. We expresed our concern and the hotel told us it was a wedding reception on the beach which they had three times complained about. In the event it ended at midnight.

The owner could not have been more apologetic the next day - and it never happened again.

Little things like the mobile phone that you can use if you wander around the town, or around the area in a hire car, are those extra touches that show how much there is attention to detail.

Mr Melenos and his two delightful lady receptionists are true stars.

Lindos is a fun town to visit and the Melenos Hotel adds the icing to the cake.

Tony and Christine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandCFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melenos, Manager at Melenos Lindos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words!

We look forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards,

Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

If you want to feel as if you have stepped into another time and place, then staying at this boutique hotel will do the trick. With an eye for design, color and relaxation, the owner of this small hotel has succeeded in creating an atmosphere that teases you into believing that you have time traveled into another era-another century, actually. From the wonderful beds, to the wall hangings to the magnificent outdoor space over-looking the Acropolis, you cannot go wrong with this find in Lindos Town! The restaurant is also of 5 star quality and was the best cuisine we tasted in Lindos!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at Melenos for four nights in August 2010. Situated just below the Ancient Acropolis and above a scenic bay, Melenos is the only luxury hotel actually located in the Village of Lindos and offers spectacular views from every location. A last minute trip, we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite and met by the wonderful staff in the Main Square of the Village who walked us to the hotel while our luggage was separately transported. The hotel's decor is traditional and elegant. We were provided witha cell phone to call the hotel as needed and asked our preferences for dinner so that they would be available on the menu at the hotel's 5-star restaurant. Because of its perfect location, we were able to walk up to the Acropolis, down the beach, or simply wander the streets of the Village. A delicious breakfast is included. I can't say enough about this hotel - I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Me and my wife decided to spend couple of days in Rhodes leaving our beloved island of Symi, to celebrate our anniversary.
The Melenos hotel has been a great location for our vacation in the vacation.
The place is outstanding, beautifull rooms and great ambience.
The food (especially the breakfast) is great.
Would recomend especially not in August when Rhodes gets a bit to hot, be prepared though to spend a lumpsome!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djcashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
1.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.2 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 33 in Lindos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melenos Lindos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melenos Lindos Hotel

Property: Melenos Lindos Hotel
Address: Lindos 85107, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#3 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melenos Lindos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melenos Lindos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melenos Hotel Lindos
Lindos Melenos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing