We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned once again from sunrise hotel.We have been going for the past 5 years June and Sept we love the location,staff and friendly atmosphere.There are a few nationalities which we love meeting. I would recommend this hotel to couples and families you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s13572000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    96
    60
    31
    21
See reviews for
131
106
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Sunrise many times over the last five years, and are returning in May, we have known some of the staff for over twenty years.As we are both in not very good health it is so nice to have such helpful friendly staff. this hotel is in a beautiful setting for a relaxing holiday,one point I would like to make charges for the sun beds on the beach are a Greek law, beaches are not private and hotel owners are required to pay a tax, so stop moaning!The food is quite adequate not five star, but we prefer to have a small peaceful friendly hotel with very caring staff.If you want a giant complex then go for five star,personally we do not like huge hotels. not many English guests but we enjoy meeting different nationalities, and trying out our French and German and a little Greek. looking forward to May.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Edmund G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a great time here. It was a perfect location right on the beach. cant wait to go back next year. food was ok a little bit repetetive and was serverd mainly towards the french. maids cleaned room everyday hotel was imaculate. every one of the staff were friendly always had a smile. i deffo reccomend this hotel to anyone, its a peacuful relaxing hotel with pefkos ony a 20 minute walk up the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleni T, Manager at Sunrise Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit at our hotel and for your time to review your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you at Sunrise again next year.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Actually stayed in June 2012, no complaints, did exactly what it said on the tin. In a very large room in the beachside block ,a stroll to the resaurant for breakfast and down to the small beach. beer an wine on tap all day then the bar at night. Most of the guests were French, no probs, got on well and had a laugh at the language barrier. A couple of tavernas about a 15min walk on the Lardos road for a change, bus stop outside the hotel 10mins to Lardos. Very relaxing, a big 'THANK YOU' to the manager and his staff total chillax.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleni T, Manager at Sunrise Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so nice to see your comment, especially since you stayed at our hotel 16 months before.
Thank you for your time and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Sunrise.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 10 days from the 28th of August this year with my 18yrold son. We have visited this hotel before a number of years ago when it was half-board and liked the location so much we decided to go back.
There have been some improvements with a new building block and a large area to eat outside overlooking the beach which was wonderful. Lovely beach and beautiful sea as you would expect in Greece. You do have to pay for the sunbeds on the beach but I think at 5 Euros for the whole day and you get a bottle of ice cold water is good value. However, there were sunbeds around the pool that were available but for us the first few days were rather busy/nosiey - so we prefered the quietness of the beach.
We had a perfectly acceptable room on the ground floor overlooking the pool. Its was cleaned every day with fresh towels and the cleaners, as were the rest of the staff very friendly, helpful and polite.
With regards to the food and drink - for us that was fine too..cold beer and red/white wine on tap. So was water/lemondade/soda water/orangeade.. the coke was a little weak. The spirits were good too (for us anyway).. vodka, gin, rum, ouzo, brandy - pick your mixer and they will be fine.
The food was plentiful.. although towards the end of the 10 days was a little repetitive.. but that's what you get on an AI basis. The salads were great.. with blocks of feta...fresh bread,jams, crossiants, eggs, mushrooms, etc. Pasta with either a cheese or tomato sauce. Various meat options (chicken, pork, lamb) and some fish too.. The dessert choice wasnt great... but if you like ice cream, grapes, melon, and a sweet gateau with various flavours (chocolate, strawberry), etc. you will be fine..
The hotel is set in a quiet position - you can turn left and walk 10mins into Lardos or right and 20/25mins walk gets you into Pefkos. Buses seem frequent and stop right outside the hotel..
There wasnt much going on in the evening.. as most of the entertainment was geared up for the French/Germans/Polish/Russians.. but that was OK for us as we were happy to get a drink and just sit either on our balcony or at the bar overlooking the beach and surrounding views.
Very glad we went back and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenday2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from the sunrise hotel . The hotel was very nice and clean and in a good location right on the beach ideal if you like to snorkel. Rooms cleaned every day with clean towels. Food was ok not as good as we've experienced at other all inclusive hotels if you like pork cooked every way you can imagine you'll be fine ,be quick for the deserts as they tend to run out if you're not early for dinner. If you like a alcoholic drink we would advise you do the same as quite a few people did and put a bottle of vodka in your handbag as the free drinks resemble nothing we have ever tasted in our lives pretty disgusting is the only word that fits. We had seen reviews that the hotel was 99% French this was true but a few minutes on the bus and your in pefkos which is great for an evening out .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We've just returned from a week at the Sunrise, and I think much of what has been said is quite right. HOWEVER - no-one should book any holiday, anywhere, without doing the research first, as it is so easy to do these days !

We wanted a week doing very little, with sun, sea, sand and no worries - and that's exactly what we got ! Yes, we were possibly the only English couple there, and no, we don't speak French, but that did not stop my husband from winning his first- ever attempt at Petanque !

We were expecting this heavily-French bias from the reviews and our own research, so we took things to do in the evening, and enjoyed lots of much-needed R&R. We were very impressed with the cleanliness, and the friendliness of the staff - you will usually receive what you give in life !

The food is a little uninspiring, but that's Greece !! I absolutely love the Greek Islands, and have visited very many of them - but I don't go for the food ! Ever !! It is perfectly adequate for a week to ten days, and if you want something very different, then pay double and go five-star !

The alfresco dining is a joy - again we were expecting it, so clearly we dressed accordingly. The dress code is non-existent, so just be comfortable. It's a holiday not a fashion show ! The French will win, anyway !!

The sunbeds around the pool get towels on them by 6.30am, and there are not really enough of them. We chose to got to the beach for three days as it was such a joy and the beds have 8-10 cms of foam rubber, and are lovely, (and the only noise is the sound of waves lapping on the shore). We considered them well worth paying for - five euros each to occupy them from breakfast till 7pm ! (and only till then because we chose to go to the bar for a sundowner, rather than taking it back to the beach - all of two minutes ). The sea is lovely - clean and sheltered, with no risk of being run over by idiots with powerboats etc.

I find all the fuss about taxis very interesting. There is a very good bus service, with the stop right outside the hotel. One Euro 60 cents to Pefki or Lindos. Fifteen minutes. Where's the problem ? We chose to stay out longer, have a meal and enjoy the different atmosphere in both places. Five Euros home from Pefki, and ten home from Lindos. For however many people there are in the car. I think that's a cheap day out !!

The lack of air-conditioning was a bit of a pain, it seems the contract starts on the 15th June, and I do think this should be made clear before booking. We left the patio door open as there are insect screens which seemed to be fine. Our room was on the first floor (Greeks call it the Second, as they don't use 'Ground' as a label), so there is absolutely not the slightest chance of anyone being able to get in. You couldn't do this at ground level. If your room faces the pool, there is a noise issue in the evening, but we sleep well so it didn't bother us. Yes the beds may seem firm, but compared to many in other Greek islands they are feather-soft !

As usual, people complain about things because they are 'not what they're used to'. If this is you - then stay home ! Travel is all about widening one's experience of life, not 'home with the sun out' !! We are considering returning later in the year . . . So enjoy !

Room Tip: Avoid pool-facing room if noise at night bothers you. Avoid ground-floor ('First floor') if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LesleyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
1.0 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
1.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lindos
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Beach Lindos
Hotel Sun Beach Lindos
#12 of 15 in Lardos
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
2.7 mi away
Lindos Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Property: Sunrise Hotel
Address: Pefki, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#16 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise hotel is located just a few kilometers from the historical village of Lindos in Rhodes. The area is called Pefkoi (which means Pine Tree) which is small and colorful.Your experience is completed in our charming rooms. Four different room types will cater to your needs: spacious, most of them with view to the sea and private balconies where you can enjoy moments of relaxation while gazing at the endless blue...All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms, TV, hairdryer and telephone. The hotel offers a large swimming pool with sun beds and parasols. You can enjoy your coffee, soft drinks or even an afternoon cocktail while enjoying moments of refreshment in the cool waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Lindos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing