We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
113
122
80
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
122
80
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshly made pizza private beach friendly barman pool bar delicious cocktails early season mini disco pay euros sea view animation team amazing location enjoyable holiday holiday makers buffet style every evening greek night would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Firstly the staff we lovely reception, cleaning staff bar staff and restaurant staff , the sea view room amazing! The one problem we paid a large amount of money for all inclusive! Do not do this! Only local drinks are free and taste like Diabetes in a cup! The self service beer is good! The food, ok good salad bar! A varied selection of German/ Russian taste preferred food this was not good. I took spending money only to spend it at local restaurants! Very upsetting! They have a daily fresh pizza oven but this is high blood pressure on a plate it is so salty!!!!
The pool and baby pool where great but not very big. The beach I a stones throw away, 8euros each with a free cocktail these were nice!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

My wife and i stayed here from 26th May for a week and had a nice time. The hotel is right on the beach and very nice. You have to pay 8 Euros for two beds with a parasol but you get a free voucher for the cocktail bar on the beach worth the same. The location is ok if you have a car or dont mind a long walk as its not very central to anything but there is a supermarket on site and a bigger one a short walk away. The food is varied with a salad bar everyday but no children's area so no burgers or chips and I think children might struggle a bit especially for 2 weeks..There is an animation team there with kids and adult entertainment and a sports program with zumba and yoga classes. The rooms are clean and of a good size and some have a good sea view so phone ahead and ask for one as we did. All in all its a good hotel that we have been to twice and would return again. On a down side there are many Russians who seem to live in their own world and have absolutely no concept of social grace or manors or have ever heard of please and thank you !. But dont let that put you off going there at all. I forgot to mention that there is a self service bar and they make delicious pizzas there in between the restaurant being closed. We paid £455 for the 2 of us in Whitsun week for the hotel which is a bargain. I would recommend you get a separate flight and pay for the hotel when you get there. Also hire a car from the airport to the hotel so you have a car in the week if you need it.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We were pleased enough with the room. We did have to get things fixed several times (patio door wouldn’t lock, drain in the shower was blocked and flooded the room) but they did fix things quite quickly.

The pool is nice and clean but it turned everything yellow! Anything you wore in the pool will probably be ruined so I’m a bit concerned about what it does to your skin. One of our party has naturally blonde hair which turned green.

The food is not good. Everything was cold. There is very limited choice and it’s the same every day. The best thing to eat was the freshly made pizza at the snack area.

We had a lovely holiday but that was nothing to do with the hotel. We ate out several times at some lovely restaurants but we generally don’t do that at an all inclusive hotel. However, we paid a very reasonable price for the hotel so didn’t mind too much. If we had paid a lot of money we would have been disappointed at the quality of food on offer.

I would say that if you get a cheap deal it’s worth a visit but be prepared to spend money on nice food out of the hotel!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Nicmarsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

To be honest, things didn't start well, with a near 4 hour transfer from the airport (don’t fall for the 1hr 20 minutes on the Avra handout). This was probably due to it being early season, and the coaches have to consolidate the trips, but a warning would have been appreciated.
However, from that point forward, it was just fine, in fact, better than fine. The guy on the desk greeted us with several very dry, but appreciated, ham and cheese sandwiches before insisting on guiding us to our room. Everywhere was quiet, it being around 1.30 AM, and also dark, with the hotel being slightly out of town. The room itself was a family type, with a shower\toilet, small hallway leading to a sitting room with convertible seats for kids to sleep on complete with desk area and fridge, and onwards to a comfortable bedroom. All was ‘open plan’ so don’t expect any privacy if you bring kids. We didn’t, we just wanted the extra room. Beyond the bedroom, through sliding patio doors was a small enclosed sitting area with wooden slatted chairs and a matching table. This faces out in to the central area of the hotel, surrounded on the land side with the accommodation blocks, with a reasonable sized pool and lots of trees giving shade in the hottest parts of the day. This area, along with the rest of the hotel, is very well maintained.
When the sun did rise (sorry, had to get that one in!) the next morning, you really could appreciate the hotels location, sitting against a backdrop of very rugged, fast rising mountains at the rear, and facing out to a crescent shaped private beach in the front. The rest of the facilities spread out across the frontage, with a pool bar, sitting above a beach front ‘private’ bar, a minimarket with all the necessities (except food, just snacks), and then the open plan dining area. Every part of the site is utilised in some way, with a tennis court\ basketball setup on top of the minimarket.
Right, that’s the layout, now the impressions. Firstly, the food. The hotel is completely buffet style, with three sessions, breakfast from 7.30 until 10AM, lunch from 12.30 until 2PM and dinner from 6.30 until 9PM. In between, there are snacks, such as delicious oven baked pizza squares, and always available soft drinks, as well as self service on tap beer (which, as opposed to the usual lower standard beers normally supplied, was of a very palatable standard). The food was very varied, with plenty of choice whatever your taste, and plenty of it. Seating was more than adequate, and your plate disappeared as soon as you emptied t, the staff were excellent in maintaining the dining area. Even nearly empty selection trays were replaced within moments of there even being a hint of the bottom showing through. Its not gourmet eating, but it was hot (unless salad!), fresh and tasty. The view from the dining area is across the crescent of the beach and out to sea, a very enjoyable way to dine, and, especially on this side of the island, maximising any relief from the heat by the breeze.
The pool bar and seating area is the place to sit after filling yourself u with food and needing recovery time. As with all such all-inclusive hotels, the ‘generic’ nature of the spirits and mixers are a take it or leave it type of experience, though the ouzo wasn’t bad. If you want the more standard service with recognisable names and tastes, just pop down the stairs either side of the pool bar and visit the rather claustrophobic bar down below. The pool bar closes at 11.30 PM, the other bar at around 1PM (unless busy!). The staff at both bars are excellent in their service and conversations, to be expected really, as the father runs the downstairs bar, and his son upstairs.
Should you want to go for more variety, Pefkos is around a 20-minute walk away, or 8 euros there, and 6 back, in a taxi which reception will order for you (takes around 10 minutes to arrive). Plenty of variety, but I would recommend a visit to the Rock Garden should you venture forth.
During the day, if you’re not a pool fan (or not quick enough to get your towel on a sunbed in the best slots), I would suggest spending the day on the beach. A sunbed will set you back 8 euros for two all day, but you are within 4 strides of a gently shelving walk in to the sea. There is adequate shade provided by the parasols set in to the beach, and, while we were there, more than enough space for you to have your own little piece of paradise. However, this would definitely not be the same when the kids arrive for the school holidays, and, judging by the extra sunbeds being delivered wile we were there, they were expecting a LOT more people! The beach is kept as clean as possible, with a clean-up ‘crew’ working late in to the evening to pick up the litter left by those with no obvious understanding of responsibility. Its a great place for kids to enjoy the sea in safety, and there’s even a small playground area for the smaller ones to play in safety.
Overall, it was for me a perfect, refreshing break, which even the nightmarish transfer couldn’t spoil, and I would recommend the Sunrise to anyone who just wants to chill (although it does get VERY warm there!). Finally, it would be remiss of me not to mention the staff, they were friendly, outgoing and efficient, with nothing too much trouble for them.

Room tip: Grab one of the family rooms for more space.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank LeChatN0ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

beautiful a perfect relaxing getaway staff that can't do enough for you perfect location for the beach pay 4 euros for a sunlounger each and get a free cocktail worth 8 euros bar staff are great Yannis bar a nice young man very helpful and his dad stellios who works in the cocktail bar by the beach all the staff are great we had a problem with transfers and reception phoned the transfer people and sorted it we will be coming back next year would be going back this year put booked Lanzarote in January if carlsberg did holidays this is the one trust me

Room tip: ask for seaview
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jtrev008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews