We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful if booking here!”
Review of Rafael Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rafael Studios
Certificate of Excellence
N.Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be careful if booking here!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and myself stayed here last year (Aug 2011) and booked again in April to stay 29th Aug to 5th Sept to meet up with friends we had made last year. I also e mailed the owner, Antonio 2 weeks before arriving requesting a high floor and his son Rafael replied saying "dont worry about your room everthing is OK. When we arrived we were told very abruptly by Antonio, "you're not staying here, no room". After a long hot bus journey this is not what we wanted to hear.

He just waved his arms in the air and shrugged his shoulders saying don't blame me it's the company at fault. He said he would call the company (Helenas 2, they sort your room through your tour operator) I asked to speak with them but he then said they are closed. He spoke to someone on the phone and 10 minutes later a man came to pick us up and take us to HIS apartments 3 miles away in Pefkos.

I asked Antonio for the number of Helenas 2 and he didn't realise that the piece of paper he gave me was a copy of the e-mail sent to him by the company confirming our booking, dated April!!! Not 2 days before.

I spoke to the Helenas 2 rep the next day and she told me they would have to have another strong word with Antonio as this was happening more frequently. It transpires that to maximise his occupancy Antonio takes private bookings. If he then realises he is overbooked he calls one of his mates who has room and you have to go there, doesn't matter if you don't like it.

Our friends that stayed there said it happened a couple of times during their week there. The worst episode being when 3 men and 2 women turned up and Antonio just sat down saying no room here and laughing. One of the men told him not to laugh and pushed/slid one of the plastic chairs across the floor, Antonio then picked it up and hit him over the head with it. They then traded punches and his son ran from the kitchen with a carving knife trying to get the man!!! Their luggage was then thrown over a fence and they had to run to the car to make there escape! This really upset other guests with some running crying to their rooms.

As previously stated on other reviews. This place is in a nice quiet location but if Antonio continues to be greedy he will lose business in the end.

During our and others ordeal Antonio never apologised once. Would we stay there again? NO CHANCE

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a certain room as you may not be staying there anyway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwpaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    41
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
116
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was perfect for couples and people wanting a laid back relaxing holiday.The owner Antonio and is son Rafael were polite and easy going. There is a snack bar on the grounds and the food is really nice,especialy Antonios greek salads and homemade bread :) The studio was clean and tidy,and just a lovely basic place to stay. The beach and village is about a ten minute walk away but i enjoyed the walk,we would defo go again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rache1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

If your looking for a quiet relaxing place to stay for your holidays then this is it.We have never stayed anywhere as peaceful and quiet as this.The owner and his son were always very polite and helpful,the apartments were spotlessly clean,the pool was also very clean and the whole hotel in general was very well maintained.

It's a long walk from the town centre,but i like a good walk especially after eating a meal,and didn't mind walking the steep hill from Lindos every night back to the apartments,however it may be a bit too much for some people who may prefer to use one of the taxis you can find in the little square near the town centre,it's a small fee of 5 euro's back to the apartments.

Theirs a small shop just a short walk from the apartments should you require any groceries,but we found the store further along near the main road to be slightly cheaper.It's not often we say we would return to anywhere we have stayed before,but i think we will definitely return to the Rafael studios one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scowy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We staied here for 3 nights,in August.
The hotel is well manteined and the pool area is lovely and very clean, really good to relax after walking in Lindos town.
The position is perfect:close to everything you need but far from the crowd of the busy Lindos centre.
The studio we had was cleaned every day and the owners were very helpfull and cats friendly.
We will surely be back !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZAMY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just got back from staying here for 5 nights. Great location, lovely and peaceful - have no faults at all. The owner Antonio always said hello and was very accommodating. The walk down into LIndos is much better than the walk back up! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinihammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We booked these apartments about 3 weeks before we left and were pleasantly surprised by how good they were for the money we paid! The pool is excellent, everything is clean; the only downside is the aircon......you need air con in the summer but it was so pathetic!! The only downside though! The location is good and having the cats is so cute! Say hello to them and the donkeys!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great location, apartment and pool area. Really tranquil and the reason for that is largely the deliberate absence of kids so not the place for you if you have a few in tow, which unfortunately for me means I would go elsewhere. Otherwise though, a great place if you are a couple or on your own - would really highly recommend it. Air con is an essential though - take it from someone who thought they could do without!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the ground floor room which was located at the front and end of the block - it provided a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#11 of 30 in Lindos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caesar's Gardens Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#2 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafael Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafael Studios

Property: Rafael Studios
Address: Lindos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rafael Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rafael Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafael Studios Hotel Lindos
Rafael Studios Lindos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing