We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinkers Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindos Athena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you are happy to stay up drinking in the bar until anything between 3:30 and 4:30 or be kept up until that time - then this is the holiday for you, but if you were hoping to get some sleep, then stay clear. This place is for the party goers, it’s not for anyone looking for the peaceful holiday.
Lindos is a lovely place, the hills will keep you fit and there are no worries about mosquitoes but with regards to the Lindos Athena, I have to say – you get what you pay for. I just wish I had paid a bit more and gone for one of the others!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar, although it is only a small complex, you may not miss the noise at...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 32Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Lindos Athena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was our first visit to Lindos and we shall certainly be heading back in the future. The Lindos Athena hotel was a very friendly and welcoming place to stay and the owner Theo seemed very helpful even carrying our bags to the room. The hotel is perfectly situated, only a short walk away from the centre of Lindos and an even shorter walk away from the Ice Bar - which is a lovely place for drinks and food on evenings. The gardens at the hotel are beautiful and very well kept and the pool area is very clean and tidy. Overall a fabulous location for our holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend to our friend and family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LFJ2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our third visit to the Athena in the last two years and this year we decided to let the kids (17 & 19) tag along for their first visit to Lindos. We had originally booked two weeks for ourselves and the kids holiday was booked later joining us for the first week of our stay.
We were a bit unsure at first as it's always been really hot when we have stayed previously and thought the kids might not like the heat.....wrong! they absolutely loved it and want to go back again. They got their first taste of the Athena's bar and the fantastic range of drinks that they serve and had made new friend almost from the moment we arrived.
Once again everything was great, we were shown to our usual room by Theo and then headed to the bar, I think we ended up going to bed around 4:30am had a few hours kip and then hit the pool for a lazy day. We had planned lots of things to do for the first week showing the kids as much of Rhodes/Lindos as we could manage but we still managed a morning or two on the main beach and an afternoon by the pool,however, most nights we were in the village at one restaurant or another. By the time they went home on the late Newcastle flight the following Wednesday Mrs R and I were worn out and we didn't get up out of bed until nearly lunchtime!
For our second week we basically cabbaged around the pool or down the main beach in front of Panos, we were too tired to do anything else :-) it was great just relaxing and doing nothing apart from eating, drinking and meeting friends.
It's always great to meet the friends we have made since we started going to the Lindos Athena, Theo, Peres, George,Takis & Simon and not forgetting Athena (mama) and finally our newest friend Marvin (don't call him Mario)
Everyone finds their favourite place to stay in Lindos and the Athena is ours, I can't see us staying anywhere else, we now call it our second home, so much so that we're back there again in September for a cheeky week and looking to book next year already!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AndyRVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

my wife and i stayed here last week based on other reviews we read on here. And we were not disappointed in the slghtest it was a very friendly place to stay, clean, tidy, lovely pool, good pool side food, good cocktails and brilliant staff. its a good walk to the beach in lindos but well worth it.plenty of good places to eat in lindos town. the BBQ / karaoke on sunday was really good. Big thanks to Theo and his gang excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here this month for 7 nights. The rooms as previously mentioned are basic but very clean with cleaners coming almost every day! The rooms had everything you needed! The gardens itself are beautiful! Our terrace was covered in amazing pink flowers. The apartments are very quiet and the pool area was relaxing with minimal children. You can hear a constant sound if grasshoppers and god knows whatever bugs... You have to try your best to block that out! Some cats and hedgehogs hovering around too. The lunch is great, you must have club pita(MUST)! Theo is great. Sunday BBQ has good food and great community feel.

The location was good! Yes there is a hill but the hill itself isn't the problem... It's the speeding cars, bikes and endless amounts of donkey poo ( be careful in the nighttime). Lindos is beautiful! Dionysos is the best resteraunt! Avoid Alex's, bad, unnattentive service.

Overall we had a great holiday and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KaylaRM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from the Lindos Athena, having stayed for 7 nights...We landed late on Wednesday, Instructions were left on the desk to approach the pool bar, which we did to find proprietor Theo behind the bar, we received a friendly welcome and free drinks... after a while we decided to officially check in...
We had booked a two bedroom apartment, these are located on the ground floor of one of the accommodation blocks at the rear of the complex, typical of what you might expect in Greece, we found the accommodation very spacious indeed, Ideal for a family or party of 4.
Each bedroom had Air Con, which was a blessing, basic crockery was provided, along with 2 ring electric hob.

Security Safe and Air Con locally charged at 10 and 50 Euro per week.

The room was clean and well serviced, our room was the last on the block and was quite private.

Although we did not use the on site facilities, the hotel has lovely gardens, nice pool and sun loungers next to the bar which is the central hub for meeting fellow guests and staff.

The hotel is located on Krana Hill which is 350 metres from the 'Bus Station, Main Supermarket for area, the beach is then downhill from here passing through Lindos itself. would suggest getting a simple map to make life easier. LIndos has plenty of restaurants, gift shops and tavernas to choose from.

We ate out on 4 evenings, Namely The Ice Bar (50 metres from Bus Station), Alex's and Dionysos in Lindos itself. The latter two are next door to each other in the heart of the village, most restaurants boast a roof terrace, usually with excellent views of the Acropolis.

We had Starters, Mains and Carafes of wine costing between 60 - 75 euros as a guide (2 pax)

However we do recommend going to Pefkos and eat at the Enigma, which is 50 metres from the Taxi Rank. The ambience was very nice, choice of areas to dine in, well presented tables with white linen, friendly staff, We were impressed by the flavour and presentation of the dishes, actually had dessert too and plenty of wine, there are dishes to suit every budget, we found the food to be the best we had, although price wasn't an issue, the Enigma was best value.
Bread and Dips (2), Starters (2) Mains (Sirloin / Grouper) Desserts (2) and 2 litres of wine cost us 65 euros

General Prices in Rhodes are:-
Wine 12 -13 euro litre, Mythos 3 euro bottle, Cocktails and spirits 5 euro upwards

We hailed a taxi from Lindos Bus Station to Pefkos, costing 8 euros, quick and simple, the bus costs 1 e 60c each. Do the maths yourself ! then a taxi back to the hotel gates, 8 euro.

I do believe Pekkos tends to be cheaper than Lindos generally.

Back to the Athena, On a Sunday there is an Optional BBQ and Karaoke night, 13 euros if you book a place..Tip of the day, get a place near to the BBQ, and beat the initial queuing, we decided to be polite and wait until last, missed out....
The Karaoke was a great way to hear some classics get murdered, which as the night progressed, the slaying increased, but it was fun we laughed amongst ourselves..

Overall we had a good time at the Athena, Theo and his family do a great job in carrying out his late Father's wishes of providing a great Lindos place to holiday

We booked this on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and feedback from Travel agent, The Athena does get a lot of return guests year after year, just by speaking to fellow guests we established this....If I was to come back to the South of Rhodes, I would consider staying again, just for piece of mind. It is what it is, does what it says on the can, If you want bells and whistles book elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had Room 202, furthest away from bar and pool, least likely to get passers by, This is a two bedr...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank DANIEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at two in the morning 25th June 2014 and was met by Theo the owner at the bar who offered us a drink on the house, the appartment was minimal but more than adequate and clean. The two bed appartments don't have the best view but wonderful banana plants, gardenia's, flora and fauna. Air conditioning was better in our room but the teenagers room was suitable and they didn't often come in at night till early hours! The appartment terraces were fairly large and we had washing lines which were a god send for our constant washing of swim wear which dried quick in the heat 46 degrees apparently one day. TV was not great but we weren't there for that! The bar is the hub and can be open till 5am so bring ear plugs in case near that area or light sleeper. the pool is nice not big but great if not too many people. I would say more of a place for couples or families with older kids and there seemed to be people that had stayed many times before one couple we're going to have there wedding there. Supermarket next door which was very handy. Lindos Athena has other hotels nearby who always welcome others and the nearest bars including the ice bar is a ten minute walk towards the town which is another ten minutes all down hill and It is harder coming back up the hill but a taxi is only 4 euros and far less arduous. Lindos is lovely loads of lanes, shops selling all manner of souvenirs, china, glass, clothing etc ranging from cheap to designer. Lovely restaurants and bars, great desserts. We are at Medeast, Hermes, Maria's, Ice bar, all great and in Lindos all the restaurants have roof top dining with a view of the magnificent Acropolis. We went on two excursions, water park which was clean, plenty of food areas and rides and the time of year we went no queues and we went to Rhodes by boat and returned by coach, lovely just wish we had spent more time there as the boat takes 3 hours and a taxi is 70 euros on way. Check out the taxis as they have price boards and they can be very reasonable as are the buses which are frequent. The only disappointment was Thomas Cook who were brilliant when we booked our trip but not so great with 3.5 hour delayed flight, no rep on the coach that we sat on for an hour before it left for our appartment in the early hours of the morning or the trip home which again was delayed and one of our suitcases which was I thought hard plastic was smashed up on the way there not surprising the way they hurl them into the plane!! Anyway fab trip otherwise, memorable. My daughter and her friend are now linked to the
Lindos Athena on Facebook so that they can check out those they met. So hello to the lovely Izzy and her sister and a lovely couple we met on the boat with the beautiful baby Georgia "Bonkers"!!!!

Room Tip: We had a two bed appartment which was more than suitable, maid service approx twice, clean towels et...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaff43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.1 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#10 of 30 in Lindos
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#11 of 30 in Lindos
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Athena Hotel

Address: Lindos - Krana | Rhodes - Greece, Lindos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lindos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lindos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#15 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: £21 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lindos Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Athena are family run apartments set within beautiful gardens on the top of the gem of Rhodes island... Lindos village ! The apartments are designed in a Greek traditional style with a nice swimming pool area and a pool bar on their side. Only 10-15 minutes walk away from the center of Lindos were all the magic begins!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lindos Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Athena Resort
Lindos Athena Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing