We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Ranked #3 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place is wonderful!!! After 5 days in Sicily, which was very busy, we arrived at this jewel in Fungaia. It is in the most gorgeous location that is so peaceful you will not want to leave. Claudia and Carlos are so welcoming and kind, they make you feel like you have just come home. Attached to the B&B is a small church that is stunning. The villa is beautiful, with pots of geraniums everywhere, (Claudia even told me her secret to getting beautiful geraniums!!) Upon arrival we were shown to our room, which had the most beautiful view and large and beautifully decorated. She immediately brought us water and wine and then told us all about the house and the area. She made dinner reservations for us at Castle Monteriggoni and it was EXCELLENT!!
Claudia gave us a map and books of the Tuscany area and told us all her favorite places and drives. We took all her recommendations and were not disappointed!! They were all perfect!!!
The B&B is away from the busy places, but close enough to visit all the places we wanted to see, and at night it was nice to come back to peace and serenity! We would sit outside at night and listen to crickets and look at all the stars, it was heaven!!
Claudia and Carlos are like old friends who know all the best places to go. You can visit Siena or San Gimiangio, or you can walk their beautiful property, it's up to you!!
Breakfast was yummy, eggs, meats cheeses, fresh fruit or cereals are just some of the choices. You can sit outside and enjoy the gorgeous view while enjoying your breakfast.
Our first day at breakfast there were some bees and Claudia came out and showed us the most amazing trick to get rid of them. Tuscany bees love prosciutto and she put down a bowl with some prosciutto and the bees went there and left us alone!!
My only complaint about the stunning B&B is we did not spend enough time there. We wish we we had booked more days just to spend one just lounging by the beautiful pool or the hammocks doing nothing!!
We hated leaving, but got a big hug from Claudia and promised we would be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Claudio and Carlo are the best hosts we have ever stayed with. They catered for my gluten intolerance and the breakfast is delicious and you can take fruit and nibbles for your day. The rooms are big and beautiful, and they suggested both a wonderful wine tour and an excellent dinner venue for us. Don't book anywhere else in Tuscany-stay here and then like this review so others know.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-in-the-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Had a wonderful stay here during our 2.5 week Italian honeymoon. Loved it so much that I really didn't want to leave! Really have nothing but positive things to say about this beautiful place. Owners were very welcoming, giving us a tour as soon as we arrived and offering plenty of information about the local attractions/had good suggestions for our itinerary since we had limited time in Tuscany. They have a whole library of tourism books (in a variety of languages) available to guests, which we found very helpful. Room was very nice - clean, spacious, comfortable bed, large bathroom with all the comforts of home. Only place we stayed in Italy that had wash cloths! It's the little things sometimes. ;) Good wifi signal in our room which was also helpful. We felt the most comfortable/welcomed here than at any other B&B we stayed at in Italy.

Breakfast was wonderful with a great variety of items offered - something for everyone. Claudia made us eggs to order with local cheese that was delicious. Best B&B breakfasts we had during our entire honeymoon. Eating outside on the patio was very relaxing and a nice change of pace for us during our busy trip. There is a charming one room chapel right next to the house that Claudia opened up for us to see. The house is located up a quiet dirt road - we had no trouble finding it though since Claudia sent us good directions ahead of time with GPS coordinates to plug in - made it easy!

We traveled all over Italy and this was hands down, my favorite place that we stayed. Close to Siena and within reasonable driving distance to many Tuscan villages. No hesitations recommending this B&B to others. I only hope that I'll be able to return for a longer stay someday! Thank you Claudia and Carlo for your wonderful hospitality! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealtorE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

La Canonica di Fungaia was an absolutely magical place. It was a little hard to find, but when you see the gorgeous 1600’s farmhouse with the serene backyard (which is too wonderful to describe) you will feel like you are in a dream. The location was only 15 minutes from both Siena and Monteriggioni and a great place to use as a home base while exploring all of Tuscany. Claudia and her husband were so sweet and did everything they could to make sure we had a wonderful stay. I looked forward to breakfast every morning in the yard with a wonderful spread of food and coffee and juices. While we were there, Claudia’s grandson Adriano was staying with them and he was the sweetest boy and such a joy to have around. You really felt like you were staying at a friend’s house…if your friend owned a villa in Tuscany!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with its own private entrance and sitting room. We loved having our own staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This place fully lives up to its rave reviews. Historic property, gorgeous scenery, abundant charm, and gracious and knowledgeable hosts--a great base for exploring the surrounding area. My only regret is that we didn't walk the nearby paths and investigate the adjacent medieval town. Next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a fabulous stay here with Claudia and Carlo two years before. This time we returned with 2 friends of ours and stayed 6 great nights. The B&B was just super again and once again Claudia and Carlo were awesome hosts! This property sits at the edge of a large natural park area and has a number of trails which we have hiked. It has a simply awesome view of Siena and the surrounding area from its hillside site. Sitting just a little ways north of Siena and near Monteriggioni it's a great base for exploring areas such as Volterra, the Chianti region and also places to the to the south of Siena such as Montalcino and the Crete area. The accommodations are well furnished. Claudia and Carlo are available and always happy to make suggestions and to help with any reservations for nearby restaurants and attractions. We cannot wait to return since we have only scratched the surface of this area of Italy.

Room Tip: Nice roomy corner suite has views and seating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troutman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Claudia and Carlo are exemplary hosts.

My friend and I rented a car in Florence to get to the La Canonica di Fungaia and unfortunately despite our best efforts and our rental car's gps, we got lost. We stopped at a small pizzeria and Carlo was good enough to come and get us and guided us back. We were very grateful. Once we arrived Claudia showed us our room. The rooms are big and immaculate. Breakfast is an experience unto itself. Just wow. Fresh squeezed juices, thermos of American coffee, espresso, dozens of teas, homemade cakes and pastries, local cheeses, prosciutto, salami, yoghurts, breads, croissants, eggs made to order blended with fresh local cheese. Your table is situated outside facing the Tuscan countryside.

We stayed two nights and spent one day visiting Sienna. When we got back we decided to open a bottle of wine we bought in Montalcino. Our corkscrew broke and Claudia offered to give us a bottle of her own wine. I declined and instead got some pliers and removed the cork with a little help from her brother in law. When he saw my wine, he told Claudia that it really needed some proper glasses and so Claudia went into her own dining room and returned with some beautiful crystal wine glasses. Thank you so much Claudia. My friend and I sat out by the pool and enjoyed the wine and listened to the crickets and watched the stars. There is wifi by the pool too (they just realized it could reach that far).

You will love La Canonica di Fungaia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zipz503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
1.1 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
205 reviews
4.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#4 of 11 in Monteriggioni
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
556 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
6.0 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Canonica di San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Canonica di San Michele

Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy (Formerly La Canonica di Fungaia)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B La Canonica di San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Canonica Di San Michele Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing