We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Ranked #4 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fantastic surprise- we were upgraded to a larger room. The room was lovely and spacious. Very friendly hosts. Offered suggestions of where to visit and eat. We would definitely stay here again.Excellent breakfast. We enjoyed the serenity and closeness to Sienna

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

June 2012... After driving the dirt-road to Fungaia, we were stunned with the beautiful house that is La Canonica di Fungaia. At first we thought we had the wrong address, but yes, you should drive to the smal church. The church of Fungaia is in fact on thesame property.

Fungaia itself only housed four families while we were there. It was being renovated (Italian style, so it may take some time). You have nice hiking and cycling tracks around.

From a terrace you can see Siena in the distance, which is only a 15 minutes drive away. In the other direction you have the little town of Monteriggioni, also about 15 minutes away.

And in between, at La Canonica, you have utter silence where you can rest, relax in various lovely spots and even hammocks, have a nice swim at the pool, or sit in the common living room.

Claudia & Carlo are perfect hosts and did everything to make our 2 days here just perfect. We were truly being spoilt. Originally they are from Rome, so naturally they have first hand information of that city, but they have lots of recommendations for the local Siena area. One of their sons is a professional photographer, his photos can be found on the walls... you should check www.tommasogalli.it for more.

Breakfast is so much and lovely you want to try everything (but if you do, you will pop out of your pants/skirt/dress). It is not possible to have dinner here, this is a good opportunity to visit Monteriggioni (ask Claudia for recommendations).

The rooms are very nice and traditional decorated, with a very good and clean bathroom. Thanks to the thick walls, it was pleasantly cool (no airco available, but not necessary despite the 35+ degees outside).

All in all a little gem to come back to!

NB: We left a (bookcrossing.com) book here for other Dutch travelers to enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siejoepuntnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our stay of three nights at la canonica was a beautiful experience and one that we will treasure always. The hosts claudia and her husband were so warm and welcoming and she gave us so many useful suggestions on the routes and eating places that made our self drive leg of the tuscan countryside throughly enjoyable.
The rooms were impeccable, clean. Breakfast place was a cute fairytale-ish room and the soft n cheesy scrambled eggs served by the hosts along with dried chilly pepper was to die for :)
We would definitely love to return for another stay someday. .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aasavari13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Out of many greats night in Italy, this was our favorite! The location is on a secluded, forested, hilltop, and is ideally located to easily visit some of the best of sights of Tuscany. Siena, the Chianti region, Montepulciano, and Montalcino are easy to day-trip from here. The rooms are quaint and very clean. Sitting on the back porch at sunset, among the garden, drinking wine and Carlo's homemade limoncello is as good as it gets. The breakfast was outstanding, my wife loved the nice little touches that Claudia had everywhere. Wandering around the medieval buildings, including the attached church, was one of those lifetime travel moments. You'll find other B&Bs that are fancier, but none with better a better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZonaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a great place !!! We were here for 5 nights and it was fabulous. Fungaia is basically a 6 house village so you are in the middle of nowhere and can enjoy the peace and quite but it is a really central location for easy trips to Sienna, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni and the Chianti region. We also had a really nice day just exploring the local area as there are some nice walks from the La Canonica itself. Claudia and Carlos are wonderful hosts - couldn't do enough for us - including a load of washing ! They gave us plenty of great tips on places to go, restaurants and directions for walks etc. Claudia also gave us a tour of the church which is part of their property - simply stunning. And the breakfast eggs are definitely a must have. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Hope to get back in the future, a must stay if in Tuscany.

Room Tip: We were in the Crete room as it had a separate sitting are. This was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg-342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place is wonderful!!! After 5 days in Sicily, which was very busy, we arrived at this jewel in Fungaia. It is in the most gorgeous location that is so peaceful you will not want to leave. Claudia and Carlos are so welcoming and kind, they make you feel like you have just come home. Attached to the B&B is a small church that is stunning. The villa is beautiful, with pots of geraniums everywhere, (Claudia even told me her secret to getting beautiful geraniums!!) Upon arrival we were shown to our room, which had the most beautiful view and large and beautifully decorated. She immediately brought us water and wine and then told us all about the house and the area. She made dinner reservations for us at Castle Monteriggoni and it was EXCELLENT!!
Claudia gave us a map and books of the Tuscany area and told us all her favorite places and drives. We took all her recommendations and were not disappointed!! They were all perfect!!!
The B&B is away from the busy places, but close enough to visit all the places we wanted to see, and at night it was nice to come back to peace and serenity! We would sit outside at night and listen to crickets and look at all the stars, it was heaven!!
Claudia and Carlos are like old friends who know all the best places to go. You can visit Siena or San Gimiangio, or you can walk their beautiful property, it's up to you!!
Breakfast was yummy, eggs, meats cheeses, fresh fruit or cereals are just some of the choices. You can sit outside and enjoy the gorgeous view while enjoying your breakfast.
Our first day at breakfast there were some bees and Claudia came out and showed us the most amazing trick to get rid of them. Tuscany bees love prosciutto and she put down a bowl with some prosciutto and the bees went there and left us alone!!
My only complaint about the stunning B&B is we did not spend enough time there. We wish we we had booked more days just to spend one just lounging by the beautiful pool or the hammocks doing nothing!!
We hated leaving, but got a big hug from Claudia and promised we would be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Claudio and Carlo are the best hosts we have ever stayed with. They catered for my gluten intolerance and the breakfast is delicious and you can take fruit and nibbles for your day. The rooms are big and beautiful, and they suggested both a wonderful wine tour and an excellent dinner venue for us. Don't book anywhere else in Tuscany-stay here and then like this review so others know.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-in-the-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
4.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
945 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#5 of 11 in Monteriggioni
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
398 reviews
4 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
570 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casalgallo
Casalgallo
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Canonica di San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Canonica di San Michele

Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy (Formerly La Canonica di Fungaia)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: £75 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B La Canonica di San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Canonica Di San Michele Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing