We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to be”
Review of Borgo San Luigi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgo San Luigi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Borgo San Luigi is a outstanding place for your holiday. The service is fine, the breakfest is fantastic and the environment is quiet and perfect. The diner is good but the quality vs price is not in balance. The room was top. Overall we have enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review we will try to miglioare our catering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This property is enchanting and authentic. rustic charm meets genuine service. we stayed ten days and rented a coar to explore the Tuscany hills,wineries. Monteriggioni, Siena, and beyond to Florence, Piza. The staff was delightful and the food and wine fantastic. Pool, fine dining, good selection of cocktails, spectacular setting and convenient location. we even booked a quadrunner tour of the outback and neighboring areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks to our location: central and not far away so many beautiful locations to visit and to "taste." Thanks for the nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very well located resort to explore the beautiful Tuscany. Very friendly staff, always aiming to please . When we arrived we discovered that we didn't have a terrace. According to the receptionist (who was very friendly and helpfull) it would be very difficult to change the room because the hotel was fully booked. Our room in the villa was very spacious with a large bathroom which had been renovated last winter. Two days later the manager asked if everything was ok ... and I mentionned that our stay would be perfect if we had had a terrace. The day after we could move to another room outside the villa with a very large terrace with lying beds, chairs and table ....bathoom was a little less ( some mold and small ) but that could not spoil our satisfaction. Great service ! Good restaurant. Our stay was perfect ! And if it is up to our 17 year old daughter we'll be back next summer ..

Room Tip: Rooms in the villa have a very large ,bathroom with all the necessary modern facilities ( were renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia19652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review, when you book us know immediately wanted a room with a terrace not all of our rooms have this benefit. We look forward to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hello,

I spent with my family a very nice holiday in your resort start with beginning of August.
It was great: location, accommodation, breakfast, staff, vines….and more and more others...
Thank you San Luigi, Thank you Toscana, great job, keep the way.

Catalin Pitiga

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you, Thank you and thank you again for your review. We will continue so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Arriving at Borgo San Luigi we couldn't help but admire the beautiful cypress tree's lining the entrance way. We were impressed by the pool and grounds which were set with lounge chairs under shade trees, as well as sitting area's under awnings surrounding a lovely pool. The rooms are spacious, especially for European standards, as we had a family room with a pull out sofa for our girls. The bathroom was small but adequate. We found the bathroom needing attention, as we had mold growing on the shower walls and a moldy shower curtain that obviously needed replacing. Food in the restaurant was fine, although not the quality we came to enjoy throughout the region. The hotel is situated in an area that makes exploring Sienna, Florence or the Tuscan region a good central point.

Room Tip: Loved the first floor room that included an outdoor sitting area overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAFEastAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We reported his observations to our director and we hope that on his return everything is settled. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you plan to arrive at night, we recommend that you ask the hotel for driving instructions. We used their instructions and had no problem finding the hotel. The hotel facilities and grounds are excellent and well maintained. The hotel is very quite and peaceful where the rooms are located and the pool and restaurant area are laid out nicely for social times but well away from the rooms. The hotel is a converted farm complex and it has been done tastefully, striking a good balance between having the necessary modern conveniences while still giving the guests a feeling for how it was hundreds of years ago. All hotel staff were very helpful in every respect and always tried to make our stay pleasurable. The hotel is centrally located for exploring the Tuscany region. There is easy access to good roads leading to all parts of the region. We enjoyed our stay at the Borgo San Luigi so much that we will definitely stay here again when we return to soak up more of the beautiful Tuscany country side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cider24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for leaving your comment, confirm that it is not easy to reach us without proper guidance or a good Navigator, but then when you get there you understand that we are in the midst of nature and surrounded by greenery
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is rated as a four star,however it does not in my opinion rate even three star.The location is remote, the grounds are acceptable,but the rooms are tired and need refurbishment.The restaurant was not up to standard and the food was very mixed,some good some not so good. We had been told by a travel rep.that the breakfast was one of the best in Italy.The reality for us was that it was "the worst breakfast set up" we experienced in our 2 weeks in Italy! not helped by the fact every morning nothing was displayed in the same place as the previous day.
I would not return to this hotel again and the staff were in general not very customer orientated, with a take it or leave it attitude.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilbheDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We are very sorry for the "worst breakfast" and all the rest that you have mentioned in your review maybe your expectations were too different to be met.
I would to invite you again but it seems obvious that you will return no more. Thanks again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
2.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
579 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
979 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
207 reviews
7.7 mi away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
401 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Luigi

Address: Strada della Cerreta 7 | Loc San Luigi Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Price Range: £46 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Luigi 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Luigi Relais offers 73 rooms, most with private terrace or garden, allowing a pleasant stay in the heart of the Tuscan countryside, near Sienna. The five buildings making up the original seventeenth-century structure, in the midst of the 60.000 square metre park that surrounds the hotel, have been restructured respecting their original architecture. Due to its remarkable location, between Sienna and Florence, the hotel is a perfect starting point to visit a territory celebrated all over the world for its incomparable natural and artistic heritage, not to mention its food and wine.Borgo San Luigi Relais offers a choice of rooms, including Suites, Junior Suites, Deluxe and Classic Rooms, found in the different buildings within the park. The entire complex follows a rationale that encourages outdoor living, and most rooms therefore have a private balcony, terrace or garden. Guests may thus experience moments of total relaxation and peace in the open air, while enjoying total privacy.!!!!The architecture of the hotel rooms has been preserved in the original structures, with furnishings remindful of ancient country houses of the nobility. Every detail has been carefully considered, period furnishings and textiles have been chosen and matched with flooring in traditional red Tuscan tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo San Luigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Luigi Hotel Monteriggioni
Borgo San Luigi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing