We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, friendly staff”
Review of Borgo San Luigi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borgo San Luigi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Borgo San Luigi is situated on beautiful property. The staff was very helpful with booking us a local wine tour as well as getting us directions to our next hotel an hour away. The restaurant on the premise provided tasty food at a reasonable rate. They were opened until 930 which was extremely helpful since we didn't want to eat until 830 or later. I would rate the rooms 3 stars. They were large but haven't been updated in a long while. Our room also smelled of cigarette smoke which was likely embedded in the couch and curtains. I would definitely return again but ask for a smoke free room if they are offered.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for your comment, we reported your comments to our manager and the next time you will be given a no smoking room.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
There are newer reviews for Borgo San Luigi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a lovely, magical place. Beyond words. We will definitely come back. The staff was wonderful, friendly, helpful, made us feel special. The grounds were manicured and spotless. A very good location for touring Tuscan towns. Don't miss out on staying here.....

Room Tip: ask for a room with a patio
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

's great to receive so many compliments we too feel special thanks to you. We are waiting for you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our week at Borgo San Luigi was perfect. We stayed at Borgo San Luigi as we toured Tuscany and it was an ideal place to stay. We always looked forward to returning to comfortable rooms and beds. In fact, we all decided to buy beds similar to San Luigi's when we returned to the USA! Staff was professional and treated our stay as though we were family. We loved waking to the silence of the countryside. The restaurant was excellent and served many of the Tuscan specialties. We would highly recommend Borgo San Luigi. September was a great time to be there.

Room Tip: We loved the cottage rooms far from the main villa. Our neighbors were hardly noticeable even in th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your nice review, we're happy that Borgo San Luigi and Tuscany likes you. Come back soon to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Borgo San Luigi

My husband and I selected Borgo San Luigi as the main residence for the Tuscany phase of our family's holiday in Italy during the summer of 2013, and we could not have been happier. Everything about this property evokes this enchanting region. You get the feeling that something special is in store from the moment you drive past the main gate through the cypress-lined driveway leading to the reception center. Our two connecting rooms (2 adults and 3 children) were lovingly appointed with period-style furnishings as well as modern conveniences. All rooms also have a terrace or garden. The tasty meals in the restaurant are preceded by a wonderfully varied buffet of appetizers. The property is ideally situated for day trips to Siena, San Gimignano, Florence, Montalcino, and other Tuscan destinations. The large pool (with diving board) offers a welcome break from sightseeing during the hot summer days.

I must also mention the especially solicitous and efficient hotel staff, who cheerfully welcomed us upon our arrival late at night, ensured that we were fed (even though the restaurant was closed), and attended to all our needs during our stay. Upon our departure, the front desk also went so far as to help us to arrange for the details of the return of our rental car at our next destination.

We look forward to returning to the Borgo San Luigi soon, and would not hesitate to recommend this property to our clients and friends.

Nella's World Travel, Inc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellasWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for the many appreciations, we still expect the

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stunning place. Excellent service. Excellent food. When we arrived we parked at the foot of the drive and walked up to reception. The receptionist got someone to get our car as she showed us round the grounds. This is the kind of service money can't buy! Food was absolutely terrific. Try the truffle noodles!! This deserves full star status. Already looking to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartenyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for letting us his review with so many good positive note, come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The tour bus can't drive through the front entrance because it is not meant to be. The entrance lined with tall cypress trees. Rooms are decorated in Tuscany estate style. It was an old villa turned into hotel. My hand luggage broke when I arrived the hotel. It was missing a sc rew. I would ruin my whole trip if it was not fixed. I asked the hotel manager for help and he sent a maintenance person to look at my luggage. He took off the other screw of the handle and went away to find a matching screw. Later he came back with an exact match and fixed my handle! I was so grateful. They had fresh baked gluten free bread for me every day and every meal. All I need to do was ask. They also had a gluten free corner at breakfast. Their fruits and tomatoes were locally grown so they were the best. The pool was nice and the whole surrounding was just so tranquil. We loved the hotel. We had a small room (No 5) next to the hotel lobby. Our room had no view but it had a cabinet that was actually a hidden stove top and dish washer. The room had a little fire place. It had everything we needed. Some other tour members had rooms that overlook the lawn and pool. But we were grateful for what we had. Thanks to the hotel manager and the maintenance person, my trip was fine the rest of way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor and have view of lawn and pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alang-alang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

The place is nice and the hotel as well, our guests are pleasant, just like her. The manager greets her and invites her to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

As we were driving down the road through a somewhat industrial area, I thought, what have we done? But once we arrived at the property, I was more than pleased. The openness and beauty of the property won me over. We had rooms in what was formerly the stable but you certainly couldn't tell it. They were clean and nice. I would love to see what the rooms in the main lodge were like. Rosella at the front desk was outstanding! She helped us in every way possible. Marco the bartender was wonderful. Since there was not much of a crowd, he actually set us up a table in the bar and served us dinner personally so we could sit under the lighted arbor. Way above and beyond the call. We were centrally located for day trips to Sienna, San Gimiagno, Volterra and the wineries. Tuscany did not disappoint

Room Tip: Although the rooms in the stable area were good, I would ask about the main lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Rossella and Marco thank you for having mentioned in our review and we are happy that Tuscany has not disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
3.9 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
547 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,242 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,309 reviews
12.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Luigi

Address: Strada della Cerreta 7 | Loc San Luigi Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Price Range: £48 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Luigi 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Luigi Relais offers 73 rooms, most with private terrace or garden, allowing a pleasant stay in the heart of the Tuscan countryside, near Sienna. The five buildings making up the original seventeenth-century structure, in the midst of the 60.000 square metre park that surrounds the hotel, have been restructured respecting their original architecture. Due to its remarkable location, between Sienna and Florence, the hotel is a perfect starting point to visit a territory celebrated all over the world for its incomparable natural and artistic heritage, not to mention its food and wine.Borgo San Luigi Relais offers a choice of rooms, including Suites, Junior Suites, Deluxe and Classic Rooms, found in the different buildings within the park. The entire complex follows a rationale that encourages outdoor living, and most rooms therefore have a private balcony, terrace or garden. Guests may thus experience moments of total relaxation and peace in the open air, while enjoying total privacy.!!!!The architecture of the hotel rooms has been preserved in the original structures, with furnishings remindful of ancient country houses of the nobility. Every detail has been carefully considered, period furnishings and textiles have been chosen and matched with flooring in traditional red Tuscan tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Borgo San Luigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Luigi Hotel Monteriggioni
Borgo San Luigi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing