We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Nearby Hotels
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel(Monteriggioni)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Montarioso(Monteriggioni)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castel Pietraio(Monteriggioni)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Loggia - Villa Gloria(Quercegrossa)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Rotonda in Chianti(Monteriggioni)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais la Costa(Monteriggioni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo San Luigi(Monteriggioni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monteriggioni(Monteriggioni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casalta Hotel(Monteriggioni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
155
72
23
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
72
23
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan gimignanomid octoberbright roomamazing viewsbreakfast roomwe loved our staytwo nightsan easy drivebeautiful settingtuscanyproximitybasevillagebarbarawinerymap
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The rooms are a good size, clean and authentic which was perfect for our first Tuscan experience. The views from the room were picturesque. Breakfast was one of the best we had during our 3 month European vacation. The gardens are filled with fruit trees and wild life. You need a car if you are staying here as it is a little secluded but this is exactly what we were after. The only restaurant in Strove (a five minute walk from the hotel) was one of the best places I have evert eaten at.....WOW!!! The pool area is very relaxing and in such a fabulous setting. The staff are very helpful....Our air con was broken on the first night and the staff upgraded us for the next 2 nights. Be sure to buy some of their olive oil at the front desk before you leave.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank copperpot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very charming and pleasant hotel. We stayed for 3 nights with our little son (3 years old). There is a nice swimming pool and plenty of space for kids to play around the olive trees, down the street there is a playground and a supermarket. We had a nice suite with a small kitchen and a huge balcony facing the breathtaking tuscany landscape.
The location just is perfect for day trips ( we went to Sienna, Firenze, Volterra, San Gimigniano). You are at the very center.
For the price (not really expensive) you get what you've payed for. Some minor problems such as: room phone wasn't working, and you must take your room key with you when you intend to get back after 10 pm as nobody is at the reception to open the door....
Service is also rather slow, there isn't much staff working there as it is a rather familiar and small hotel.
Staff was helpful to recommend and book restaurants (the 2 restaurants they recommended were superb: 'Il Pozo' and 'La casa Alta').

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 790estelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It was a little tough finding the hotel but once we got there we were very impressed with its natural beauty. Antonio welcomed us and at first we had reserved the suites which were larger than we needed for the two of us. Antonio accomodated our request and placed us in a room with separate access up a staircase facing the pool and breakfast area. This room had its own private patio with beautiful views of Tuscany. The room was great, the air conditioning worked well and the room was always clean and comfortable. There was a Coop grocery store within walking distance and the location was easyily accessible to the Autostrade highway taking us to many other locations in Tuscany. Antonio provided some excellent recommendations to other towns to visit and we truly were able to appreciate Tuscany from this location. Breakfast was great and we were able to enjoy some operas at the castle in Monteriggioni which was close by. I would definitely recommend the Castel and stay there again.

Room Tip: I believe the room number is 19 at the back of the hotel facing the pool. We sat out several nights and enjoyed the sunset from the patio .
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vacationers921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed in the Bigozzi self called Relais in August this year. The room was big but the furniture was like from a hospital. It had an old sofa and a table in a quite big uncharming room. The castle is not that bad, the swimming pool has a broad view of the countryside surrunding the hotel and the breakfast is good. The service however is below anything I have ever experienced weather in cheap or expensive hotels: I was leaving the hotel at 11:00 0´clock in the morning and I asked if I could have a late check out. They said it was impossible because there were guests comming. So far ok. So I asked if they could keep our luggage because we wanted to have lunch at the hotel and if we could stay in the swimming pool area for the lunch. They answered that I could not stay, I could not have lunch in the hotel and that we should not leave after 11:00 because there were people comming!!!!!!! I have never experienced such a bad approach in any hotel. Very unpleasant, unfriendly and I will never return, and I liked to share this experience because this uspests your day in a holliday trip.So avoid Castel Bigozzi!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent 5 nights here during the first week of August. We had reserved a triple room with breakfast. It was actually a 2-room suite with en suite bathroom and a private patio.The bedroom was air conditioned, dark and comfortable for sleeping. The second room had a pullout sofa, small table and chairs and a kitchenette. It was not air conditioned, but the owners brought us a fan that worked well enough for our daughter to sleep comfortably since the evenings were very pleasant. There was a Coop Market right down the road, and my husband walked down a couple of times to buy meat, cheese, fruit, wine, and bread. We used the little kitchen to fix lunches and hors d'oeuvres, which were consumed on our private patio - also a good place to stargaze before bed. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a charming room that also had covered outdoor seating available. The pool was well kept and surrounded by shady areas to read. Needless to say, we loved it and would gladly return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio, that added alot to our visit.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maroonedcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews