We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, clean and comfortable”
Review of Castel Pietraio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel Pietraio
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Calm, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful few days at Castel Pietraio. We stayed in a small but comfortable apartment, with a kitchen/living room and double bedroom, located in the old castle. What made it so special was the small shared terrace immediately outside the room, built into the ramparts, which was a perfect place to eat in the mornings and evenings. There were also shaded outside seating areas in the courtyard immediately below. The whole place is kept exceptionally clean and is maintained very well. There is no restaurant for lunch or evening meals, but you can pay for breakfast. So in this sense it's more like a B&B or collection of apartments - perfect for families. We paid for breakfast on the first day, but afterwards it was more convenient and cheaper to make it ourselves. The location is superb: less than 10 minute drive to Monteriggioni, a few minutes drive to villages with small shops and excellent restaurants (e.g. the Futura Osteria in Abbadia a Isola, where we had our best meal in Tuscany), and 25 minutes drive to Siena. The pool is large and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    30
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
75
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights in this wonderful corner of Tuscany north of Sienna, east of of Volterra and SE of San Gimignano. Great base for exploring the countryside and wonderful trails in this area for hikes. The accommodations were comfortable and we had a corner room with beautiful views of the surrounding fields. The rooms are not in the main building but a beautiful stone structure adjacent to it. The breakfast room is in the main building. Gabriella and staff were great and very helpful with suggestions. We tried to cram too much touring into a short stay and would love to have stayed longer. Unlike others we managed to find the place (in daylight) without much trouble using the directions provided and a good map. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We thought we might have trouble finding the Castel Pietraio and we did, but not as bad as we anticipated. Once we found it we were delighted that in fact it really was a castle. Very charming.

Gabriella, the manager was very friendly, gracious and made sure we knew how to access
the building at night. . She was most helpful with restaurant information as well as nearby villages to visit.. Having a manager who is so welcoming and informative is a major plus.

It is truly a Castle with a Knight in Armour standing sentry in the reception area. This could certainly be used for a movie site. Unfortunately, the weather prevented us from using the pool, on the other hand the weather added to the mystic and charm of the Castle

The rooms have all the modern conveniences as well as wifi. The room furnishing are definitely four star ! Breakfast is served in one of the buildings and consists of a buffet with fresh fruit, juice cereal, selection of cheese and meat various pastries coffee/tea.

I highly recommend the Catel for a two night stay and visiting the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, MD
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Our week long apartment stay in the medieval castle, Castel Pietraio gave us the modern comforts of wifi and television in a setting of thick stone walls and beamed ceilings. We found the location perfect to explore the Tuscany region from Volterra to Chianti and down to the hill towns of Montalcino and Montepulciano. Gabrielle took the time to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay at Castel Pietraio. It was a pleasure to open our windows every morning and look out over the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahAnn1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Spent two nights. Nicely appointed & very clean. Staff was excellent, especially Franca--she was the highlight of our stay. Enjoyed their wine. Very nice breakfast presentation & service. Good location for the region--very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weregonnago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The location alone makes this a great place... surrounded by grapes & sunflowers, 10 minutes to Siena and 45 minutes to Florence... add the charm and antiquity of the main castle, the well equipped apartments, the pool surrounded by fragrant lavender, the friendly and accommodating staff and the quaint walled village of Monteriggioni only 2 minutes away and this can't be beat. We've been twice on family holidays, and it's a great place from which to explore Tuscany!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnelson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Yes, the place is a bit difficult to find - even with GPS AND a map we had to have the innkeeper direct us via phone. She was charming and helpful, even gave us an impromptu tour (including the dungeon!). The room was terrific and the room was large enough for a nice table where we sat with our wine looking out over the spectacular countryside. Excellent breakfast and great wifi too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvia_m0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
2.8 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#4 of 11 in Monteriggioni
91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Monteriggioni
Hotel Monteriggioni
#6 of 11 in Monteriggioni
173 reviews
7.0 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#7 of 11 in Monteriggioni
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Pietraio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Pietraio

Property: Castel Pietraio
Address: Strada di Strove 33, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monteriggioni
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Pietraio 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to spend a holiday immersed in an uncontaminated nature, respectful of the environment,in a place where daily activities follow the rhythm of sun and seasons, Castel Pietraio has got an older part of its building with comfortable elegantly furnished rooms and apartments. The place also comprehends the park extending as far as the wood, a 9 x 18 metres swimming-pool with solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castel Pietraio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Pietraio Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing