We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite spot in Italy!”
Review of Relais la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais la Costa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We decided to stop in Tuscany at the last minute for a couple of days. My daughter wanted a pool and I wanted a stop in the countryside (enough driving in cities!). The Relais la Costa is WONDERFUL. I'm easily lost, but I did not have any problems finding the place (GPS + signs = no problem, don't worry about those comments!). Angelica, the cook/overseer, is wonderful. My daughter said if she could have an extra grandmother, she would want it to be Angelica! When traveling with a 5 year old, you are sometimes overlooked as not interested in fine wine and good food. Not the case here - we were treated like absolute royalty despite there only being the two of us there! Dinner was fantastic - even catering to us being vegetarians despite the last minute notice of our arrival (booked the day before). Angelica made my daughter a to-die-for hot chocolate of all things (I didn't even know gourmet hot chocolate existed!). The pool was not open, but the jacuzzi is HUGE and just the right depth for my daughter to use it as a pool (and for me to relax! What a treat!). The room was beautiful - I could have happily moved in. The countryside is lovely and Siena is at most a half hour away by car - lots to see and do. We will definitely return to Relais la Costa on a return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Costa R, General Manager at Relais la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Madam JW

What a wonderful review. We are very very glad to read that your stay was so nice as you expected, or maybe more. In general we like surprising people and make them love the place as it is really unique. There are no words to express Angelica's enthusiasm for having the little princess here. As you already have written, she put in everything her grandmother's heart but still more when she has children around, and please allow me to tell you that your daughter is really cute and amazing as also her mother’s kindness
We will remember you for a long time, and we will wait to see you back, hopefully very soon

Big hugs from grandmother Angelica

Thank you again


Eglantina Ruko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

The traditional Tuscany style hotel is actually newly-built but looks like it's been on the hillside for years. Yes, it's hard to find until they put up signs, but worth the up and down turns with the GPS.

Other than breakfast (end of October) we were not offered dinner and naturally the pool is closed. However we occupied 2 rooms in our own wing and it was a dream. Seems infrastructure issues are common in Italy - the internet was down during our stay - being disconnected just added to the aura!

Beautiful views and close to amazing places to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeEllHerzliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I booked the room after seeing the pictures on the Tripadvisor. On the way to the hotel we stopped by Siena which was about 1 hour away by car. It was a national holiday and in Siena there was a three day celebration of Assumption Day and we had a good time there.

I had booked about 6 hotels for our whirwind tour of Italy, France and England so I did not read the fine prints that the check-in time was between 3:00pm-6:00pm. At around 7:00 pm I received a call from Gabrielle that the hotel check-in time had passed. Then, it dawned on me that it was one of those hotels which did not have a 24-hour frond-desk.
We left Siena at around 8 and reached Relais La Costa a little before mid-night thanks to the GPS direction which led us astray and got us stranded on a gravel road in the middle of nowhere.
It was quite an adventure with no street lights and all the GPS giving the wrong directions.
At long last we re-read the direction on the hotel web site and decided to follow the direction which turned out to the only direction which helped us reach the hotel.

Gabrielle and Angela were there waiting and waving for us on the ground. They gave us a very warm welcome. There was no airconditioning so at night it was a little warm but it was still cooler than Venice or Rome. The kitchnette was very nice with silverware and china in the drawers and it felt really homy.

The next monring I took a walk around the premise and the view of Tuscany was gorgeous.
Only if the hotel website had special advise to the travelers regarding how to get to the hotel and to really heed those directions...

But, at the end we were quite pleased the hospitality of the staff and all the wonderful touches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_maung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

First of all, I am writing this based on our experience. We have booked a room in Relais La Costa in last minute and was glad to see a positive feedback. It is very hard to find for almost everyone. You have to have a car to get there. They get calls from guests asking directions all the time and sometimes the manager had to pick them up. They were no sign on the streets and that makes it even harder to find. The manager said that they are just waiting for the approval of the municipality to put up their signboard. The team was very very warm and welcoming. The manager, Gabrielle Brum (I'm not sure if I spelled it right), is very good and would have a success in Sales. He has excuses for everything which makes a good thing for the company, I supposed. We were welcomed by him and was offered a sliced of homemade pie which was very delicious. The check-in was pretty fast. He gave us some information of the hotel/villa. We booked a one-bedroom apartment which costs us 324euros for 2 nights. We were given an upgrade for Two-bedroom apartment because the rest of the one-bedroom apartment was occupied. The apartment is big with a fire place. The kitchen is well-equipped which we didn't use (such a pity). There was no air-conditioning but you can open the window and have some fresh air. On our first night, the manager asked us if we want to have a dinner at their small restaurant that costs around 30euros or 35euros per person (I'm not sure about the exact amount). We were welcomed by Michaela at the restaurant. She is very friendly and warm. The food was cooked by Madam Angela. The food was very very delicious especially the starter (see photo). We were traveling by car and visiting a lot of places so we have decided that once we are in Relais La Costa, we will have a massage. We have reserved for the spa circuit costs 35euros per person and a massage (75euros per person if I am right) at 10 am the following day. When we were on the way to the spa, much to our disappointment, we were stopped by the manager and informed us that they had some problem with the spa and the water from the jacuzzi heated pool overflowed. He said to give them another 30 minutes of waiting time. So we decided to just chill to the pool. At around 11am (one hour after), we have decided to check if the spa is ready and he said that just a minute more. As much as I wanted to cancel the whole thing, we still have waited. After that, he showed us the spa and give us some information and go on with our relaxing time. The massage is actually good. After using the spa circuit and massage, we went for a sight-seeing. We had a fun day until we came back to the apartment. We arrived back at 11pm, and there was NO WATER! We went to see Madam Angela who are living in the hotel/villa and she speaks in Italian telling that the water will be back soon. We only had one big bottle of water which we use for brushing our teeth. I left the tap open so I will know when the water is back. To my dismay, it came back only at 7am. I was very upset because I didn't sleep well. Believe it or not, no shower, goodbye to good sleep. But worst of all, it also meant that there's no water for the toilet. So when we have checked out, we were actually waiting if the manager is going to say anything about it. To my dismay, it was like nothing has happened. I asked him what happened and was told that the there were some technical problem so the entire area has no water supply. If he has stopped by then, I would have accepted it and let go. But he said, and our reserved water tank wasn't full because we were not ready and he wasn't informed about it. He said he asked Madam Angela to give bottles of water for necessities but to my disappointment, didn't actually reached our apartment. He didn't apologized in any way not even by at least telling that he was sorry for the inconvenienced. After paying a 308euros for the spa and dinner (plus 324euros for the one-bedroom apartment), he offered us a bottle of wine. I guess that's his way of saying he was sorry or he gives it to all the guest - that I wouldn't know. Though, the hotel/villa itself is nice, because of what happened with the water supply and other small details, I am not sure if I would recommend this place. I am very sure that you can find a lot of accommodation in Tuscany with warm service (Italians are very friendly, welcoming & warm). They are not there yet where they would want to be. This was all based on our experience. I hope that it doesn't happen to anyone anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This place goes to my Top 10 hotel experience. The historical stone house is beautiful and nicely hidden in the greens of Tuscany. The hotel is extremely clean with all the modern necessities to make our stay enjoyable, while keeping the building as original as possible.

We are a group of 7 with children, the staff and managers took great care of us, and responded to our request with prompt action. The manager settled us in our room and took his time to make sure we are comfortable with the hotel. The only comment was the lack of air conditioning, which was a bit hot during the summer heat, but this issue was quickly fixed by the manager.

One highlight was when asked for a couple of fans in our room, the manager drove to Siena himself and brought us the fan we asked for, so we could sleep better in the evening.

Unlike some other hotels, the pool is very clean. Great for the kids.

Overall, the staff contributed the most to our great experience. Thanks again for taking care of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Love love love this place!
Me and my hubby found this pearl from a list of hotels as a gift from a friend, and what an amazing gift that was!
The hotel is made of several separate apartments, all part of a historical complex that has been lovingly restored. The apartments are comfortable and decorated in simple Tuscan style, modern but keeping up with tradition. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, shame we didn't get the chance to use it.
The location is to die for, in the heart of Tuscany, close to Siena, but feeling like you're a world away from everything else.
We also enjoyed the pool, with a super view of the Tuscan hills and immersed in complete peace.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the manager spoke very good English. We didn't try the spa treatments.
Breakfast was very nice, typical Italian with fresh cornetti (croissants), fruit, muesli and some cold meats.
I would recommend this place for a romantic getaway, and to anyone visiting Tuscany.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kookystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eglantina R, Direttore generale at Relais la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
3.9 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
942 reviews
2.9 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
566 reviews
13.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Monteriggioni
Hotel Monteriggioni
#6 of 11 in Monteriggioni
181 reviews
13.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#5 of 11 in Monteriggioni
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais la Costa

Address: Strada Di Riciano 32/34, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Price Range: £114 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais la Costa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical dwelling Relais La Costa is enclosed by the enchanting Senese hills and the flourishing greenery of the wood that surrounds this abode located a few steps from Monteriggioni. The natural bent for hospitality dates back from the Middle Age, when pilgrims used to stop here during their journey along Francigena Road. Now Relais La Costa gives a unique experience to its guests, thanks to the very big suites, the Spa and the outside swimming pool; this is the perfect place where to restore your soul. The taste of the typical Tuscan cuisine triumphs at the Relais restaurant: here you can discover the genuineness and the deliciousness of traditional flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Costa Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing