We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, lovely place”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Really lovely hotel with lots more than you need. Rooms are gorgeous and huge and clean. Our room had a huge sliding door with a balcony. My one complaint is that we were told it was a lake view room, and whilst you could see the lake from the balcony, it wasnt quite the view we were expecting. It was over the side and across the road.

The receptionist was on duty pretty much all the time we were there and she never stopped smiling and being polite.

Limone itself is quaint and pretty- but I would recommend to go In the summer season as we found many places in the village were closed.

Overall lovely. The spa is an added bonus and a proper pampering treat. The jacuzzi is just amazing. We loved this place!

Room Tip: Make sure you use the spa. You wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veggiefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a short break to see the lake. Hotel is great very clean and quiet. There are sun terraces with loungers dotted all over the hotel on each floor which means that we were able to get a terrace to ourselves most days. Pool area is smaller than the photos imply but still good although a bit crowed - even so we were able to get to sun beds together for a cool off in the pool after sightseeing.

Location is a very short walk to Limone centre and very convenient for ferry to Malchesine.

Limone old town is lovely and the hotel Palme does great mussels whilst you sit looking over the lake.

Previous comments mention reception staff being rude but we had no problems at all and everybody was very nice.

Restaraunt looked a bit dated and the breakfast was very basic but the view from the rooms and being able to walk into town very easily made up for this.

We hired a car rather than the long bus journey or expensive taxi and the hotal has underground card parking with ample spaces.

All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable trip

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esjay143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I first wish to take issue with contributor char029 from Huddersield in UK. We too are from the UK and live in London and we are very widely travelled, particularly in Europe and the United states, so we know a bit about hotels. If it was us that the contributor heard that morning, permit me to clarify that we were most certainly not having an argument, we were merely trying to pack our luggage and get ourselves ready as we were checking out that morning.
"no one in the hotel speaks English" is as indicative of perhaps prejudice as "Most guests were German". In fact everyone at the desk was supremely courteous and everyone spoke good English. As for the guests being German, I do not know what nationality the contributor would have preferred instead but, having travelled through much of Germany ourselves and stayed in hotels in several towns there we have nothing but praise for the kindness, politeness and helpfulness of all the German people we met.
The road outside was an absolute joy to view from our balcony, as well as the rest of the views of the lake and the mountains all around, it was never, by any stretch of the imagination or fantasy noisy. As for our balcony, it was both private and peaceful, we certainly did not spot anyone with binoculars in the hotels in the distance spying on us but if the contributor did, perhaps they did attract such unwanted and unpleasant attentions, luckily for us we did not.
Nor was the internet expensive. We brought our own computer and used it every day and the flat daily broadband rate was very reasonable.
We have only the best memories from our stay in Hotel Alexander and the town of Limone, we all agree it was a wonderful holiday and we would very strongly urge anyone to stay at the marvellous Hotel Alexander when in Limone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Versipellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I recently stayed at 'The Alexander' with my husband whilst visiting Lake Garda.

The positives of the hotel are as follows:
- very near car ferry to Malcesine, - short walk to main restaurants/bar on evening, - nice swimming pool, - large spacious rooms with balconies, - ajoining 'Al Pirate' restaurant does nice food relatively cheaply, - underground parking available, - breakfast basic, - sauna, gym and steam room facilities are free and very nice

The negatives are:
- no one on reception speaks English, - we were awoken in the night by a couple having an almightly argument in the room next door, banging, shouting, what sounded like someone being attacked, it was absolutely lhorrific! I was awake from 5am scared to death in my bed. We rang reception, it took 1 hour for the people to be removed from the hotel. The hotel manager lives in Verona so there was no one official to report my complaint to! Plus the lack of english speakers made it very difficult. We received 2 cappacinos as a way of apologising for the inconvinience.
- most guests are German, - the hotel has a busy road wrapped around it so it is rather noisy, - the hotel is overlooked by various other hotels which means sitting on the balcony is not private and peaceful, - internet expensive

Do not choose this hotel for a romantic break on Lake Garda. It reminded me of being in a resort like Cala D'or in Majorca, not quaint as I had hoped. x

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Char029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed at this the Hotel Alexander for three nights towards the end of July. The hotel itself is in very good condition, very clean and spacious and in a good location about 5-10 minute walk to the main centre. The rooms themselves are large with plenty of storage, a safe, a fridge, good air conditioning and a balcony. There is a separate toilet with a sliding door and the shower cubicle and wash basin is in the room itself! We paid for a deluxe room which came with a semi lake view but as has been mentioned in previous reviews this also looks onto the road and in our case was directly above the pool area on the 1st floor. I guess it depends what your after but there is very little privacy and you cant help but feel a little exposed!!

We paid 540 euros for three nights B&B which in reflection was fairly high for what we got. However if you can get a good deal I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat8223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We found this hotel on the internet and from the dealing with the travel agent, it seemed perfect. When we arrived the hotel seemed to have everything, great rooms, good pool, ideal locatality and a restaurant
The views were spectacular, the room had air con, a safe and was big enough to fit all 4 of us in. The shower was in the room, rather than tucked away in a wash area? It also leaked onto the wooden floor, which could be considered dangerous. We had a rather large cockroach on night in the toilet area and a tile fell off the wall. But the cleaner was superb, the reception staff were also very good, the restaurant guys were fabulous.
However the mangeress was awful, one night ignoring us whilst we waited for our room key and then when I asked her for it, she shouted at me for interupting her, she was updating FBook???
Most of the staff and facitities were good, but no one in a 4star hotel should shout at anybody!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russellnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Before I booked my trip through Expedia, I read all of the Trip Advisor reviews and hoped that it was going to be as good as the other reviewers had written. Well..when we arrived - my expectations were far exceeded! The hotel is beautifully! Our room was spacious and well furnished...the hardwood floors (instead of carpets) gave the room a 'light' and airly feel to it...our balcony was superb - private with a sturdy (not plastic) round table and three chairs..with a lovely lake view...the beds were very comfortable - lovely fluffy duvets (quilts) and pillows...fresh linen every day and, somehow, our room was alway cleaned as soon as we went down for breakfast. We even had a mini-fridge in our room that was empty so that we could fill it with our own drinks from the supermarket just 200m away, rather than pay mini-bar prices. The breakfast buffet was extremely copious, as well...all sorts of cold meats, cheeses, eggs, croissants, cakes, breads, juices, cereals, etc... The Al Pirata restaurant has an absolutely lovely feel to it and its pizzas are rather good too! There are other 4 or, even, 5 star hotels about in Limone, but I consider this one to be the best for many reasons: 1.) The Alexander is slighly at the end of the promenade and away from the waves of tourists - but, it is close enough, i.e. a 5 minute stroll, to the lakeside beach and promenade. 2.) The other 4 star hotels like the Azzurro feel a bit posh and stuffy, whereas The Alexander has the benefits of a 4 star, but with a casual, relaxing feel to it. 3.) There is a supermarket just a 2 minute stroll from the hotel and this was very useful when we wanted to just sit at our balcony and watch the world go by while drinking an inexpensive bottle of wine or two or an unlimited supply of very affordable beers... If there was a downside to the hotel, it would be that the swimming pool is not heated and that means that you have to be brave enought to jump right in and get use to the water - once you are in....it is great and with the sun shining on your face and the beautiful view from the pool - you will wonder how you got lucky enough to be in such a beautiful place! By the way - other hotels like the Panorama and The Limonia are ridiculously far from the promenade and practically not even in Limone...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelseatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#27 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Via Lungomare Marconi 58, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £73 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Alexander Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing