We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian provision”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegetarian provision”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I have just returned from week's stay at this hotel , my impressions of it are mixed . On the plus side it is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed .
The vegetarian food on offer is dire - supposedly there is a vegetarian menu , but it is woefully inadequate and it is hit or miss in quality ,if provided as ordered ! If you don't want 57 variations of cheese , then forget it ....In spite of asking for information on the contents of mixed salad dishes on the salad bar , I got no reliable answer - an issue for those with allergies as well as vegetarians I imagine . An early start required a breakfast bag , in spite of requesting a vegetarian content my bag contained two ham rolls ......

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    133
    65
    32
    16
See reviews for
57
229
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Location of the Hotel is just what we wanted (there were eight of us aged from 84 to 30 years old) as it is just up a slope from Limone central and took some 8 mins to walk back to the hotel - less than 5 mins to walk down into Limone. The Hotel star rating means very little as such ratings vary from country to country. What the Hotel offers externally is a good sized swimming pool (with pool towels provided by reception) some 4 feet deep throughout so great for non-swimmers and swimmers alike, an open air jaccuzzi that we used as a couple, plenty of tables, chairs, sun loungers and sun shades, and a free underground garage for you to keep your hire car in the shade.

Then just a minute further up the slope (not really a hill) is a small but well stocked supermarket where we bought fresh bread, cold meats and cheeses to make up packed lunches for a few euros each.

Internally the Hotel is well presented and inviting, with reception staff who speak good english. There were a few times when the reception desk was empty, but staff would appear within 5 mins to help and answer questions. Althought the Hotel does not have room service, we would walk to the bar and order tea/coffee/drinks and these would be delivered to the pool area or lounge area. There is a fixed price table d'hote restaurant where you have to book a table the night before at reception, but we never ate there. We ate every night in Le Pirate a la carte restaurant, with a wide variety of food and drink, cooked to perfection, and served by a terrific team of waiting staff with excellent english. The restaurant has very tall and wide opening doors that allow you to eat outside or inside. Our Hotel account for dinner for two, with drinks, for seven nights was just over £210, £15 per person, per night.

Breakfast was included in the bedroom rate and was taken in Le Pirate. It was a wonderful experience at the start of each day with a wide selection at the buffet, continental style. It took a little time to get the tea service as we like it, with cold milk and sufficient tea bags, but overall breakfast was very good as already stated.

We had four bedrooms in total, all of which were a good size with effective air conditioning, needed as we had temperatures between 26 and 32 degrees, and balconies with a table and two chairs. They had sofas to relax on, two good sized beds (twin beds are the norm), great storage, a fridge, and we had no problems with the shower cubicle and wash basin being 'in' the room, whilst the toilet and bidet were in the separate bathroom. The room maid was a star, fitting in with our 'comings and goings' keeping everything clean and stocked up.

All of our party of eight had a wonderful stay, none of us had been to Limone before, two of us had stayed in Sirmione and near Malchesine, and the Hotel Alexander is to be thoroughly recommended as being a great place with super staff, an excellent a la carte restaurant, and one of the best locations in Limone.

Well done Hotel Alexander.

Room Tip: There are bedrooms above Le Pirate where you hear the music below - starts at 7.15 am and stops at 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Plymothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Limone is a gorgeous little town, with plenty of charm. All the visitors tend to keep themselves to themselves which makes it feel very clean, safe and peaceful.

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Alexander in September 2011, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The whole time we stayed I kept saying to him I couldn't understand why anyone would leave a negative review of the place! We had a superior room which had a partial lake view, however we found a more spectacular lake view could be found on one of the 4 sun terraces. For the most part we had these to ourselves, apart from the odd couple coming up to sunbathe. They were very quiet and provided a lovely vantage point from which to look out over Lake Garda. We never struggled to get a sun lounger the whole time, even though there were lots of people 'reserving' them with their towels. The pool was lovely, and quiet when we used it (during the afternoon).
The clientel seemed to be middle aged and older couples, we didn't see a single child or family the whole time we stayed (however this could be because we went during the school year). We (mid twenties couple), were the youngest there.
The hotel staff all spoke excellent English and German (as most people staying were German), from the reception staff to those working in the ajoining restaurant Al Pirata. Speaking of Al Pirata, the photos the hotel have taken are a bit misleading; it is a lovely place, whereas the pictures make it look dark and dingy, it is bright and open with lovely wooden flooring and walls inside, and a pretty garden area with a fountain outside. Also the pizza there is the best I have ever eaten, it was fantastic and we ate there most of the time as it was so good. We also got 20% off as a hotel guest, which made the allure even stronger!
One of the hotel's special points is the spa (open 3pm- 7pm), they have an outside jacuzzi whirlpool, and inside a steam room, sauna, turkish bath and showers. We were surprised it was not busier; we oly encounted other people once! It was all free to use for hotel guests, only extras like massages would have to be paid for.

Other points:
Plenty of free underground parking
Spotlessly clean hotel
Perfect location; a minute's stroll from the beach, and 5-10 into the centre of Limone

Tthe breakfast was not amazing in quality, but there was plenty of choice. There were cakes, pastries, bread, toast, cold meats and cheese, scrambled egg, juice etc. Also the bathroom situation may not be to everyone's taste, as the shower was in the room, but this meant the toilet was separate. It suited us, as we're a couple, but non-couples may find it a bit too revelaing.

As a vegetarian I did wonder what food choices I would have in Limone, but it was fine. Al Pirata had 5 different vegetarian pizzas, and 3 different pasta dishes, plus omlettes.

In conclusion, it is a fantastic hotel, I would definitely go back is it is the perfect base from which to explore Limone. I wish I couldn't rate it so highly and keep this little gem to myself instead, but it is just wonderful!

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lau523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey, channel islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have just returned from Lake Garda where we stayed at the Hotel Alexander. This is a very nice hotel in a beautiful location and because it is halfway up the hill it is not too much walking for elderly people. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the two waiters Julio and Sebastien very pleasant and friendly. They were extremely hard working young men and the hotel should be proud of such nice young guys. We found this holiday very good - we have stayed at Lake Garda before but not in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank email65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Limone is a wonderful place but not for the pool and beach brigade or those that like shopping till they drop. It is full of charm and character and very beautiful. This was our second visit to the hotel and it is clean with polite staff, meals were reasonably priced with 20% discount for hotel guests. The pool is small but plenty big enough, when we were there it was not overrun with teenagers or children. As much as I love teenagers and children you can have too much of a good thing. The hotel is conveniently situated to walk into town, near enough to shops for necessities and also close to the ferry stop. You can hire windsurfers, or go hiking if you are feeling more energetic!! It is worth paying the extra for a superior room as they are much bigger. I would like to say this hotel is naf so that we can keep this little gem to ourselves, but the truth is it is a lovely hotel in a beautiful spot with very helpful staff, ( although maybe worth a 3 and a half star rather than a full 4 stars.) A car is a must if you want to explore the beauty around and not spend a fortune on ferry prices. If the weather is good it's a brill place to just chill!!!

Room Tip: a superior room is worth the extra - balcony and lots more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel Alexander - nice rooms very friendly service - nice food..basically just a nice stay in a very friendly city.

Only thing,we ordered half board - breakfast nice - but we never used the dinner service - because it did not appeal to our interest. We used the rest. Pirate - which very nice and outside, where as the dinner service (half board) is inside (downstairs), and food not to our likings.

We will come again, but we only accept B&B...

ps: the hotel do not offer free internet - but priced at Euro 1,00 / every 15 min. much to expensive....when you pay Euro 170,- / per day (two persons).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We paid for Lake View but it was view more to other hotel and a road. Room was big but it had "open" bathroom directly as you enter the room. Only WC had a door. Room cleaning was very quick but ok. Balcony and other outdoor properties of the hotel were very updated and therefore looked dirty. Breakfast was not good at all. Fried eggs looked like rubber and I did not even try them but my husband did and said that they were terrible. Some rooms were at the same level as pool and their doors were directly at the pool area so it means zero privacy. So, if somebody will choose this hotel for some funny reason I can recommend to choose room with a balcony.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsuthemursu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#13 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#22 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 58, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Alexander Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing