We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Arrived at hotel on a Newmarket Holidays package. First impressions what an attractive hotel (we didn't fancy many of the others at which our fellow travelers were dropped off at).
As we were early rooms weren't ready but given access to Wellness Centre to freshen up and change. Also 20% discount voucher for lunch.
Relaxed at poolside until room ready.
Room was v large and well equipped. Ok AC was only on evenings and mornings - but that was the only time we were there and I don't like AC all night. Room had fridge (not mini bar) so could cool whatever we wanted to drink on balcony or outside the room (we had poolside room- allocated not chosen).
Staff were always very helpful with advice or directions - even charged my iPod as i had left my USB plug at home.
Meals; breakfast was OK, we were on half board and found the evening menu unimaginative. Meals from the 'Al Pirata' menu were fine - mainly pizza and pasta.
Hotel was well located a short walk from the centre of town and lakeside.
Would go again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kiltkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We took a Superior Double room for 5 nights towards the end of June.
Hotel is in a pretty good location, an easy 5 or 6 minute stroll down a gentle hill into the nice little lakeside village of Limone.
Room was a good size (effectively junior suite), with a decent balcony and a partial lake view.
Bit strange to have the shower and wash basin in the room, rather than in a separate bathroom (there was no bath), but it worked OK. Decent underground parking.
Main problem when we arrived after a 3 hour car journey in 35C heat was that the room's air-con wasn't functioning. I went straight down to Reception to report it, and was told that the air-con was controlled centrally and only came on at certain hours (which turned out to be 06.00-08.00 and 17.00-23.00). When I stated that this was ridiculous for what claimed to be a 4* hotel, I was told that it was management policy and they could do nothing about it. I said that I wanted to take the matter up with management, and that I would return later.
When I did return, I was told that Management weren't available, but that the hotel would send someone up to the room to fix it so that I could control the a/c. This of course didn't happen.
I checked the booking confirmation and, indeed, did see that in the small print it states that "heating is available between November and March; air conditioning in July and August". However 1) who reads such small print? (even I don't do that) and 2) what sort of customer relationship and care policy is it that states "you can have a/c or heating when the Management dictates rather than when you (the paying customer) needs it"?
Having woken at 04.00 in almost unbearable heat (to have opened the balcony sliding door would have been neither secure nor acceptable), I complained vociferously again in the morning and several times during the day. I was eventually provided with an electric fan to ameliorate the problem, but my repeated requests to speak to someone from the Management were never met, and nor did anyone from Management make any attempt to contact me during our 5 night stay at the hotel.
Other less serious (but nonetheless material) complaints for somewhere purporting to be a 4* hotel included :- check-out time 10.00; poor breakfasts with real cheap red orange juice, no cut fruit, cheap cereals and expresso/cappuccino at extra charge; no bath robes; no razor point in bathroom (in fact, no bathroom!); and no wifi available in the room (though it was free in the hotel lounge).
Limone was lovely, and we had a great time, visiting Malcesine (and venturing up to Mt. Borgo), Trento (great place for a visit), Riva del Garda, Lago di Ledro, and stopping off at Sirmione on our way into Verona. Our couple of hours with Francesco on Garda Yachting's 42' yacht was my highlight.
However, I cannot possibly recommend a hotel which claims to be 4* yet completely ignores the comfort of it's guests, nor anywhere else owned by a group (Chincherini Holidays) which is clearly only concerned with penny-pinching and ignores the needs of its customers, and fails to even acknowledge or respond when a guest is clearly dissatisfied with the level of service provided.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel i.e. one where you can have air conditioning or heating when you (the customer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Papa_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I decided to book this hotel due to the many good reviews for this hotel on Tripadvisor – I honestly think I must have stayed at a different place! No air conditioning even though they advertise they have it – apparently they don’t turn it on until the middle of June – absolutely ridiculous! Therefore the room was like a furnace at night, the main thing you want to do in a hotel room is sleep and we couldn’t due to the extreme temperatures.
Whatever you do, DO NOT eat in Al Pirata unless you are Italian! The staff were rude and couldn’t be bothered to serve us, I had to get our own salt pepper etc from nearby tables even though Italian couples around us who arrived after us got a basket full of bread, olive oil etc & served before us. If you are sensible eat in one of the many better restaurants in the town. Also we were never offered the 20% discount for being hotel guests.
The hotel has a great spa – not that you would know as no one told us anything about it, we found it but had no idea how to get to the pool side from there.
Due to a new hotel being built you can not see the lake from the rooms, if you have difficulty walking the location of the hotel is not recomended as 10 min walk from main town up a hill.
The day we checked out it was pouring with rain, a true 4 star hotel would have given us a transfer to the port in town – as other 4 star and above hotels did in the area. They could offer this service for minimal cost but would make a huge difference as it is quite a walk with suitcases in the rain!
Overall if you haven’t already booked this hotel don’t – find a better one. If you have already booked lower your expectations and you may not be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Arrived at the hotel late in the evening and was welcomed by the extremely professional staff, we explained we needed a meal and were pointed in the direction of the "Al Pirata" restaurant, attached to the hotel, along with a card giving a 20% discount for hotel guests. The restaurant provided good food at reasonable prices and was also used for the buffet breakfast. Our Room was very clean and gave a view of the pool and the mountains. The hotels location gives quick access to the large public beach, and the resort centre is only 2 minutes walk away. The location means you have a quiet place to sleep without the noise of the main resort. The staff were always very helpful and quick to provide assistance. The quality of the room and service made our stay very pleasant and I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the lake ask for a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Beautiful up to date hotel with amenities such as gym sauna whirlpool
Very helpful staff - I found the staff happy always wanting to to do something for you
We had a beautiful spacious room with balcony facing the lake
When you book be sure to ask for the room with balcony situated closest to the lake - there is a new hotel being built and I'm sure it will obstruct the view of some rooms

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nanoutad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I didn't stay at this hotel but I wish I had. It is in a great location, overlooking the lake and just down a small hill is the town of Limone where all the shops and restaurants are. Most rooms appear to have a lake view, this is one of the nicest hotels in Limone.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank lv2traveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I have just returned from week's stay at this hotel , my impressions of it are mixed . On the plus side it is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed .
The vegetarian food on offer is dire - supposedly there is a vegetarian menu , but it is woefully inadequate and it is hit or miss in quality ,if provided as ordered ! If you don't want 57 variations of cheese , then forget it ....In spite of asking for information on the contents of mixed salad dishes on the salad bar , I got no reliable answer - an issue for those with allergies as well as vegetarians I imagine . An early start required a breakfast bag , in spite of requesting a vegetarian content my bag contained two ham rolls ......

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#28 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Via Lungomare Marconi 58, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £73 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Alexander Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing