We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never come back to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never come back to this hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We will definitely wouldn't recommend anybody to stay in this hotel because of many reasons: first of all rooms are really dirty, and it looks like that the hotel was never maintained at all. Smell from the restaurant was terrible, we have had one breakfast there and get sick after this. Also the location is not convenient for any type of walking because it' located too far from the city and from the lake.
By the way all the cities nearbly located to Limone are very pretty, if you are looking to have great vacation on Garda, then you can find it in Riva-del-Garda or in Toscolano.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OlgaSergey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    184
    160
    104
    74
See reviews for
112
325
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Having read the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor and other websites, we were in two minds about the hotel, but decided to take the chance as the setting looked amazing. The official hotel photos are very misleading and the hotel appears far more polished than it actually is. Unfortunately with hindsight we now wish we had chosen a hotel with predominantly positive reviews.

Yes, it's a 3 star, so we weren't expecting 5 star quality but this hotel is extremely rundown and shabby. It looks as though it hasn't had a lick of paint for 20 years or so, maybe this doesn't bother some people but I don't want to spend time anywhere that isn't comfortable. It is a large complex and has the feel of a rundown holiday camp rather than a hotel. Basic and clean = fine, shoddy/rundown/neglected is a different matter. Our first room smelt badly of stale cigarette smoke and our view (one of the few positives of the hotel) was blocked by a large tree, fortunately we were moved to a room which smelt better and did at least have the view we were expecting. As stated in other reviews, balconies are shared and ours was small and not really somewhere we wanted to spend time, which was disappointing. Room was cleaned daily and new towels daily (as other reviewers have said towels are waffle type large 'tea-towels', but they do the job). Bathroom was clean apart from a very large brown/black damp stain all over the ceiling and down the wall - I don't think that's acceptable in any grade of hotel. Shower was good though and sheets were clean.

Breakfast room view is beautiful, breakfast itself was ok, reasonable choice on offer; cereals, croissant, rolls, yoghurt etc and cooked options. Little things mean a lot though and in Italy I really do expect a decent cup of real coffee in the morning (even in a lower grade of hotel), not lukewarm instant! We tried the hot chocolate the next day and that was again lukewarm and tasteless. Our final two days we skipped the hotel breakfast and had beautiful coffee and pastries in cafes by the port, which was a far more pleasant experience.

Staff on the whole were efficient, pleasant and friendly. Lots of German and Dutch families and a few English who had come with tour operators. No problems with any of the guests and hotel is very quiet by midnight. The minibus shuttle service (1 Euro each way, 2 Euros after 9pm - last bus from Limone centre is 11.10pm though) is reliable and if full, the driver will come back straightaway to pick people up. He also dropped us off halfway one morning at the bus stop, so that we could catch a bus to the south of the lake. If you find Limone is misty/overcast in the morning, head South - an hour away and the weather is usually fine!

The walk to Limone centre (about 20 mins) is fine using the lower road which is very quiet. The walk back using the same road is not too bad apart from the final 10 mins which is very steep (particularly the long drive up to the hotel.) As other reviewers have stated, if you're fit it's ok, if you're not, then just use the minibus shuttle, also bear in mind the whole hotel is set into the mountain so there are lots of stairs. We didn't use the pool, so can't comment on that - far more preferable to swim in the lake.

Early check out at 10am and some people may not appreciate the fact that if you are leaving later, luggage is not put into a locked room - just a quiet area of the breakfast room/bar, accessible to anyone - not good for such a large hotel to not provide a secure left luggage room.

So, all in all in my opinion not a good hotel experience and the worst 3 star that I've stayed in for a long while. We just made the most of Lake Garda (my third visit) and used our room purely for sleeping and showering. Lake Garda is a great relaxing holiday (yes, even in August!) and I'll certainly be back again, but not to La Limonaia, which really needs some TLC and extensive refurbishment.

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up may be brighter with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank filmloverjaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limone sul Garda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The accommodation is a spread out difficult complex. Our room was quite a distance from bar & restaurant, there was no lake view just we just looked at the of an old roof & hillside. The bed linen was always damp.one night we had an ant infestation which we had to deal with by ourselves using insect spray from the bar. we then had to sleep in a spray fumed room. late in the holiday we were offered a better room .The very steep hill leading to the hotel gave us great difficulty & is a no no for anyone with heart problems or disabled. WE TRAVELLED WITH JUST GO .COACH HOLIDAYS. Ithink they should put an health warning on this holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gravyman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We travelled with Just go coach Holiday.com
1 you have to like being on a coach as a very long way 2 days to get to hotel. WITH ONE OVER NIGHT STOP IN FRANCE.
2 La limonaia HOTEL IS NO WAY suitable for the elderly or disabled. when you arrive at the hotel you have to walk up a 1 in 3 hill as the coaches are to big and to steep for them to go up. THE HOTEL IS SPREAD OUT AND OUR ROOM 8318 WAS one of the fathest away from the main block for breakfast and evening meal.
3rd floor up in lift then across a long path up 2 flights of stairs along a corridoor out a door and bingo your door I Joke not. but the view of the lake was out of this world and the waterfall to the side of us, this helped.
The coach holiday did not put or give any warning about this. we had 3 trips out on the coach seeing the sights but each time having to walk up the hill on the last trip only 8 were willing to go as the thought of the hill to walk up made us stay where we were.

Lake garda and the town of Limone is very beautiful and would go back again, but NOT TO THIS HOTEL. Just go holiday.com must look into this when most of the passengers are 65 plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roo28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

When considering the Hotel Limonaia, please remember that this is a 3 star hotel not a 5 star establishment and consequently there are going to be faults and shortfalls. The important factor is overall value for money and in this respect the Limonaia comes up trumps. On our stay, the room we had was normally one of the self-catering apartments and was simply fitted out with comfortable beds and a (shared) balcony with views to die for. (What is with the reviewer who complained about the balcony and people looking in the windows - there were ceiling to floor net curtains in addition to normal curtains to protect ones privacy if you were concerned). The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels supplied each day (admittedly thin but remarkably efficient in drying even the writer's more than ample frame!). Loungers, table and chairs were even provided on the balcony . The self-service restaurant served adequate meals with plenty of choice and in unlimited amounts. It was admittedly not 'cordon bleu' but for a three star hotel the standard was quite high. Neither my spouse nor I ever left our tables feeling less than replete! There is one big and one small problem with the restaurant. Firstly, it was heavily patronised by Germans and, given the current position with political correctness, I will restrict myself to saying that the majority we encountered during our stay were ill-mannered, ignorant and boorish and it is best to visit the restaurant some thirty minutes after it's opening to avoid becoming involved in the scrum at the buffet counter which resulted from their behaviour. The little problem is that the staff from time to time were less than courteous (but given the behaviour they had to put up with from the other guests is probably not surpriising). The hotel's location has been mentioned in most of the earlier reviews annd I will just add that , at 72, there is no way I would have attempted to walk back to the hotel - if you are unfit or have health problems, it's a definite no go. The hotel minibus service is however cheap, reliable and efficient but again, beware the Germans when it pulls up. They do not believe in queueing or in the principle of first come, first served and just charge on board without a thought for anyone but themselves. (The vast majority of German people are well-mannered, friendly and good humoured - unfortunately the vast majority do not appear to
patronise the Limonaia!.) Limone itself is a very pretty little town but can be seen in its entirety in one day or less. Be prepared to venture further afield if staying more than one day - there are regular ferries to all parts of the lake - Malcesine of course is the obvious choice but Riva and Garda town itself are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Just back from 7 nights in Centro Vacanze La Limonaia. We arrived on September 23, 2010 at about 4:30pm. We were met by the rudest and most ill-manered receptionist I ever had the displeasure of meeting. Snappy, comments under her breath in Italian and treated us with much disdain. We really felt that we must have done something wrong and discussed finding another hotel! However, the room had a beautiful view and was breathtaking. Cleaning staff were efficient and competent. Breakfast on the next morning was an experience. One member of staff was equally snappy and ill mannered! We only had breakfast on the first and last morning, and decided not to use the hotel facilities for anything. The guys who the little supermarket were friendly and pleasant and Cristian the shuttle bus driver was also pleasant and friendly. I would certainly NOT recommend this hotel because of the sheer lack of professionalism and hospitality displayed by the first 2 members of staff we met, they should either change career or receive some training in the hospitality industry! Also, after having just visited Lake Como, Florence and Venice, where all staff were extremely friendly and pleasant, and the experience was Italian, Limone had more of a German feel to it, no disrespect to any Germans, but we may aswell have been in Germany. All menus, drinks etc were all designed to suit Germans predominantly instead of a more Italian feel to the place. Pity, but certainly wouldn't go back there, and certainly not to that hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jj4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We loved the views from our room. I've travelled all over the world and have never seen a better view from a hotel room. We loved the staff at the bar and in the pizzeria but the room was poor. The decor was shabby, but one of our gripes was the lack of any privacy on the balcony. Our neighbours could and did look straight in our window, a simple screen between rooms could easily solve this. We were self catering but two rings, no oven and no microwave meant it was nigh impossible to cater for ourselves esp as the ring took over an hour to boil a pan of water for pasta. It didn't rain until the last day which was just as well as the roof leaked. The air con was hopeless and parking is a nightmare. Strangely, the view plus staff means I might go back on a half board basis but only if the air con plus balcony privacy was resolved. I't's half way up the mountain. So, take the 1euro each way hotel minibus or take fitness training before you go! Don't walk up the hill at the hottest part of the day in August..nearly killed us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidPRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.8 mi away
Albergo Alla Noce
Albergo Alla Noce
#31 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#24 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Vacanze La Limonaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Vacanze La Limonaia

Property: Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
Address: Via Sopino Alto, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Centro Vacanze La Limonaia 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centro Vacanze La Limonaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing