We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A really pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On booking this hotel we didn't have high hopes after looking at the reviews on trip advisor. The section in the Thomson Lakes and Mountains brochure that said "Bedrooms are comfortable, but simply furnished" only added to our scepticism. We did however have very definite criteria on what we wanted from our holiday and so went ahead and booked it anyway!

We returned from our week in Italy yesterday and I can honestly say that we, without doubt, booked the right hotel. We arrived on a very sunny Saturday afternoon and were met at the coach by hotel staff who whisked our bags straight to our room and handed us a welcome glass of bubbly, which after 2 hours transfer time from the airport was most welcome. On finishing our drink we were ushered to reception where we were checked in by a friendly and efficient member of staff who very kindly gave us an upgrade to a superior room free of charge!

The hotel is split into several blocks of rooms with our room being situated in block 5, next to the swimming pool. Now this hotel is not great for those with walking difficulties as it is situated on a mountainside meaning there was a fair amount of uphill climb to get to our room. For two slightly out of shape thirty somethings it wasn't a problem however could be more of a struggle for some. Not sure I'd have relished the thought of all those stairs with my overweight baggage in tow!

Our room was was exactly how Thomson described it in the brochure. Very clean, simply furnished but comfortable however what the brochure didn't mention was the spectacular views you get of the lake from a number of the rooms! Our complimentary upgrade to the superior room meant that we were given a ground floor room with a private patio area that overlooks the hotel garden, lake and stunning mountains which were still snow capped in places. The rooms were quite chintzy in the decor and if I were to suggest any improvements to this hotel a bit of modernisation in the bedooms would probably go a long way.

We booked the all inclusive option at the hotel as it gave us plenty of freedom to either go out for food or stay in the hotel depending on how we felt. Again I'd seen mixed reviews on the food and drinks in the hotel however we found it to be of superb quality, with a lot of choice and in plentiful supply. As other reviews on here point out the lunch offer is a little sparse but in my mind more than catered for the light lunch that we needed. Dinner was always very tasty and offered three courses with plenty of choice. Having a bit of a sweet tooth I was delighted to find that they offer a massive dessert section with the evening meal which included panna cotta, tiramisu, struddles, gelato, a vast array of cakes and pastries and a cheese board for those who like a bit of savoury for dessert. The drinks were all self service (which at times was a little dangerous for my partner and I, the wine fiends that we are). On offer there was red and white wine, beer, soft drinks, juices, water, hot drinks and a range of spirits. Everything you could ask for really and I was really pleased to find that it was all of a decent standard so there were no rough red wine hangovers the next morning! Now I can't write a review about this hotel without mentioning Johnny the restaurant manager who made it his goal to make sure everyone in his restaurant was well catered for and enjoying their meal. Nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble for him and his boundless energy really made a difference to the restaurant.

In terms of the location of the hotel I couldn't have been happier with it. The hotel has a prime location on the banks of Lake Garda with it's own private beach and bar area. It is about a mile and a half walk into Limone however there was a free mini bus service that the hotel runs to and from the village. Our own routine meant that every morning we walked into Limone for breakfast in a cafe and so didn't need the mini bus but we frequently saw it whisking guests backwards and forwards as we walked.

As you have probably already gleaned from this rather gushing review I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Leonardo Da Vinci hotel in Limone and am already planning a return visit next year. It offered superb value for money, a warm and friendly atmosphere in what is the most beautiful location I have ever been to. What's not to love?

Room Tip: The superior rooms seem to all give lake views so I think they are worth the upgrade fee! If you str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Laura,

we are very glad that our hotel lived up to your criteria. We're also happy that you plan to come back next year, so we look forward to it. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    172
    108
    38
    23
See reviews for
236
244
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011 and August 2010. The best Holiday as a family we have ever had. This hotel is oldy worldy but that's what leads to its charm. The staff were amazing, Johnny the Restaurant Manager, remembered us in our second year and was as attentive as he was the first year, as were all his staff, the rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless. The entertainment staff were first class and there were activities for all ages throughout the day, Our daughter 14 at the time made many friends, from all over Europe, several of whom we stayed in touch with and they came to the uk and we visited Belgium.
The food was very good in the morning and evening, Lunch was a little sparse but there was alway pasta and salad and some meat. Drinks were free flowing.
Limone is exceptionally beautiful, we hired a speed boat on the lake which was amazing. We travelled up to lake Tenno which was breathtaking, we hired a car and toured around. We will be going back to this hotel again next year and hope to have another amazing time, across the water is Malcesine, where you can take a cable car ride up onto Mount Baldo and absolute must. For the most breathtaking views you will ever encounter. The view from our room across the lake was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacquigem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear jacquigem2,

thank you very much for your kind review. It's great to read that your holiday at our hotel was the best you and your family have ever had. We look forward to your next stay. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh, lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and had a wonderful stay. a lovely welcome drink on arrival and fast friendly check in.
the rooms were clean and comfy and so was the pool areas. The food was also very good that we had on a half board basis.
Staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed any local information to plan days out or trips. Venice wasn't too far away and was well worth the day trip.
Nice hotel in a nice setting. Yes, there aren't many english here but that wasn't a problem at all for us, and we didn't experience any problems at all. Wrote this review now as thinking of returning in the next 12 months .

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watkinsfamilysdcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear watkinsfamilysdcm,

thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you spent a nice holiday at our hotel. We are looking forward to your coming back. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

It was several years a go, 2007, my wife and i had the misfortune to stay at this hotel and i felt sure i had posted a review, somewhere!
We went with Inghams who were very good to be honest and the only complaint was the hotel. It really was / is not for the English with the guiest ratio being something like 85% German, with a few Dutch and Danish etc. The food was awful, so much so that despite paying for all-inclusive we had to eat out every night, bumping up the cost somewhat. The AI drinks package was via a self service vending machine and the colour or wine depended on what the previous guest had, so it could be a bit pinkish. Location in respect of Limone village is very misleading and you have to be quite fit to walk it, my wife and i are not so had to use the courtesy bus, but only if you could fight the Germans off the damn thing. My wife was physically preventent from boarding the bus buy 2 large Germans, i was unable to go to the lake that day due to ill health but wish i had been there!
The scenery is stunning, quite literally jaw droppingly beautiful, we just picked the wrong hotel. Do not make the same mistake, please!

Room Tip: If you have to go to this hotel and speak good German, make sure you have a lake view superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catpeople2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear catpeople,

we're sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay back in 2007. Our all-inclusive treatment is designed to cater for a varied clientele, but we acknowledge that someone happens not to be satisfied with that. Anyway, yours is an urge to further improve our service, so we thank you so much for your review. We would like to invite you and your wife to come back now. We would be really happy to welcome you again and show you how our hospitality has improved. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hospitality here is awesome. We had a lovely welcome from the reception, every meal time the staff were very attentive and friendly. 5 star performance.

The hotel is clean and tidy but generally very very dated, you think you have gone back in time.

Our room was dressed daily and towels changed when needed. unfortunately the room was dusty in areas and the bed had seen far better days.

The location is pretty good with great views across the lake and an easy 10 mins walk into Limone.

During our stay we met only one other English couple, this doesn't normally bother us as we like to mingle with other cultures and nationalities, but the majority of the German guest staying here were very rude, especially to the staff. Not something we have come across before.

The food in almost great overall. Breakfast has a lovely selection, hot and cold. Lunch was the let down with Chips and some kind of breaded meat, one pasta dish and salad. The evening meal was excellent, lots and lots of choice with freshly carved meats, fish and delightful pasta dishes. I generally don't eat desserts but here I had some every night!

The entertainment is poor, bring your own.

On the beach of the hotel is Windriders where we spent the week learning to kiteboard. this is highly recommended!

This hotel has the potential to be great with some investment in decor and facilities, with this I would happily pay more.

Room Tip: Lake view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear James,

thank you so much for your review. Thank you also for your kind remarks: we will take them into consideration so as to further improve our service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

my wife and i spent a very uncomfortable 3 nights at this hotel. the views are very pretty and the first impression of the hotel good. however a few hours into the holiday we realised we were the only english couple in a hotel full of german visitorsthere were nol information boards in english, when asking for information on trips we were told that there were no trips for the english visitor going anywhere.the meals times were very very uncomfortable and in the evening with no entertainment what so ever we were in our room at 7.30 in the evening the alternative sitting in the bar which again would have been very uncomfortable. the food was very basic . the whole experience quite isolating.

there are a lot of hills and steps to the rooms ,

my advise would be very wary when booking at this hotel. in my opinion if they do not want to cater for the english visitor do not take bookings from the english tour operators

unfortuately it was not a good first impression of italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Wendy,

we're sorry for the inconvenience. Our hotel has a high proportion of German guests, owing to our location on Lake Garda. But, of course, we warmly welcome guests from all over the world. We're sorry if your first impression was not good; yet we will take your review into account so as to improve our service, and we invite you over to see the improvements for yourself. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Spent a relaxing two weeks at this hotel with my wife in September.

The holiday got off to a great start with just a two hour flight to Verona. The transfer to Limone took almost as long, because the coach travelled up the east side of the lake to the top, and then down the west side to our destination, after dropping off at resorts along the way.

The hotel is beautifully situated, overlooking the lake. It has extensive grounds, with most of the rooms spread around various outlying blocks. There are several sunbathing areas, with loungers aplenty, and there is even a private shale beach, with its own snacks and drinks bar. This is where the "different" bit kicks in. The hotel's three bars - beach, pool and indoor - are all completely self service. There is a beer pump, a wine and soft drinks machine, a hot drinks machine, and an array of optics with bottles of spirits at each location. This seems odd at first, but actually works very well, virtually eliminating queues, with a large supply of glasses (plastic at the outside locations) always available. Also unique in my experience of continental hotels is that dogs are allowed, but at no inconvenience to other guests. The only time I saw them was being walked on leads by their (usually German) owners in the hotel's grounds.

We found the rooms very comfortable and well equipped. The meals, I have to say, are not gourmet standard, but perfectly acceptable. The evening meal is the best, with a wide choice which should suit all tastes. A range of hot or cold breakfasts set you up well for the day, but the choice at lunchtime is limited to pasta, chips salad and a burger.

For days out the locality provides endless options. Excursions are on offer to Verona, Venice, Milan and the Dolomites. Alternatively, you can amuse yourself. The hotel's free shuttle bus takes you into Limone at various times of day. This little town is a picture postcard from start to finish, providing opportunity for shopping, sightseeing, ambling around, and watching the world go by. If you want to go further afield you can take a ferry from Limone to various other towns on the lake. The ones we visited were all beautiful, but none to match Limone.

On evenings you can take a pleasant 20 minute walk into Limone, where there are occasional open air concerts, and you can try a drink in one of the lakefront bars. Alternatively, you can stay at the hotel and take advantage of its free drinks, whilst enjoying the low key, easy listening entertainment, provide by a talented range of instrumentalists/vocalists.

The hotel is well served by its unobtrusively pleasant and courteous staff, who are there for you but not in an "in your face" manner. Johnny, the restaurant manager, is a real gentleman. He will make himself known to you, and be delighted to help in any way if you need him. We also found the Crystal reps to be unfailingly helpful, and keen to help you get the best out of your holiday.

All in all, we found the hotel to be excellent value for money, in quite an expensive part of the world. To have bought everything outside which the hotel provided as part of its package would have cost a king's ransom. We will undoubtedly be back at some time in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank magjim44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Magjim,

thank you for your review. As you realized, our hotel caters for couples and families who want to have fun in a stunning setting. We are very pleased that you liked our services. We hope that you will come back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#20 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#22 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing