We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant location overlooks lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pleasant location overlooks lake”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We returned from a great weeks holiday on 28th May and had a very enjoyable week. Myself, husband, sister and her husband would definately stay here again. The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from Limone, however the hotel has a frequent courtesy bus service. The hotel has beautiful views across the lake and the snow capped mountains look spectacular, we walked a lot to take in the lovely scenery. There are regular ferry services to differerent locations which are worth visiting especially Malcesine, we went on market day, also visited the castle. The hotel is set on different levels which may be challenging for anyone with mobility problems. The rooms are clean and functional, and an adequate size, we had everything we needed including towels for the pool, coffee making facilities. We stayed in block 500 and the views were lovely.

The staff were, without exception pleasant, efficient and welcoming. The head reception man was especially helpful, Johnny the restaurant leader was charming, warm, entertaining and ensured the highest standards were set and maintained, his son worked there he was polite and competent, also. The food was buffet style and the range and quality really good. I am a vegetarian and had a really wide choice - loads of salad, pasta, bean dishes, veg, rice dishes, noodles, fruit etc.also pizza available. The meat eaters said they enjoyed the variety, also plenty of fish dishes. The cakes are superb and the fresh bread delicious. The tradition is that a lot of cold veg is served with the salads but hot veg also available. The drinks are all self service which worked well, no waiting as there are plenty places to access a range of drinks.

There is an entertainment team and they made great efforts to involve guests. We enjoyed dancing with them and the music in the evening, although some guests seemed to prefer just having a quiet drink. There is plenty of seating inside and out and plenty of room around the pool.

The hotel is not new and could proberbly do with an update but it is, overall, well located, nice food, lovely and clean, friendly staff who make you feel that you matter, good value for money and suits all ages. We went with thompson holiday company the tour advisor james was excellent and really did make our holiday more enjoyable with his knowledge, good advice and professional manner.

Room Tip: We were in 500 block and had fantastic view of lake and mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank durhamcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear durhamcouple,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that your liked our hotel and service. We also thank you for highlighting the good value for money of our servces. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    163
    105
    37
    22
See reviews for
223
239
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is situated well with lovely views over Lake Garda, rooms are clean but a little dated... Unfortunately the food was appalling in this hotel, tried to eat here on several occasions only to be disappointed and hungry each time, a free minibus does run to Limone and the walk is pleasant, but it added an unexpected cost to our holiday eating out a lot more than anticipated, we did complain to our rep from Thomsons and to be fair he did all in his power to try to rectify our issues. Overall Limone beautiful, Lake Garda beautiful and we had some amazing trips organised by our Rep, but ultimately I'd avoid this hotel as there are other nicer hotels in this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoochonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear PoochonBob,

thank you very much for your review. We're sorry about your experience of Italian food. We try to cater for different tastes; if you have any suggestions, feel free to contact us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Sadly theft of my purse with money and bank card from room hotel not helpful to report or resolve, lovely views, limited food choices particularly at lunch time, lots of steps within the complex, distance from Limone centre however free shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Excellent views, however theft from locked room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Natalie,

thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the your lost purse. We hope that in spite of this bad experience you enjoyed your holiday. We would like to see you again if you happen to come to Lake Garda again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for a week on 14th May 2014 and we had to eat out every night despite being branded as an all inclusive hotel. The food is buffet style which is expected however it was cold and awful. It is catered for the German market, hence Schnitzel on the menu but even the pasta was cold and nasty. We tried to eat there a few different nights and it was making us miserable so we walked into town to get fresh pasta and pizzas. The all inclusive drinks come from a vending machine, yes you get wine from the vending machine too. It was actually ok but the coffee from the machine was undrinkable, I tried all different types and they made me feel sick. Limone is gorgeous and luckily there are no shortage of lovely bars and restaurants but I wish we hadn't gone all inclusive. We were determined not to let it spoil our holiday but the hotel food is bad and would not recommend staying here, though Lake Garda is beautiful and the wine and food outside the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Italiantraveller201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Italiantraveller,

thank you very much for your review. We are sorry about your experience of our food. We would like to know if you have any suggestions about what you would like to eat in our buffet: if you like, feel free to contact us. However, we will take your review into consideration to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have been here 3 times now and I am sure will visit again . The hotel is so good , basic room but comfortable and if you get a lake view as we did it is like waking up in heaven. Have been here as a couple and last time with children and teenage grandchildren . It was perfect for every age group, In season there is a lot for teenagers to do ,there are plenty of excursions to take for us older ones and if you just want to chill it is wonderful. Limone is a short walk away,may be 20 mins, and can be done by the road or along the lake shore. There is a free bus ,but it is often full ,and if you are fit you don't really need it . There is one thing that should be mentioned and that is the steep walk to some of the buildings ,so if you are ,like me , getting on a bit it may be wise to ask for a room near the main building or pool. The one thing I have to mention is Johnny who runs the restaurant , he is the most amazing person, always got time for you , he is part of the fabric and was here on our fist visit some ten years ago. The food is always good and there is something for all tastes and plenty of it. The transfer from the airport is quite long maybe up to 2 hours but it's not that bad a journey and worth it for the magical place you arrive at .Lake Garda is amazing and the Leonardo the base for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ejd139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear ejd,

thank you very much for your review. It's great to read that you will visit our hotel again. We will pass you compliments on to Johnny. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Italy is one of the places that before you visit for the first time, you wonder if the hype around the beauty of the lakes and the great food can be true. I have just returned from a week here from the 14th to 21st of September and I can honestly say the hotel and the location completely deliver the experience I was looking for.

Arrival

The transfer takes around 2 hours to 2.5 depending how many drop offs you have previously. We landed around 6pm and just managed to reach the lake in time for sunset. The hotel wasn't concerned with checking us in, only that we had eaten. They pushed us through to the restaurant and then happily checked us in after.

The transfer can take longer on a Saturday night, as we found out. A lot of the surrounding locals travel to camp near the lake to enjoy the water sports.

Room

I was worried after reading previous reviews on here claiming the hotel is "Dated" I would disagree. While it is not an up market city hotel. It is perfectly comfortable, more over I would consider the hotel to be decorated in keeping with the local surroundings and the lifestyle of the local people.
We had room in the 5000 Block. I can recommend these as they all carry wonderful lake views from the balcony.
The bathroom is large, the shower is good and the beds are comfy. You are provided two towels, brown for the pool and white for room use.
You have the standard complimentary tea and coffee along with soaps, shower gels etc.
The room was equipped with a hair dryer but it wasn't the best. You were also provided a bottle of water and sweets upon arrival.

The room did have a fridge, and I do think it was switched on, but it wasn't very cold and it wasn't stocked by the hotel. Something I haven't seen before in an all inclusive resort.

The safe is in the room for a €30 deposit.

Staff

They are superb, they literally work their tails off every morning and evening to provide you fast and efficient service. The rooms are bottomed every day and the reception are always happy to help.

The restaurant is run by Johnny who has been mentioned here before, he runs an incredibly tight ship meaning the service is fast. But he is also extremely friendly and adds some wonderful drama. You will know what I mean when you meet him!

The entertainment team also work long hours and try their best. In the afternoon they try and get lazy sunbathers involved in tournaments. Table tennis, Archery, Darts etc. All good fun.


Food

Breakfast -

A range of cold meats, cheese etc is available for the continental breakfast. All fresh and tasty. For the English there is a continental style "English Breakfast" which I had most days. There is also the standard selection of cereal. Wonderful fresh breads and fresh yoghurts.

Lunch - Fresh pasta, wonderfully cooked and chips etc most days. Along with various fresh salads and cold meats. You can either dine in the restaurant, by the pool bar or alfresco on the patio outside the hotel lobby.

Dinner - There really is something for everyone, I'm not sure about people's observational skills however the menu is definitely not rotated every three days. The only constant you will find is that chips are more often than not available. But there is no one forcing you to eat anything you don't want to. You have the full choice to eat as healthy as you wish.

Drinks - The alcoholic drinks are fully self service throughout the hotel. There are two types of beer available and to be honest, when it's been a hot and busy day sight seeing a nice cool beer is very welcome. You have the choice two red wines, the best red wine is in the barrel at the left front of the restaurant. And there is a range of very nice soft drinks. The lemon drink is especially nice.

My tip here would be to take your own travel cup, thermos to get the beer/ drinks in larger quantities. The cups are much bigger than in previous all inclusive places I have stayed but it still helps keep the drinks cool.

The optics have a range of non branded shorts. Martini, Rum, Whiskey, Vodka, Amaretto were all ok. Amaretto if you like it, tasted most similar to a well known brand. But work your way through them all. No one will stop you.

The machines also dispense coffee, tea and hot chocolate. All very nice, especially the hot chocolate mixed with the whiskey.

There is also a selection of ice lollies to take as part of the all inclusive package in the main bar area.

Amenities : -

Outside Pool, The pool area is clean, with a large amount of Sun loungers that never got fully during the time I was there, the pool is quite cold but that means its not over chlorinated. The drinks area is fine and easy access to beer, wine, spirtis tea and coffee etc.

My only advice for the hotel here would be that at around 3pm the entertainment staff come out and regardless of if people join in or not, they play louder music and try and engage with the residents, sometimes not taking no for an answer. But they do have some great activities and encourage competition with Darts, Archery, Zumba, Football, Crazy Golf, Table tennis. They are all free. I'm sure if I had a family the kids would love them.

Inside Pool, It's part of the spa, so very warm inside the pool. The jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna are all clean and if the weather is bad you can get a massage etc for about €40.

Top Pool, The top pool has a flume, great for kids and separate from the adult pool, so those of you with kids you can let them splash and scream all they like.

There is a gym which I didn't use, but you can book it our personally at reception. You are provided towels and robes to use at the pools. A nice touch.

Beach, Pebbly but extremely pretty. You can easily get a lounger and there is a hut with the usual array of beer and wine etc. The beach is private, for hotel guests only. So not too busy. It provides a lovely spot for a dip in the lake. Which is FREEZING, but makes you feel great.

Internet Access, It's free if you ask at reception for a voucher that lasts for 72 hours. When it expires. Just ask for another. It's not very fast. Or reliable. But we did manage to have a FaceTime conversation home.

Shuttle Bus, Again it's free and takes you back and forth to Limone, where you can get the lake taxi to other places. The time table is available but the driver wasn't perfect at sticking to the times.

TV, the TV in the room was very old, like a spare room tv from 1993. And it didn't have any english speaking channels on it. But it was a blessing in disguise. I didn't go to a beautiful place to watch TV.

If you travel with Crystal/ Thompson your rep will be Nick, who did a good job. I can definitely recommend the trip to Venice. And take the gondola tour. The lagoon tour was good for a view of Venice from the distance but not all that interesting.

Also while in Limone I can definitely recommend a trip across the other side to Malcesnie. The town is delightful.

On the whole we paid just over £700 each for a week here, and at no point did we feel hard done by. If you are after a great place to relax, unwind, eat great food with great scenery. This is your place.

Room Tip: Try and chose the rooms in Block 5000. They are a bit of a walk from the main hotel block, but the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mystikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Mystikal,

thank you very much for your thorough review. It's great to read that you liked our food and our services. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We are a family of 4, we visited the hotel in August 2013 for 11 nights with Crystal Summer. The transfer from the hotel was over 2 hours long, made worse by the heavy saturday traffic. We received sparkiling wine on arrival and our cases were taken to our room which was lovely.

As other reviews have stated, the rooms were basic and in need of updating, we had a superior room which was on the balcony near to the main hotel sign, so the view was perfect.
The food was adequate and good on occasions but not very varied and the menu seemed to be rotated after only 3 days. There were no snacks outside the main restaurant times, so the hotel very much dicates when you eat.
Men also have to wear long trousers to dinner - which was not advertised anywhere!!!
The pool was lovely and clean and the children thought that the slide was brilliant. The lunchtime poolbar menu was fresh but limited and it was very challenging to be able to find a table to sit at - this was made worse by being the only hotel area to eat at, unless you went to the beach.
The sunbeds were nearly all reserved by 10am even though the hotel state that this is against their policy.
There was entertainment most of the day by the main pool and on an evening, but quite often it was hard for the entertainment staff to take no for an answer if you didnt want to participate.
We enjoyed playing some board games that were available from reception.
The staff were very friendly and i could not fault the service at all from anyone.
The hotel is on a very steep hill, and each "block" is very separate, it was a good uphill walk from the main reception block to the childrens area/pool.
There were a good mix of different nationalities in the hotel.
The free minibus service into Limone was a great idea, but was often full and a "bun fight" metality seemed to be adopted instead of lining up! The walk back along the road/backroads however was very pleasent and only took 20 mins.
All in all it was a good holiday, definately not 4 star, an adequate 3, and had we paid the full advertised price we would have been disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_moo_ilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear hirstyhols,

thank you very much for your review. We're happy that, in the end, you liked our hotel. We will take your review into account in order to improve our service. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing