We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Superb Location”
Review of Hotel Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Palme
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Hotel Le Palme as part of a last minute Thomson holiday. Upon arrival in Limone, we were picked up by a member of staff in a small electric vehicle to take us directly to the hotel, although we could have walked as it was only a short distance. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and efficient - particularly those working in the restaurant. We were incredibly impressed with the speed at which our food arrived and how quickly drinks were replenished. As we were half board, we enjoyed breakfast and a four-course evening meal throughout our stay and only have positive things to say about the food quality and quantity. As the hotel is so well located, there is some noise into the evening with shoppers and people enjoying the bars nearby, but this was not a problem for us. A factor could also have been our room being directly above reception. The hotel has two hot tubs on a small roof terrace which has a terrific, uninterrupted view of Lake Garda and it is well worth spending some time up there. The swimming pool is a short walk away from the hotel and due to its size, can get rather busy. On our first full day we took a boat across to Malcesine where we ventured up Monte Baldo in the cable car. The cable car wasn't a pleasant experience as it was crammed full of people and therefore the view was restricted somewhat. The views are good from the top of the mountain and it is great to watch the paragliders though so not all bad. There were also donkeys and alpacas at the top. We then had a wander around the town and swam in the lake. The next day we headed over to Riva and hired a pedalo which was great fun and again, we decided to cool down in the water. Limone itself is a cute, charming town and the gelateria close to the Tourist Information serves the best ice cream I have ever tasted - Tiramisu Flavour! On our last day, it was a little cooler and raining so we took the ferry back to Riva and walked up to Capella Santa Barbara via the Bastion. This was a thoroughly enjoyable walk - gave the legs a work-out and provided an excellent view of Riva. All in all we had a wonderful stay and it is very likely we will return. Recommendations are: Tiramisu ice cream, Kiwi ice cream, hire a boat, swim in the lake, do lots of walking and if you are up to it - visit Capella Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hol2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Long overdue review. We stayed here last September and it would certainly be our first choice for a return visit to Limone.
Perfectly situated right on (kind of over actually) the lakeside adjacent to the ferry port (little more than a ticket office, queue & gang plank - so don't worry about throngs of honking cars & taxis), the hotel is in an ideal location. There is a breakfast/restaurant that is partially over the water and likewise a covered bar area the same, perfect for a sunny breakfast or relaxing drink taking in the views to the peaks across the water, or watching the boats (and fish) go by. We also took advantage of a room with lake view, though we didn't have a balcony the views through the two tall windows overlooking the lake, mountains & one part of Limone were excellent.
Of the small & friendly type, the hotel is nicely decorated featuring polished wood, stone and metal in the public areas. Our room was a not quite so flash as that but with stone floors and period style wooden furniture and of a good size with a nice modern bathroom it really didn't need any extras. It was always kept nice and clean.The staff were all friendly & attentive and there was a good choice of food every day.
As mentioned above the ferry port is right on the doorstep for easy access to Riva and Malcesine for example and the rest of the town with it's bars, shops, waterside areas, old lemon groves and footpaths is easily accessible on foot from this central location.
We actually picked this hotel due to a good holiday at another (larger) hotel in their group across in Malcesine and were very pleased we did so.

Room Tip: We had a lake view but no balcony - I don't remember balcony being offered, but it would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from a 2 week stay at Le Palme in Limone. The hotel has wonderful friendly staff, who were all helpful and welcoming. Our room (210) had a fantastic view over the lake and was clean and comfortable. The meals were generally of a very good standard with included drinks at dinner, but while always friendly the service could sometimes be slow, but hey it's Italy!!! While the hotel has whirlpools on the sun terrace a word of warning they were freezing, although that was sometimes a benefit after long walks. Limone is a wonderful town in a stunning location and the Le Palme made an comfortable base for exploring the region. Will almost certainly be back at some point.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms overlook the very terminal, but are worth the minimal noise just for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good points : Delicious food served at the hotel and it is in a good location right next to the ferry port.

Not so good : Our room 106 was small and looked out onto a busy throughfare. Perfectly clean but a little poky, if you didn't have good weather, you wouldn't want to spend much time there- more like a 3 star room.Having said this, we got a very good deal from Crystal so we got great value.

Hotel does not have its own outdoor areas , so you have to walk down the street to the next door hotel, this was fine but again not really representative of a 4* hotel.

In our late 20s, we were by far the youngest at this hotel but this didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweep182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We received a wonderful welcome which got our holiday off to a good start. We were met in the car park by a lovely member of staff who took us in a buggy to the hotel and, as we had missed dinner, a cold meal had been left in our room with wine, water, fruit, bread etc. That, coupled with a balcony, just made us feel we had died and gone to heaven! The food was excellent given the numbers they cater for but can't help feeling they would be better to cut down on the huge choice. The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough for us. The local tourist board in Limone work hard to make it a nice destination but there is not a lot going on and it definitely caters to an older clientele.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony as only 7 of the 28 rooms have them. If you travel with Inghams (who were very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a last minute holiday for us, but everything was spot on! Especially the hotel! From the moment we arrived when reception met us with a small electric car to take us and our luggage along the narrow winding streets through the specially built tunnels to the hotel. We were made so welcome and shown to a beautiful end suite bedroom, filled with antique furniture, loads of storage space and spacious bathroom! The staff were attentive throughout and the meals were plentiful, dinner being accompanied with as much wine and/or beer as we could drink. We usually ended up taking the remains of a second bottle of wine through to the terrace, where there was always a keyboard player/singer to entertain us. The rooms were cleaned and changed every day to perfection! We took several trips on the many ferries which plied on the lake to the other small resorts on the landslide, and had a trip on a cable car to the top of a nearby mountain, which gave us wonderful views of the lake! We also enjoyed a couple of trips on a small speed boat which was exhilarating! Hopefully we will return at some point. We would highly recommend the area and this lovely old hotel on the landslide!!

Room Tip: Request and pay for in advance a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKTraveller1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Firstly I have scored this as very good, which maybe slightly over-playing it, more like 3.5, and certainly good value for money when we went. However it is not as good as some 4 star hotels we have stayed in, especially the food and some of the room features, but it is a traditional hotel, so maybe the latter is due to that. The staff are very good and helpful.

The hotel is in the centre of Limone, right on the water next to the ferry dock. It is a traditional building, with reasonable sized rooms, and we had a room which overlooked the lake. The room had a shower but no bath. Very comfortable bed, but a little short on storage space, with a large wardrobe, but only a 2 drawer chest of drawers. Safe and wi-fi are extra, and you also pay a 1 euro per person per night tax. The streets are very narrow and the coach has to park a few hundred yards away, so you are picked up by a golf buggy.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and most speak good English. Breakfast is buffet style and a little limited. Dinner is waitress service, but you have to pick from the menu for dinner that night when you go to breakfast. Hotel guests are seated inside the hotel, and cannot use the lakeside terrace for dinner. Dinner is 4 courses, a buffet of hors d'ouvres, plus 4 or 5 choices of starter, main and dessert, the standard is a liitle hit and miss, but generally ok.

The hotel has a small sun terrace on the top floor, with 2 cold jacuzzis. It also has a pool and sun bathing area about 400 yards from the hotel with plenty of sun beds and a good view over the lake.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank We_Love_Sun_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
627 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Limone
Hotel Limone
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Palme

Address: Via Porto 36, 25020 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £79 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Palme 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Hotel
Hotel Le Palme Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing