We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the negatives,are true,expensive country,so you only get tourist quality,go again if my pocket was deeper!”
Review of Hotel Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Palme
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All the negatives,are true,expensive country,so you only get tourist quality,go again if my pocket was deeper!”
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The staff were lovely,and service up to standard,rooms very clean,in in keeping with the age(traditional)
Shame about the evening meal,some nights,were poor quality,other nights very acceptable.B&B would be better,then your own choice at dinner from the A'la Carte menu,as extra.
The wine served,was seemingly watered in my opinion,in the price of the holiday.You would need to empty the Lake to get drunk.
Ah well its a stunning resort,and position,go and try it but do'nt expect too much,stay on the ICE CREAM.Chow

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charliebaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    72
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
27
159
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Accepting the fact the hotel is 300 yrs old with an old world charm about it. Yes it is right on the lakeside and some of the views are interesting but there it stops. The cleaniness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff is good but the food is of average. Don't be fooled by the brochure, guests have to dine in the restaurant and cannot dine on the terrace overlooking the lake. The breakfast tables could be tidied a bit quicker and swept clean of crumbs before the next guests arrive for breakfast. The Gala Dinner is a bit of a shambles as a buffet , if you are not at the front of the queue you will probabley miss out on the or dors. As for the three meats on the menu, you will be given one thin slice of what the staff choose, not one piece of each meat as one would expect or even asked what you would prefer. As for complaining about it you will be told " well sir it was your fault you should have asked for more". All in all it was not quite what the brochure indicated. In all sincerity I would not reccomend thi hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarrowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Just returned from Le Palme. Had a fantastic holiday and particularly loved Limone's position on the lake and quaint narrow streets full of exclusive shops! Hotel Le Palme is in a great position right on the lake and our room was fine-quite small but with a great view and a shared balcony. The hotel is immaculate and the staff are helpful and friendly. However the evening meal was very disappointing-the food was overcooked and the portions were very small. The a la carte food looked fantastic but we chose to eat in other restaurants as we thought it was unfair that the quality of food differed so much. We also disagreed with the 4 star rating. Although we had everything we needed this is not like other 4 star hotels we had stayed in. It would be better to offer Le Palme as a bed and breakfast, then it would be fantastic! We also loved the opera in Verona. it was a fantastic experience watching Turandot in a roman arena even though the coach transfer was 3 hours due to Limone's position at the North of the lake

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cappelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have just returned from another week at this hotel, 2nd time this year and 5th time overall. As always we had a fantastic time, all the staff are great and very helpful. The food is fine, I don't understand why people slate it so much, you are in Italy, its what they eat. Admittedly the bread at breakfast has seen better days and could be improves on, but that is the only downside.
We stayed in room 318, recently been refurbished, but it was lovely, 2 windows, so great views of the lake.
Limone itself is great, lots of narrow streets to explore, loads of gelletaria's, don't miss the resident turtle in the small harbour by the hotel Monte Baldo, he comes and sunbathes in the afternoons on the stone steps.
Can't wait to return again, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark1960902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had booked to another hotel of this group, which was overbooked and were transferred with 2 other couples to this hotel.

The food was horrible. While other guests in the restaurant eating à la carte got decent food, people with half pension got boarding school quality. Small portions of tasteless food, only frozen food, no fresh fish.

The dessert buffet was empty when only half of the guests had queued.

The breakfast buffet was more royal, especially witjh stale bread of the previous days.

The hotel has a swimming pool (very small) and you have to walk 500 meters on the public road, passing the queuing people for the embarking ferry boats, to reach it.

The bathroom dated out of the sixties and the shower doesnet have a curtain to prevent everything getting wet.

We sure do not want to recommend this hotel, with its past glory.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dirkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Have just returned from limone after spending 7 days at hotel le palme with my husband...and did not want to come home!! Having read many negative reviews before departing, we set of with some intrepidation. However, our fears were were unfounded. Hotel le palme is a very quaint, old style italian former villa, overlooking the lake. No it does not have 'modern' minimalistic decor which, sadly seems to be prevelant in many large , souless hotels these days. It's decor, is however, perfectly in keeping with it's style. We stayed in room 102, which was a very spacious double overlooking the bar terrace(could be a little noisy until after 11pm, due to evening entertainment, however, not a problem as we were on holiday and could enjoy a lie in!) Room was cleaned daily, lovely clean fresh bedding and towels daily.
Food was very good, an abundance of breakfast on offer, eveing meals were also good, plently to eat, if you can complain about the food in this hotel, you really are far too fussy and should probably stay at home and enjoy your burger and fries or fish and chips!!
The staff were very helpful and very welcoming. Limone is a beatiful resort with lovely public beaches, bar side cafes, tennis courts and sports facilities for adults and children alike. Beware if you have serious handbag addiction...you may need an extra case to come home with!
All in all, a fantastic holiday, romantic setting that would also be perfect for families. So don't be put off by negative comments regarding this hotel...come and see for yourself what you are missing.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank debgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Le palme is a great hotel, its current decor matches its history as a 17th century villa so not modern first rate but first rate in its own Italian way. the staff are fantastic and the balcony views awesome. good food in a restaurant right next to the lake. the hills surrounding the town of limone add to the beauty. A great place to stay and a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnstripsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#9 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Palme

Property: Hotel Le Palme
Address: Via Porto 36, 25020 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Palme 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Hotel
Hotel Le Palme Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing