We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION, SUPER HOTEL & INCREDABLE PLACE”
Review of Hotel Ilma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ilma
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT VACATION, SUPER HOTEL & INCREDABLE PLACE”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We spent 12 days at the hotel Ilma. The hotel is situated very close to the city centre, it's very convenient because the town is down the hill (mountain). But it's quite quiet location, except for the motocyclists that are everywhere :-) The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed with 2 babies and booked an apartment, so we stayed at the Olivien residence with our own patio lawn, deckchairs, etc. Everything was great! By the way, for those who prefer to swim and bath in the lake, the water in Limone is quite cold, if you like warm water, go to the south of the lake. We visited all the towns around the lake, and I can assure you Limone is the most charming and wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaSHEPOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    65
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

When I arrived at the hotel the main entrence and facade of the hotel is very unwelcoming and industrial looking and is deliberately not shown on the website.
The facilities ie pool gardens etc were cramped and not of four star standard.
I was met at reception by the owners son Mr Giradi who was dressed like the janitor and not the manager,an earing in each ear ,scruffy clothes and sour disposition.I told him I was not happy with the hotel as it showed very little resemblence of the website photoes which were very misleading.What cant be shown on a website is that this is a family run hotel with absolutely no family charm or warmth.I firmly refused to stay there and was told with a smirk that I had to pay for three days of the four that I booked regardless.The manager simply did not care as he had my money.I booked into another four star hotel which I'd previously stayed at The Grand Hotel Gardione and had to pay twice for my stay.They only had three nights available so I asked Giradi if I could have the fourth nights stay as a concession seeing as I was paying him three nights for nothing and he flatly refused and said I would have to pay for that night too and very rudely just got up from the table and walked away.Both myself and my girlfriend were disgusted by his rude and unprofessional service.We had just stayed at The Danielli ,a five star hotel in Venice for virtually the same price as this very substandard hotel Ilma which had no character,whatsoever.
I am an MD of my own company dealing in retail sales and the customer concern and service from this man and his staff were terrible !
DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank armoury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limone_nero, Proprietario at Hotel Ilma, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Google Translation
Che terribile esperienza!
Lavorando in un hotel da più di 20 anni ho visto passare nella mia struttura tutte tipologie di clienti, o almeno così credevo, infatti uno come il FIONDA MARIO, non mi era mai capitato.
Premetto che, al contrario di quanto scritto dal FIONDA, tutte le foto e le descrizioni presenti sul mio sito e sui siti che vendono la mia struttura corrispondono al vero e non sono in alcun modo ritoccate o "migliorate" come qualche collega si permette di fare.
Ma entriamo nel merito al mancato soggiorno del FIONDA (che non chiamo signore in quanto non se lo merita) ed eccovene un breve sunto:
E' arrivato, con la compagna, in ricezione non dall'ingresso ma dal retro attraverso il camminamento che dalla piscina porta al bar e al ricevimento, così che in principio avevo pensato fosse un cliente già in casa, si è appoggiato bancone e le sue prime parole sono state:
"....se dovessi andare via prima di quanto prenotato quanto devo pagare di no show?...."
al che la mia risposta è stata:
"...i 3 giorni previsti dalla nostra cancellation policy...." (della quale il FIONDA era a conoscenza avendola accettata prenotando il soggiorno)
e lui di tutta risposta:
".....perchè il suo albergo non mi piace...... I am an MD of my own company dealing in retail sales and the customer and if I have to pay I will write a terrible feedback of your Hotel...." .
Vi risparmio il resto della conversazione che è alquanto sgradevole e priva di interesse.
Come direttore e proprietario, rispetto molto il parere dei miei clienti specialmente se hanno qualche critica (costruttiva) da fare in quanto è soprattutto attraverso queste lamentele che posso cercare di migliorare lo standard qualitativo della mia struttura.
Ma quando una persona come il FIONDA si permette di giudicare a priori (e con secondi fini, aggiungerei), senza nemmeno aver guardato la camera prenotata, minacciando poi di lasciare commenti negativi se non gli venisse concesso un trattamento speciale (sconti o notti gratuite), non vi nego che ho provato una bellissima sensazione nel prelevare dalla sua carta di credito i 438 Euro di NO SHOW.
Mr Girardi.

P.S. Per quanto riguarda il mio abbigliamento le affermazioni del FIONDA lasciano il tempo che trovano (essendo e vestendo Italiano ho molto più gusto del FIONDA nel vestirmi!!!) e servono solo a farvi inquadrare meglio con chi ho avuto a che fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

let me start by saying the small own of limone is a magical place. and the views at this well located Hotel situated on top of the town capture the essence Limone beautifully , The views are spectacular all over, in the rooms , by the pool, at the bar, and restaurant. However the rooms are out dated, old, and small. (2 star room, 5 star views) For the price we paid 130 euros you can probably find a better Hotel in Limone. and mostly all the hotels in Limone can get you lake views. The owner and his wife spoke no english and were very rude and not accomadating, The younger workers spoke english and were very accomadating. The breakfast was fair. There are a few rooms that have been newly renovated, (modern bathrooms, flat screen TV's)I would only recomend staying at this hotel if they gguaranteed one of those rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jajaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIMONE SUL GARDA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Ilma.
This was our fifth visit to Lake Garda and our first at the Ilma.
We had a lovely week staying there, the food was of a high standard and choice was excellent.
We had a "superior " room looking directly on to the lake (room 316) and of course the view is magnificent. Rooms are quite large and airy, although the decor is now looking a bit dated,
however cleanliness is first rate, with fresh towels each day.
However for British guests the satellite t.v is Italien or German
so forget about your regular soaps !
As the hotel is situated on the side of the mountain the walk down is about ten minutes, but allow twenty coming back with stops to get your breath.
One thing we found rather odd: when buying drinks in the restaurant or bar they do not give you a tab, but simply ask for your room number. They will then write a paper docket for reception who manually record everything. we carefully checked the bill and found all in order, but how antiquated !!
The tunnel drives are nerve racking until you are familiar with the area, however we love it there and will return next year.

  • Liked — the restaurant food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBRADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Just returned from 1 week in the Hotel Ilma (22-29 Aug 07). Exceptionally clean, excellent food at both breakfast and dinner (including good vegetarian options at both meals) with the buffet style menu meaning you can eat what (and however much!) you like.

Staff very helpful and friendly. Our bedroom was large and bright with a partial lake view. Happy hour for the cocktails (6-7pm when we were there) makes the view over the lake from the balcony bar even more pleasant before strolling into dinner in the very efficent and well staffed dining room.

10 minute downhill stroll to the ferry port and town (slightly longer on the way back!)

Would recommend to couples and families. The transfer time from Verona (about 2 hours) was a plesant coach trip alongside the lake and did not feel like 2 hours so don't let it put you off. The ferries go to Riva and Malcasine regularly and take about 20mins. Limone is the smallest town at this end of the lake but there's lots of shops and restaurants to keep you entertained and I'm glad we picked it as our resort. as it had lots of character.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ana3506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Stayed for 1 week in August 2007. The hotel is on a hillside above the centre of Limone. It is around 10 minutes stroll to the ferry point at the lakeside.
We arrived late at night but were accompanied to the room and everything was explained to us. A complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and complimentary bottle of sparkling water were in the room. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. Maid service was good and prompt each day.
Food was excellent (and I am very fussy). Breakfasts and evening meals were both buffet style, Breakfast was the usual wide range of cold continental items (breads, jams, cheese, cereals etc.) plus a range of hot items. Dinner was very good - a wide choice indeed. Every night there was traditonal antipasti and international salads, a choice of 2 soups, 2 starters including choice of pasta or risotto, and 3 main courses usually a choice of meat, poultry and fish dishes. Desserts included ice cream, profiteroles, gateau and tiramisu.
The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Simone the barman.
The pool area is pleasant and we were able to get beds each day without problem. The grill bar had a range of foods available which were nice e.g toasted sandwiches and bruschetta (about 3 euros) and more substantial dishes such as salads or pasta. You were only able to charge items to your room bill at the pool bar but this posed no problems. You could either pay cash or charge drinks to your room at the main bar.
We would certainly stay again

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank T00nTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We stayed ay hotel Imar June 2007 1st class, The walk up form the village was a bit steep but worth the view when you got to the hotel, the staff were very helpful and the food very good will return again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank robert.waters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#20 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilma

Property: Hotel Ilma
Address: Via Caldogno 1, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilma 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilma Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Ilma Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing