We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no sympathy”
Review of Hotel Ilma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ilma
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no sympathy”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I booked for 7 days May3-10. Because of a medical emergency I had to check out after 5 days but was still charged for 7. I e.mailed the hotel on my return to the u.k. & explained that my wife had spent 7 days in hospital in Milan because of her problem & under the circumstances would they reconsider their stance re. a refund. No chance & no sympathy. I know they have a business to run but even so a refund of 156 euros would have been much appreciated. So if you think there is a faint chance you may want to leave early DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

millgreen56

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido G, Direttore at Hotel Ilma, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
prima e dopo la prenotazione siete stati cortesemente invitati a leggere la nostra Cancellation Policy, che è chiara e esaustiva.
Ci spiace per i problemi di salute della sua compagna, ma ne io ne la mia struttura ne sono in alcun modo responsabili.
Come consiglio, è buona norma, soprattutto recandosi all'estero, stipulare un contratto di assicurazione che tuteli i clienti da eventuali contrattempi.
Dispiace ma la sua brutta recensione è immeritata e ingiusta.
Il direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    69
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
44
100
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thanks to hotel ilma for saving our evening!! Let down by another hotel hours before check in we checked in for just the one night. Great location, five minute walk from the lake front. Underground secure parking was great. Free wifi - not the best but ok. Bar terrace was amazing, lovely view. Didn't eat there so cannot comment. Would certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rharrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent 1 day at the hotel instead of the planned 2. The Hotel is not a 4 star facility, except maybe for few rooms in the main building, which I did not see.

We had to switch our room, it smelled bad and was basically underground. On the second day we complained about the cold - it was a really cold night with about 16 degrees in our room. The answer from the manager was that he cannot do anything and he does not want to do anything about it - did not offer a better price or to turn on the heating. It is not exactly what I call hospitality. So the whole group decided to go before we ruin our vacation completely.

For sure I will not include this hotel ever again on my list for the next holiday. I cannot really understand the positive reviews - rooms, breakfast and hospitality are not worth the 4 stars. The location is great, but this was it.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a room in the main building (with view to the lake). There are rooms placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Nice holiday and family hotel. Seems like there are almost exclusively German guests. If you want to enjoy view on lake Garda make sure you're not on the ground floor. Pool area very crowded, but many possibilities to enjoy beautiful area. 10mins walk to lakeside

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Lovely hotel with swimming pool, spa (sauna) and good bar

Room Tip: Take a lake view rooms with a great look to the lake and mountains around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan,France
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

From the outset it must be said that The Hotel Ilma is an excellent,spotlessly clean,professionally run hotel,with comfy rooms and excellent facilities,at a reasonable price.
The only problem is that ,if you are looking for a hotel with an Italian ambiance,then this will not be the place for you. About 97% of the clients are German package tourists. All the notices are in German. The lingua franca is German,and the food/restaurant hours are very much run to German tastes . For example the restaurant starts serving dinner at 18h00 and everything is finished and cleared away by 20h30. If this is not an issue for you,then I cannot recommend the Ilma highly enough. The views are superb and the free parking is a real bonus. But personally ,when in Italy,I prefer to feel some Italian panache and ambiance,and this really is lacking there.

Room Tip: room with lake view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel Ilma many times and it is a charming place. If people learnt a little Italian it would help. The food is marvelous and the rooms are good. It is very comfortable, quiet and there are very few bikes around, only locals going about there business or to work. There are a variety of shops in Limone and it is a nice unspoilt place. I have never had any reason to complain and have been going there for several years

Room Tip: There are individual type flats or rooms in the hotel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#13 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#22 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilma

Property: Hotel Ilma
Address: Via Caldogno 1, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilma 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilma Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Ilma Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing