We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified retirement home”
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The hotel was a real disappointment. Firstly, it is not worth 4 stars, 3 at best. The rooms are large, clean and offer a great view of the lake (the only good think about it) but are really dated. The hotel has 2 outdoors and & indoors swimming pools. Be aware that the hotel primarily caters for retired Germans, so if you are a young couple like us, this is the last place you want to end up. I really blame the travel agent for sending us there! Also, avoid eating at the hotel, don’t even bother with the free breakfast, the food is terrible.
The walk down to town takes 20 minutes on foot and there are some very nice restaurants. I would also recommend doing a cruise around the lake or just crossing to the village on the over side.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear oribie,

we're really sorry for failing to living up to your expectations. If you would like to, you can tell us more about what you disliked about our food, so we will be able to fix the problem. Anyway, thank you for letting us know your opinion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Pietro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We traveled to Limone in May 2011, sorry for late review! This hotel is quite a hike, however well worth it for the views of the lake. When we arrived we were given a room to the far right and although it was spacious it was hidden behind huge tree's. After a quick word with the rep we were moved to a room near the restaurant and WOW! Stunning! We stayed on a half board basis, the food and drink were okay. However, the restaurants by the lake are wonderful and inexpensive, well worth trying for an evening out. The pools are perfect for relaxing from days of sightseeing.This hotel is perfect for anyone who wishes to use it as a base to explore. We visited many places whilst here, Venice, Verona and a boat trip to the villages surrounding the lake. Limone is a very special place and I cannot recommend it enough. We will most certainly be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolbabychocice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear coolbabychocice,

it's great to read that you had such a good time at our hotel. And it's also great to read that you intend to come back in the future. So, we look forward to your coming back. :-)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel should not be rated 4*, to our opinion.
If you are looking for a 4* hotel with the luxury attached, you won't find it here.
This hotel is nothing compared to other places we visited in Italy.
You can check out my review on the Baglioni (A REAL 4* in Florence)
and Il borgo near san Gimingani (in booking.com)

to be fair I'll give you the highlights of pros and cons so you can decide for yourself:
pros:
We got a welcoming large bottle of sparkling wine,
large soda water and raisins coated with chocolate.
we also had bath robes and white slippers to use.
Great view ( but that is rather common to most hotels in the area)
a personal balcony, with a table and chairs

cons:
the general feel and maintenance: The hotel looks like its good days are over. looks dated, style from the 80, a bit rundown.
the bed is very low, cheap looking,
they only had wool blankets, I'm sensitive to wool and they had no alternative.
Bathroom with cheap plastic accessories.
you only get bath products(shampoo etc') upon arrival and we stayed 3 nights! it wasn't sufficient.
Bath smaller than standard

Some of the food at breakfast was not fresh ( fruit salad 3 days old, you could tell by taste)
beans went bad and were still served...
internet wasn't free, you had to pay for 1/2 or 1 hour and get a code at the reception desk.
After we got the code we realized the key board isn't fully responsive...
checkout is really early (10:00) for a 4*

We also had a problem with the billing.
they had a communication failure when we paid with credit card.
We tried to fix this problem talking to our bank and credit card company and the clerks at the hotel were not helpful.
eventually because of their mess we were billed twice.. a total mess.

I gave a 2 rating for the view and large room, but I won't go back and can not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Sharon,

we're sorry for the inconveniences you encountered. It's sad to read that you won't come back. But we would also like to thank your for giving us useful pieces of information to improve our service. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent a week here in September 2012. Fantastic views across the lake from all rooms, all of which are a good size. The gardens and pools are very well kept and an absolute pleasure. We loved the hotel location which, although up a hill from the main town, is wonderfully quiet. Having looked online at quite a few hotels in Limone before booking the San Pietro, when we arrived in Limone it was clear we'd made the right choice. The food is excellent and definitely plentiful. We had a fantastic week in the San Pietro and are very grateful to the helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BobBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear BobBBristol,

thank you for your kind review and recommendation. It's great for us to read that you had a good experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed at the San Pietro mid July 2012, and had really wanted to stay at the Panorama in Limone. However we were pleasently surprised by this hotel and once we saw where the other hotel was located we were glad we had picked here.

We travelled with lnghams who I have to say were excellent. As with most hotels in Lake Garda the rooms are fairly dated, the ones at the San Pietro not as dated as some we saw on the internet. But the room cleanliness was excellent, the bathroom looked more up to date than the room and was also very clean and towels were new.

The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable.
The hotel sent a complimentary bottle of wine, and chocolates to the room, and upon leaving they also left some nice toiletries, which was lovely and very much appreciated.
The views across the lake were stunning.

We were expecting the food to be very average, and had expected to go into town for dinner, but there was a reasonable choice of food and the pasta dishes were lovely. The complimentary wine at dinner was also a real plus.
Afternoon tea was pretty basic, although we found out other hotels just offered dry biscuits or cake, at the San Pietro they often provided cake, biscuits and watermelon.

The hotel is a bit of a trek up the very steep hill, but is the small price to pay for such stunning views and is a good excuse to work off all that Italian ice cream! It was about a 10 minute walk down into town, but the hotel does offer a courtesy bus also.

There was plenty of space on the sun decks and even if we went into town in the morning, we always found empty beds later in the day.
The hotel was very quiet, we didn't once hear the usual scrapping of furnature across the floor, which you invariably get in hotels.

Limone is beautiful, and the enjoyable stay at the San Pietro meant we had a great holiday thanks to the friendly staff and service they provided.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Natalie,

we're glad for having pleasantly surprised you. We thank you so much for your kind review and look forward to seeing you again during your next holiday in Italy.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great views, took some fab nightime shots across the lake. Pools were lovely & as described in the brochure - children are not 'banned' from the San Pietro hotel or pool if they are over 10 - but there were moments when my teenagers felt bored because the hotel have appeared to alienate kids, yet their sister (& nextdoor neighbours) Hotel Christina does the opposite. Buffet dinner, if you have half-board, is OK - but the hot choice isn't! Staff levels were low when we there - especially in the bar & every night they shut at least an hour before the time listed in the hotel info. We had 2 adjacent rooms - 1 sadly had a nasty smell that got worst! Limone is lovely but the climb back to the hotel is steep & we were disappointed with the minibus service to transport guests back up the hill, provided by the hotel, stopping at 6pm. Wasn't all bad - we are fitter than we were! Reception staff were great & junior serving staff were delightful - their bosses were not however. Would we recommend it to friends - YES (with very detailed background info) - would we go back, NO (but then we tend to never go back, 'cos the world's too big!) Stayed in a 3* hotel in Verona that should be 4* (EU standards) - whereas sadly think this 4* hotel is really 3*.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd level to benefit from views but in the block closest to pool, reception & restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFC465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear ECF,

thank you for your review. We're sorry if you didn't find our hotel to live up to your needs. We would like you to let us know if you have any further suggestions to give us. Anyway, we will take your review into consideration for further improvements, and hope that you come back to see us in Limone.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Limone is a beautiful town and this hotel has great views across the town and the lake. It is very quiet, the food is good and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful on our stay. There are 3 outdoor pools (and one indoor) two of which are shared with the Cristina but the highest pool is just for the San Pietro guests and is a quiet area where children aren't allowed. We found this almost always pretty empy anyway with plenty of sunbeds available and not too closely packed in and often there was no one but you in the pool which has a commanding view of the lake and mountains.
Our room was very clean and the only downside was that some of the fittings were a bit knocked and tatty but the staff did everything they could to put things right and offered us several changes of room but in the end the one we had had the best views so we decided to put up with the knocks and scrapes on some of the furniture.
The walk into town is about 15 minutes and on the way back it's uphill and a bit steep in parts but there is a shuttle during the daytime which we didn't use as we enjoyed the walk up. One tip is to go to the multi storey car park on the lake side and get the lift to floor 8 which allows you out about half way up the hill. Great if you're tired or laden down but you will miss some of the nice little streets.
We would definitely come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: As for a higher room for even better views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnier8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Ronnier,

it's great to read that you would definitely come back to our hotel. We thank you so much for your thorough review and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#21 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Tamas 20, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £55 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Limone Sul Garda
Hotel San Pietro Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing