We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT 4 STAR ROOMS” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
co. antrim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NOT 4 STAR ROOMS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

stayed at this hotel in june 2011. food was fine. staff were excellent. bedrooms are not 4 star, although the public areas are. we paid extra for a lakeview room, but the view was 80% obsecured by trees at the hotel pool. later found out that other guests who had not paid extra had a better lake view. we were on the 3rd floor. if you want a clear lakeview insist on floors 1 or 2. the holiday was booked via Thompsons.
the resort itself is pretty and near the hotel (5 mins walk), but to travel by ferry it is very expensive to visit the resorts lower down the lake.

Room Tip: book rooms on floors 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mistermac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    155
    58
    11
    5
See reviews for
96
359
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Having read many many Trip Advisor reviews of many hotels in several areas on Lake Garda, my friend and I were delighted to get a relatively late booking at Hotel Splendid Palace in Limone, from 9-16th July.

We did book a Lake View room (one of our criteria) but ended up with a pool view room (4th floor), with very limited view of the lake. This was a minor disappointment after check in, purely because of the amazing "oh wow" type reviews we'd read of people opening the curtains to see an amazing view. But we chose not to complain as we knew the hotel was full and all we planned on using the room for was to sleep & shower, so it wasn't really that important when you think about it (I mean, who wants to stay in their room when you have a bar terrace overlooking the lake).

The hotel definitely has the best position on the lake and they really are 'oh wow' views when you go up to the bar terrace. The hidden lemon garden is also a little treasure that few people seemed to know about. It was a beautiful little escape from the pool and offered lovely views of the lake and a Jacuzzi - although I would not advise getting in until they clean it! The water was extremely murky and I dared not think what kinds of additional fluids were floating around in there. This area seemed to have been forgotten about and is not a reflection on the rest of the hotel, as the pool area and the rest of the hotel was extremely clean (the pool man took great care re-arranging all the sunbeds, washing down and sweeping the pool area and cleaning the pool every evening).

The hotel food was actually a pleasant surprise! Having stayed at numerous hotels all over the world and experienced 'self service' style restaurants, I must admit we had low expectations of food quality. However I happily ate my words on the first and every subsequent night we ate there - it was wonderful! Chefs were stationed at the main hot food table, cooking away right in front of you, so the food was always hot and fresh. There was enough choice for any taste, and it was equally as good (if not better) than many of the restaurants we visited during the day. There was always 2 fish options,at least 3 pasta choices, 2-3 meat & veg options and of course the salad bar and dessert tables. Everything was cooked to perfection.

One of the main credits to the hotel in my opinion are the staff. I have honestly never known such friendly, personable, entertaining and helpful staff in any hotel of any size. They are truly amazing and work so hard from morning til night. In particular, look out for Antonio in the restaurant (we called him grampa - he will get you a table on the terrace), Emilio and his sister on the bar. They make an already amazing holiday even more enjoyable, and just seem to put everybody in a great mood.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily return (may insist on a room on 1st/2nd/3rd floor next time though). I'm also hoping they won't invite the Friday night keyboard guy back - truly ear-blasting!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor. Avoid 4th floor unless you want easy pool access (and noise) and no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Manchester-Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Great location, just a short walk into Limone . The staff were all very nice and friendly .
Great value for money , spent the same money for the holiday as we did on trips and water taxi .
The Venice by night trip ,we were picked up 9.30am and got back at 2am but what a superb day .
Fab holiday !

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor , less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyshireGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aughnacloy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hotel Splendid Palace was an excellent hotel.

We have never stayed anywhere so clean. Our room was serviced every day including hoovering and fresh towels (pool and bathroom) supplied each day. The lady who serviced our room on the first morning noticed that we had used blankets to raise our pillows and promptly came back with extra pillows for us without being asked - brilliant!

Our room was on level 4 which was on the same level as the outdoor pool and access to Limone village. I suspect the view of lake Garda and the mountains opposite would have been superior from the rooms in level 1-3. However, we found our room very handy for going into town as we didn't need to use the elevator. That being said, our room was right alongside the pool and when sitting on the veranda we were only about a metre away from the water. For people who like to lie on in the mornings this also tended to be noisy with excited children playing in the pool - it didn't annoy us though. For our meals and to get to reception, we had to go up to level zero which was fine.

Hotel Splendid Palace was very well situated in Limone. We were no more than 5 mins walk from the ferry dock. The ferry provides an easy commute to Riva, Torbole (wind and water sports mecca) and Malcesine (cable car ride up Monte Baldo). Limone itself (whilst a lovely village) was quite small and limited. We found relatively few restaurants in the resort if you fancied a change from the hotel food and surroundings.

We stayed in the hotel on a half board basis. The food provided was excellent with plenty of variety for all palettes. On our arrival (10pm) we were provided with a cold plate (salad and meat) as the dinner service had ended. For breakfast you could choose from all manner of cold meats, salads, breads, cereal, fruits and cooked breakfasts - eggs seemed very popular!

Dinner choices included soups (2 choices), pastas, salads, main courses (4-5 options with veg and potatoes) deserts and fruit. Really if you didn't find something that you liked you would be very hard to please! Wines provided as part of the meal were lovely.

Safes were provided in the room for a cost of 1€ per day and wireless internet was available for 7€ per week. Internet connection tended to be slow and unreliable.

Would recommend doing the Lake tour. This was an excellent way of seeing other resorts on Lake Garda - especially those at the south of the lake which you probably wouldn't have seen otherwise. It was excellent value for money at 42€ each.

Hotel staff from reception, waiting, kitchen and cleaning were excellent - very friendly and approachable. On the whole, we couldn't fault the hotel but unfortunately probably wouldn't return to Limone. We would favour Malcesine or Garda instead as they are larger resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms for best view level 1-3. Level 4 (beside pool but still with lake and mountain view) on same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Having spent three nights in its sister hotel The Panorama we much preferred the Splendid Palace. It is a three minute walk into the town which is really very quaint.
The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. Not sure what else to say really as I liked (not loved) the hotel. Be prepared to wait in a long ling for dinner if you want a table outside as there are only 6 of them and the view is stunning. Anyone visiting the hotel will have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sscottishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

stayed in the lake view rooms,and what a view it was,stunning.The food was fantastic and plenty of courses.The rooms are spotlessly clean and cleaned every day.a short walk into Limone town,but might be hard for someone with health problems due to the hills.One thing to remember if you like tea/coffee in your room,bring a kettle as there are no facilities in the rooms. You can buy an open day ticket for the north or south of the lake for 15.60 euros and you can hop on & off as you please in the different towns.the staff in the hotel were brilliant with good english.would reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the lake view room , the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bugsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Worth upgrading to a lake view room. What a view to wake up to!
We were late arriving(midnight) but a nice cold meal and free drink were waiting for us.
The staff were realy friendly and helpful.
The meals are buffet style but plentiful, varied and of excellent quality and the restaurant is pristine. As much free wine, beer and soft drinks as you wish with dinner .Always plenty of fruit as well.
There were always sun beds available despite the usual suspects having their location booked by 7am.
The short walk down to Limone is steep for a short distance but the little town itself is very attractive.
It is very easy to get round the northern part of the lake by ferry and bus and there are lots of easy walks between adjacent towns.
All in all a lovely place to to take a holiday!

Room Tip: Pay for your lake view room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bobhebson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#9 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#10 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#5 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Property: Hotel Splendid Palace
Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing