We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there, it is great - Some handy tips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go there, it is great - Some handy tips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just came back and would agree with all of the other reviewers on great friendly service, good food and superb location. I would definitely recommend this hotel and Limone.

Things to be aware of:

1. Don't get a room on floor 4 as they are practically in the pool and you get splashed - they will change rooms for you. If you can get a room on floors 7/8 and 9 they are next door to the main hotel (still connected but about a 30 foot extra walk) and you benefit from being a bit further away from the bar terrace which can be a bit noisy at night. You must get a lake view - absolutely amazing views.

2. There is an extra pool which opens on to the lake - it's smaller but quieter and they forget to mention it. Helps with the sunbed issue which does exist. If you have smaller kids there is an indoor pool which is hardly used at all which is very handy.

3. Ferries are superb but a bit pricey. Do the fast boat out (inside and can't see much) and slow boat back (outside with lots to see).

4. You can get a local bus which we took to Gardone Riviera which goes about once an hour. It was air conditioned and cost half the price of the ferry and is particularly good for towns on the same side as Limone. if you go there you must go to Il Vittoriale which is a splendid house and gardens - it has a battleship in the garden!

5 Go as early as you can to the cable car in Malcesine. We took a mid morning ferry and ended waiting 40 mins in the queue and then another hour from the ticket office. Well worth the trip but beware.

6. Wifi costs 7 euros a week and was OK for web surfing but struggled a bit with bigger files.

7. You have to pay 1 euro a day for the safe which seemed a bit pointless to me - why not just include it.


Enjoy it.

We did.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorsetfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    155
    58
    11
    5
See reviews for
96
359
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I enjoyed our holiday at the splendid palace so much that I would go back every year.
Great accomodation and plently of good food. The location is amazing with a fantastic view of Lake Garda and a few minutes walk to the resort centre and ferry point.
The hotel staff are very friendly and service is wonderful.
Make sure to put your towel out at the poolside early if you are having a sunbathing day and expect to queue up a bit at dinner time as it is buffet style - but not a problem for us.
Want to go back soon - loved it all!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nicethingsAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for ten days at the end of July and the beginning of August. After arriving having travelled for a long time we were not wowed by the hotel in general or the room - but it was fine. The room was very clean, but not very big. The bathroom had a walk in shower rather than a bath which was not a problem. We had a room on the second floor with a lake facing view, the view was lovely. I agree with a previous review that I would not want a lake view room on the fourth floor as this overlooks the pool - and would have been very annoyed had this been the case. The maids did a great job every day and the room always looked great after we returned to it. Clean bath towels were left. I did have to ask for clean beach towels. The only critiscism I have of the rooms and maids are that the walls are paper thin so when they clean a room next door and begin to hoover at 7.45 it is a little bit frustrating if you are trying to have a lay in.

The staff at the hotel are fantastic, and are helpful and friendly in all parts of the hotel which was nice.

The food was ok - average. We were on a half board basis and ate in the hotel 5 nights out of ten. The food was quite repetitive and oily. It wasn't a problem and we had already planned to eat out in Limone several times during our stay - and we had some amazing meals.

Getting a sunbed was a bit of a struggle most days. At 8am the majority of beds had been reserved despite the hotels policy on not doing this. However the hotel was very busy and operating at full capacity. Saturday seemed to be the day that most people went home and the pool area was empty.

The entertainment was interesting. The keyboard player that was previously mentioned played for the two fridays that we were there, and I sang and laughed along to his italiano/english versions of his songs. The magician was very good and switched between German and English throughout his show.

This is a nice hotel and I can see why it is voted number 1 in Limone. We had a nice time there. We we would not go back as we do not think that Limone is a big enough resort to visit twice.

If you decide on a stay here find the lemon garden and hot tub. Its lovely and peaceful up there. But a bit of a mission to get to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor for the best views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. antrim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

stayed at this hotel in june 2011. food was fine. staff were excellent. bedrooms are not 4 star, although the public areas are. we paid extra for a lakeview room, but the view was 80% obsecured by trees at the hotel pool. later found out that other guests who had not paid extra had a better lake view. we were on the 3rd floor. if you want a clear lakeview insist on floors 1 or 2. the holiday was booked via Thompsons.
the resort itself is pretty and near the hotel (5 mins walk), but to travel by ferry it is very expensive to visit the resorts lower down the lake.

Room Tip: book rooms on floors 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mistermac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Having read many many Trip Advisor reviews of many hotels in several areas on Lake Garda, my friend and I were delighted to get a relatively late booking at Hotel Splendid Palace in Limone, from 9-16th July.

We did book a Lake View room (one of our criteria) but ended up with a pool view room (4th floor), with very limited view of the lake. This was a minor disappointment after check in, purely because of the amazing "oh wow" type reviews we'd read of people opening the curtains to see an amazing view. But we chose not to complain as we knew the hotel was full and all we planned on using the room for was to sleep & shower, so it wasn't really that important when you think about it (I mean, who wants to stay in their room when you have a bar terrace overlooking the lake).

The hotel definitely has the best position on the lake and they really are 'oh wow' views when you go up to the bar terrace. The hidden lemon garden is also a little treasure that few people seemed to know about. It was a beautiful little escape from the pool and offered lovely views of the lake and a Jacuzzi - although I would not advise getting in until they clean it! The water was extremely murky and I dared not think what kinds of additional fluids were floating around in there. This area seemed to have been forgotten about and is not a reflection on the rest of the hotel, as the pool area and the rest of the hotel was extremely clean (the pool man took great care re-arranging all the sunbeds, washing down and sweeping the pool area and cleaning the pool every evening).

The hotel food was actually a pleasant surprise! Having stayed at numerous hotels all over the world and experienced 'self service' style restaurants, I must admit we had low expectations of food quality. However I happily ate my words on the first and every subsequent night we ate there - it was wonderful! Chefs were stationed at the main hot food table, cooking away right in front of you, so the food was always hot and fresh. There was enough choice for any taste, and it was equally as good (if not better) than many of the restaurants we visited during the day. There was always 2 fish options,at least 3 pasta choices, 2-3 meat & veg options and of course the salad bar and dessert tables. Everything was cooked to perfection.

One of the main credits to the hotel in my opinion are the staff. I have honestly never known such friendly, personable, entertaining and helpful staff in any hotel of any size. They are truly amazing and work so hard from morning til night. In particular, look out for Antonio in the restaurant (we called him grampa - he will get you a table on the terrace), Emilio and his sister on the bar. They make an already amazing holiday even more enjoyable, and just seem to put everybody in a great mood.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily return (may insist on a room on 1st/2nd/3rd floor next time though). I'm also hoping they won't invite the Friday night keyboard guy back - truly ear-blasting!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor. Avoid 4th floor unless you want easy pool access (and noise) and no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Manchester-Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Great location, just a short walk into Limone . The staff were all very nice and friendly .
Great value for money , spent the same money for the holiday as we did on trips and water taxi .
The Venice by night trip ,we were picked up 9.30am and got back at 2am but what a superb day .
Fab holiday !

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor , less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyshireGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aughnacloy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hotel Splendid Palace was an excellent hotel.

We have never stayed anywhere so clean. Our room was serviced every day including hoovering and fresh towels (pool and bathroom) supplied each day. The lady who serviced our room on the first morning noticed that we had used blankets to raise our pillows and promptly came back with extra pillows for us without being asked - brilliant!

Our room was on level 4 which was on the same level as the outdoor pool and access to Limone village. I suspect the view of lake Garda and the mountains opposite would have been superior from the rooms in level 1-3. However, we found our room very handy for going into town as we didn't need to use the elevator. That being said, our room was right alongside the pool and when sitting on the veranda we were only about a metre away from the water. For people who like to lie on in the mornings this also tended to be noisy with excited children playing in the pool - it didn't annoy us though. For our meals and to get to reception, we had to go up to level zero which was fine.

Hotel Splendid Palace was very well situated in Limone. We were no more than 5 mins walk from the ferry dock. The ferry provides an easy commute to Riva, Torbole (wind and water sports mecca) and Malcesine (cable car ride up Monte Baldo). Limone itself (whilst a lovely village) was quite small and limited. We found relatively few restaurants in the resort if you fancied a change from the hotel food and surroundings.

We stayed in the hotel on a half board basis. The food provided was excellent with plenty of variety for all palettes. On our arrival (10pm) we were provided with a cold plate (salad and meat) as the dinner service had ended. For breakfast you could choose from all manner of cold meats, salads, breads, cereal, fruits and cooked breakfasts - eggs seemed very popular!

Dinner choices included soups (2 choices), pastas, salads, main courses (4-5 options with veg and potatoes) deserts and fruit. Really if you didn't find something that you liked you would be very hard to please! Wines provided as part of the meal were lovely.

Safes were provided in the room for a cost of 1€ per day and wireless internet was available for 7€ per week. Internet connection tended to be slow and unreliable.

Would recommend doing the Lake tour. This was an excellent way of seeing other resorts on Lake Garda - especially those at the south of the lake which you probably wouldn't have seen otherwise. It was excellent value for money at 42€ each.

Hotel staff from reception, waiting, kitchen and cleaning were excellent - very friendly and approachable. On the whole, we couldn't fault the hotel but unfortunately probably wouldn't return to Limone. We would favour Malcesine or Garda instead as they are larger resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms for best view level 1-3. Level 4 (beside pool but still with lake and mountain view) on same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#9 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Dirce
Hotel Villa Dirce
#7 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#10 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Property: Hotel Splendid Palace
Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing