We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel -Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Second visit to this Hotel.A well run hotel - excellant food and good clean rooms. Some shower cubicles are on the small size but this is a minor problem. Hard working and friendly staff A stay at this hotel is worth the extra transfer time from the airport.Limone is a pretty place to stay and the hotel is in the perfect spot

Room Tip: 215 to 220 are good private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Upon arrival the reception lady was very helpful, and gave us a glass of wine which we enjoyed whilst admiring the view from the terrace which is amazing! We were not too impressed with the bedroom as it only had a shower and my wife prefers a bath, it was also cramped and quite dark. However, it was very clean and just a few steps to the out door pool which had ample lounges and was immaculate. The food both at dinner and breakfast was excellent, thank goodness for my elasticated waist band! Wine and beer are included at dinner, just help yourself! It is just five minutes walk to the town which we think is the prettiest on the lake. When you go on the ferries remeber to take your passport, if you are over 65 for a discount otherwise get a discount voucher book from the hotel reception. You will love the ice creams, just 1 euro a scoop!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian-king32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here for 7 days on half board and paid £928 for the 2 of us. Verona airport is small and we were through in v quick time. Time to the hotel is about 2 hours as the Splendid is the last drop off. Reception was quick and pleasant. Our room was on the 4th floor and was nicely prepared. It was, however small, the "en suite" facilities were particularly tiny and anyone with a waist measurement of more than about 50 inches would not have been able to use the shower.The balcony likewise, was too limited in size for many guests comfort. Space for clothes was good with plenty of drawers and a wardrobe full of hangers. The beds were firm and had spare blankets, we asked for more pillows and they arrived promptly. The room was equipped with a good TV on the wall, a small fridge (no charge), telephone, aircon (controls on the wall) with no charge, 2 radiators, also controlled in the room. There was a hair dryer by the wash basin. A reasonable amount of "freebies" were also available in the shower and were replaced as they were used.The room was well decorated with no apparent damage. There was a possible drawback though as there was a street light outside the window which even with the heavy curtain drawn still shed a small amount of light into the room at night. Being at the end of the lowest corridor our room was quiet. The main pool is outside our room but we experienced no problems. A standard key is used to open the door to the room. We enjoyed our stay in this room, room 406.
The pool is clean but not heated. No problem in getting a sunbed at this time of the year. There is a bar but this was being prepared for opening. The walk to the town is just 5 minutes down a quite steep incline, there is also a stairway of about 30 steps inside the hotel down to the lane.The town is clean and has many restaurants and boats for trips. Motor traffic is restricted to service vehicles as the lanes are narrow. Prices are reasonable with drinks 2/4 euros for a beer and 10 for a meal. Main courses were too big for us so we ordered one meal for the two of us which no one seemed to worry about. Plenty of ATMs.
This early in the year we found that not all the trips were operating so be warned to check first.It rained on 2 days and was cool in the evening but I got a suntan. Evening entertainment was mainly musical and dancing and not too boring.
The food was well cooked and the dinner was quite varied. Breakfast was the same everyday but had a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. All buffet style with the staff just mainly clearing the tables. We never had to wait and you chose your own table. The well appriciated "perk" at dinner was the free wine on a help youself basis (white, rose and red) beer and soft drinks also on tap. There was no dress code but all dressed tidily. Breakfast 7am to 10am and dinner 6.30pm to 8.30pm.
The cliental were mainly retired couples with germans in the majority but a fair number of other nationalities in evidence.
All the staff were excellent.
We could not give this hotel as high a rating as we would have liked due to the smallness of our room.

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly in size so check ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of May 2012.The hotel is in a superb position with fabulous views and a very pleasant walk of a couple of minutes into Limone. Our room, which was very spacious, had a comfy bed; a good shower and bathroom; balcony with table and chairs and an absolutely amazing view over the lake and Limone. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and fun. The whole hotel was clean, tidy and in good repair. The food was excellent with lots of choice, even for us veggies. We were really impressed when, a couple of days into the stay, we were asked if the food was ok for us, as we had informed a chef we are vegetarian on our first evening.! We had deliberated for a long time over which area and which hotel on Lake Garda appealed to us most and we really made a good decision. We loved this hotel and are thinking of returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location with fabulous views of the lake and of Limone. It could be that we were unlucky with our room, (905) which was cold and noisy. With no heating and only a thin blanket each, we had to sleep with socks on. I did ask for and was given another blanket but a duvet would have been much better. That said, we really enjoyed our stay and found the staff very friendly and jolly. The food was excellent and the drinks in the bar very well priced. We would go back but I would request a nicer room.

Room Tip: Avoid the 9th (bottom) floor. It is noisy and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrauH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

stayed there in August for a week, big very nice hotel, facilities, views & location 4 * , rooms clean , 5 mins walk to the centre of Limone

food......OMG....plenty of choice, whatever you want, you can have enough.....


pool big enough....sunbeds...first come first served....

overall very very very nice hotel... for relaxed holidays

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kasia_o78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for just a week in June, Unfortunately the weather was very mixed and there was quite a lot of rain, However we made the most of our holiday and had a trip to a local vinyard which was most interesting and amusing with some wine tasting and a trip to Verona which was very worthwhile. Malcesine is also very close by ferry. We also hired bikes in Riva for a day, which made me feel a lot better about indulging in the Hotel Splendid Palace evening buffets. I'm not always a fan of buffets but there is so much choice here - it was great. Every evening I had lots of 'small' plates - sort of Italian tapas. They also have help yourself wine (red, white and rose) on tap, as well as beer and soft drinks - not the best wine in the world but absolutely fine. The waiters in the restaurant are obviously 'old school' professionals and very helpful. We eventually managed to get a table on the small balcony which was lovely. Lots of choice at breakfast time too, but juice a bit disappointing. The evening entertainment was a bit bizarre ( Brazilian dancers? Which incidentally my husband thought were charming!) but stangely enjoyable - after a few glasses of help yourself wine! The room was very outdated, even for this part of Italy and fairly basic although it was kept very clean. The shower cubicle was rather small and towels showing signs of wear and tear. However the view of the lake was fabulous. The position of the hotel is perfect, very close to the boat station for anywhere on the lake. Limone is a beautiful resort, I imagine the most picturesque on the northern lake with lots of lovely walks arouns about. We had some very nice lunches at Le Palme just on the water front and in the evening often had a night cap there whilst listening to their gutarist - very pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid pool level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank katkearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £83 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing