We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool View? Nooooooooooooooooo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend, mum and sister as part of a special birthday celebration at the beginning of August.
We had booked quite late with the hope of securing 2 lake view rooms but were told unfortunately there were only ‘pool view’ rooms left. I was so disappointed but thought, how bad could it be, it’s Lake Garda! The reality was, the location of the rooms was soooo bad it was embarrassing.
We had room numbers 409 and 410 – read on people and memorise if you are planning on a visit to this hotel!
On opening the curtains in our room to reveal the balcony view (the one and only time we did so) the scene that greeted us was awful. Our balconies were on the ground level with the pool and sunbathers literally inches from our balcony. They were so close they were practically in our rooms and had a full view of us and the interior of our rooms without having to leave their sun loungers. We felt like we were on full display with no privacy and consequently spent no time on our balconies as a result. What a shame.

There only seemed to be 10 rooms with this problem, so we were really quite unlucky to have been allocated 2 of them!

The hotel is overall fantastic and I don’t wish to detract from this fact. I agree that the decor is slightly outdated (matching carpet on the walls - why!), the dining room is on the comical side (you may serve yourself at breakfast but not dinner – these are the rules! Health and safety or portion control – you decide!) and the lack of air con in the lounge/reception area is unfortunate (half of our welcome meeting was asleep due to the overwhelming heat). The location is fantastic, the food is very good and the reception staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.

Just a word of warning, if you are returning on an early morning flight with Thompsons/Crystal be prepared for the delight that is the Packet Breakfast! We wrongly assumed that we were entitled to a full breakfast on our last morning, and were horrified to discover that our ‘breakfast’ was handed to us in a paper bag (for consumption on the coach presumably) with no accompanying hot drink! Last year my mum stayed in a similar hotel in Limone, caught the same flight home and enjoyed a full hot breakfast at the hotel before departure. This is a 4 star hotel and we had all paid for our breakfasts so whether this was at the hotel’s request or Thomsons, it was unacceptable. THOMSONS – SORT THIS OUT!

This is a lovely hotel in probably the most beautiful town on the Lake and I would definitely return, but I would demand to know my room number before I did so!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms only people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Splendid Palace at the end of July for one week and it really was a splendid holiday in every way. We are a family of 4, with two young daughters. We knew that the transfer time to Limone would be over 2 hours, but were pleasantly surprised to find that there were no other stops en route and a quicker journey time to the hotel. Upon arrival, again we were pleased to find that the hotel had kept the restaurant open so that we could eat before checking in - perfect as we were starving and it was now gone 8 O'clock. The children can be fussy eaters and considering the restaurant was technically closed we found that there was plenty of food, including a turkey roast. The unlimited drinks option is great - the wine is of a very good standard, especially the Rose. We did find the Beer difficult to pour and saw many abandoned attempts. Perhaps it would be a good idea for one of the waiters to serve this and save time and waste? We all ate well and couldn't wait to explore the hotel and the village of Limone.
We were in a family room with a double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed, a good sized bathroom and a wonderful view of the Lake. This room was on floor 1, just past the gym. People have complained about the decor of the rooms - yes the room style is dated but not shabby and immaculately clean. Think Marks and Spencer in the 90's.
Limone village is based a short walk away, which you are able to get to through a gate by the main pool. What a picturesque village! Cobbled streets and alleys, old buildings with character and plenty of restaurants alongside the lake. Prices are very reasonable to eat and drink, Gelato (ice-cream) costing 1 euro for a very large scoop and pizza slices at 1.50. There is a supermarket based in the village where we bought drinks and kept them in the fridge in our room.
The hotel is immaculately clean, we saw the cleaners working all day and made a very nice environment to relax in. Because of the hotels position on the hillside, reception is on the top floor and then you travel down for the bedrooms and pools etc. Reception is very welcoming and the staff are very helpful, especially Martin. The restaurant is light and airy and contains about 6 tables outside on a terrace, we were able to get outside twice during our stay - it is a gorgeous setting overlooking the old lemon groves and of course the lake. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary whilst we were there and they made a real fuss of us, wine and a card in our room, and card and candle on our reserved outside table at DInner. Food was of a high standard, roasted meat, fish, pasta, soups and salads were available every night, followed by a wide variety of puddings and unlimited drinks.
We spent most days by the main pool, which is a perfect size and the children could play in safety. The sun beds are of a good quality and padded for comfort, perfect for catching those rays. The pool is well maintained and clean. Be warned, the beds do go early! However, people are up and about early enjoying the beautiful mornings and we never had difficulty finding a couple of beds right next to the pool. There is another pool, shared with the Le Palme, off a cobbled alleyway (you need a code from Reception) the pool is small but very quiet and peaceful. We found a hot tub located in an Olive grove within the grounds of the hotel and there is also an indoor pool (which is a bit cold!!)
We walked to the beach and enjoyed swimming in the lake, beware the lake is freezing (glacier water) but very, very refreshing. The beach areas are lovely and not overcrowded. The beach is pebbles and the lake bed is rocky, we wore coral shoes and the kids wore their Crocs to protect our feet.
The hotel is located near to the Ferry jetty, we took the ferry over to Malcesine for 9 euros and spent a day looking round the town and took the cable car up to Monte Baldo (50 euros for the four of us). A must for every visitor - the views were spectacular. There is a queue around midday so get there early. We also heard there was a queue to come down the mountain later in the afternoon.
We were pleased that the hotel has a mixed clientele, English, German, Belgian etc and all made an effort to speak and say 'hello'. The children made friends with all nationalities - language was no barrier! The hotel is very child friendly, they were made a fuss of wherever they went by the staff and other guests. Although there weren't many children it was nice as the children could play in small groups.
The staff are all very nice. We would like to make mention of the following staff members who helped to make our stay perfect: Larissa and Federika (waitresses), Antonio (head waiter) and the chefs who encouraged our children to try new foods (and like!)
Overall, the hotel Splendid Palace, is splendid. Location, staff and food are all wonderful and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NyLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Splendid Palace. Perfect location, slight hill walking from Limone to the hotel. Views from our room were amazing (Room 32). Room average size, slightly dated and the shower-room was the smallest I have ever seen, but hey we came to see the lake not the shower-room. Room was spotless, beautiful view from out balcony and served its purpose.

My only complain for the whole holiday is that if you want a bed by the pool, get up about 5.30am and put your towels out, otherwise you haven't a chance until late afternoon. Very unfair.

Food in the restaurant was great, good selection every night. Lunchtime menu was also available in the Reception/bar area which was also wonderful if you fancied a lazy day just overlooking the lake (which we did a couple of times)

Trips to Venice and Florence, exhausting ... Such long coach journeys. The hotel also provided a packed breakfast and packed lunch as the restaurant wasn't open at the time of departure.

Hotel staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Thomson reps available at the hotel or by phone if needed.

If you are going to the cable car at Malcesine, catch the 8.50 ferry so that you arrive early as the queues are very long later in the morning. Well worth the trip.

All in all, a great location, great hotel and I would highly recommend. We have just booked to come to the Splendid Palace again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in excess of 10 times and we returned many times due to the exceptional service and food. We still talk about some of the dishes to this day as some of the food we experienced I had not seen except around my Grandmother's or Aunties tables. I have Italian family living an hour or so away and this is how authentic the food was. It was truly a fabulous experience for us. We had not been for four years as my husband wanted to go to different parts of Europe and we visited Algarve and Sardinia and stayed in 5 star hotels with great dining but still missed the Splendid.
Oh my goodness what a change we found. No reps in the dining room eating and we used to see them all including the non-UK ones, where are they now eating? The chef moved to the Panorama but Steph the rep wasnt sure if he had since moved on further, leaving a calamity in the dining room of dry food and tasteless pasta. The salad selection had been vastly reduced and we had two good meals of lasagne with cheese sauce and the sauce was fantastic and veal milanese which was good too. I had pork in balsamic vinegar which although very tasty was dry and slightly touch. All our meals were taken at 6.30 so no excuse for dryness on the food. the vegetables and potatoes were tasteless even being served frozen peas instead of what used to be Italian peas cooked with bacon and tomato which is a traditional Italian accompaniment to meat. We dont add salt to our food at the table even at home and have never had to add any at the Splendid but we felt like we wanted to this time. The female chef had a row behind the serving counter with a waitress and this went on for awhile. I know Italians can be passionate and have seem similar situations at the Splendid with plenty of banter and laughter in the mix but this time is was unpleasant to watch. Only three of the 'old' staff left in the dining room all male and although very helpful as always they didnt seem as happy as they used to be. The reception staff were the same apart from one addtion and they were amazing as usual and seemed very happy and I loved speaking to them. The bar staff were next to useless in the evening, oddly enough we dont normally take a drink after dinner but one night we decided to do so and waited 15 minutes to be served and so went to the bar and were instructed to sit down and wait by one very rude girl. When I showed my displeasure by walking off she decided that perhaps she could help but we decided not to bother by then. We ended up eating out on the last three nights as we couldnt cope with the food any longer. We did persevere trying soups and roasts but I like to eat pasta dishes so we gave up as the food did not come up to standard. We did notice that they are now cooking more roasts and basic pasta to order and I wonder if this is putting too much pressure on the chefs of which we could see three. The two men being lovely to talk to . When we arrived we were advised not to go to dinner until after 7.30 as families were being accomodated at 6.30 but we did ignore this as we are early eaters and werent aware of this when we booked the holiday. This hotel still has the best view and we had our usual room which had a breathtaking view and we still love Limone. So believe it or not, we intend to return next Summer for our 15th wedding anniversary having spent all our main Anniversaries here. We will just have to bear the cost and eat out every night unless things improve.

Room Tip: lake view in 200s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markandbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from a short break at this hotel. The setting is spectacular with wonderful views from terrace and handy for centre of Limone. Pleasant dining room but a little chaotic at evening meal times although food good. It is normal to help yourself at buffet meals and we were surprised that chef has to serve you with basics like carrots and peas so dont try to help yourself or you will be in trouble! Apart from that the staff were friendly and helpful. It was very hot whilst we were there and we found that the lack of air con in bar/lounge/ reception area was very unpleasant as it was like a furnace.

Our main complaint was about the pool view rooms. Our view was of 6 sunbeds on the edge of the pool directly outside our balcony and we had no privacy whatsoever. There was even someone outside our room at 6.30 am. We were unable to use our tiny balcony and had to shut the curtains so the room was always gloomy. Room 409 is an odd shape to allow for a corridor so avoid this one if possible.
We were on the morning flight home and were shocked to find hotel was unwilling to open dining room a little earlier so we had to make do with a packed breakfast to be eaten on coach on transfer back to airport. Hotel refused to make us a hot drink before we left. Needless to say many of the "breakfasts" were dumped at Verona Airport and we then had to buy hot drinks etc at airport. Thomsons should sort this out!

Room Tip: Avoid pool view rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jennyftb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from lovely ten days, initially upset to be given room 419 as described as pool view but had no view at all and tiny outside area which very enclosed. We did complain and were shown too alternatives with great views but rooms tiny . Room 419 as a room without worrying about outside excellent an huge says junior suite on door. So we stayed and had great time town lovely and trip on cable car from Malcesine is a must stunning views. Would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suecainred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have just returned from two weeks holiday,and what a wonderful two weeks it was! From the moment you walk in this hotel you are made to feel very welcome. Our room was on floor 1 , room 110, with the most amazing views of the lake and the town. The room was spotless, and cleaned to a high standard everyday. If like me you need an extra pillow, just ask. The room was a good size, decor was inkeeping with the area. The food here is EXCELLENT, we enjoyed every meal, plenty of choice and something for everyone. Lovely bar area and terrace, bar staff were fantastic, very friendly and always had time a little chat, thanks to Marzia for her concern and giving me some ice when I was bitten on the ear by a mosquito. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly, I will have to mention Martin, a lovely young man who is more than happy to have a chat and nothing is too much trouble....but saying that, ALL STAFF at this hotel are more than willing to help you with whatever you need. We travelled with Crystal and our Rep was Steph, who was lovely and very informative. We went on a few excursions, which were really good, wine tasting was a personal favourite, also Bolzano and Renon. Limone is beautiful ,although a little hilly in places. Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, I would certainly recommend it without a doubt.... Excellent hotel, excellent food, excellent service.... thankyou to all at The Splendid Palace for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly3328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing